We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a family with younger children.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Costa Sur Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4 Night Package US$425.00
Ranked #35 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Seattle, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family with younger children.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

The staff was friendly and professional. It was a pleasure to deal with them. I stayed in a one bedroom condo which was comfortable and clean. The views are breathtaking. The beach is rocky so bring water shoes. The beach is great for kids because it is protected with good snorkeling. (Renting gear is expensive so bring it with you or buy it in town.) The two swimming pools are large but in June the water is very warm. The only downside is that you cannot walk into town. You must either take the bus or a taxi. In June 2009 a taxi to town averaged $6-7 USD.

If you eat at one place in town, make it The Red Cabbage. It was the best food we ate in PV.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    207
    79
    43
    26
See reviews for
113
208
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

we stayed a week at Playa del Sol Costa Sur and loved many things about this hotel! Our room had a GREAT view of the ocean from large picture windows which dominated the room. When open, they let in a beautiful breeze and dramatic sound of the waves crashing below! We had a little deck, big enough for 2 chairs. We had a balistrade that we could see over and through. we put our drinks or hord'oeuvres on top of it, so we didn't need a table out there. Sunsets were beautiful from our balcony. There are a select few rooms on the first or second floor which have big decks--for a round table for 4, and 2 chaise lounges--I don't think the rooms are any more expensive, so request when you book. They are right on the water, too, not above as we were. They looked pretty cool to me. I'll request one of those next time. the room was very clean--i had no complaints at all with the bright decor. It's really very handy to have the local bus stop directly across the street of the hotel! For 40 cents, you can get a ride into the town for dinner or whatever. You can ride in the other direction up the hill to some little villages that are right on the ocean, and fun to explore. try going all the way to Bocca, the end of the line! There are many FABULAS restaurants in P.V. so we did not eat at the hotel at all. Just a mile down the road is the hotel LINDO MAR which has a restaurant hanging out over the rocks & waves where we ate breakfast often, and dinner too. Much better than Playa del Sol. And so close. The atmosphere at Costa del Sol is very special. Most of the guests are couples in their 50's and beyond. Everyone is super friendly!! there are card games going by the pool, and large groups laughing together who have been coming for years, and all know each other! It is a happy social scene of friendly people!!
Absolutely everyone in the hotel meets at the pool area for "happy hour" every night where drinks are 2 for the price of one and free fresh hot popcorn is passed out in overflowing baskets. what a scene! It's more like a club.... there is a whole pool of very warm water, perfect for midnight swims, or lolling about with a pina colada. And another cooler water temp pool, too.There is a cozy outdoor shady "reading room" with soft couches, and oversized fluffy pillows surrounded by big leafy plants and books galore. The beach is rocky but I did do some snorkling and saw some interesting fish. The waves are so HUGE on the main beach down in town, that the rock wall makes it possible to go into the water. If you start just beyond Lindo Mar, a mile down the road, there is a stunning beach walk all the way to the public beach in town. I highly recommend you walk it!! this is great little place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

This was my third time to this resort. I have been to Puerto Vallarta 13 times and this is my favorite place to stay. It is quiet, small and the crowd is generally on the older so you don't get all the loud craziness that you do at the all inclusive resorts. The staff is friendly and helpful. What I like most is how close it is to town. Vallarta is the culinary capital of Mexico and it is such a shame to spend a week at an all inclusive when there are so many fantastic restaurants to choose from. This hotel is NOT for those who are used to mega resorts. It is small and modest. The rooms are clean but nothing fancy. It is very quiet...we are in our mid 30's and felt a bit on the young side here. My only complaint is in regards to the "owners" here who reserve chairs by the pool and don't show up to use them until late afternoon. There are a limited number of chairs so when you see 60% of them reserved and empty until 3:00 it gets a little frustrating. I found that the owners here feel like they own the place. All that aside, I will continue to go back year after year...next year probably for 2 weeks!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed at this resort for 1 week in January. The hotel is very nice.. we were on the 14th floor and had an awesome view of the ocean. This resort is very quiet and has a generally older crowd. Rooms were clean, no problems at all. Nice kitchenette, 2 closets, pull out sofa sleeper. I called housekeeping as soon as we got there to request a foam cushion for the sofa sleeper and they had one in 10 minutes. This helped alot!! When we first got to the hotel, they had free margarita's waiting for us. Check in was very easy.. no problems. The hotel has a very nice workout room, and internet access (although usually busy). The bar overlooks the ocean and a great place to watch the sunset. They have happy hour, 2 for 1 from 5-6 every night, and live bands every other day. We didn't eat the food here so can't comment on that. We saw humpback whales from the pool area which was awesome. The views are very nice from this resort as it is south of town, and close to the mountains. However, there is not a walking beach at this resort. Beach is very small.. you can snorkel or swim, but it is rocky and you will get no exercise strolling this beach. Good news, is that you can stand outside the resort and take a bus into old town, (for 60 peso's- about 45 cents) and then walk a few blocks to the beach. We did this every day and the beach (Los Muerto's) is wonderful. Good beach to hang out on all day, and you can walk from here to the Melecon in downtown puerto vallarta. Prices everywhere in old town or downtown are very very good. Some good restaurants I would recommend are Pipi's, El Canto Mar (beach in old town), and Ay Carumba.. a restaurant on the hills overlooking the entire city of PV. If you want to dance, go to Andole in Old Town.. lots of fun and for the older crowd for sure.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — beach isn't walkable.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

From the check-in to the check out the staff was great. They were very helpful, courteous and attentive. We had the big unit and it was fabulous. Maybe needed a little updating, but we thoroughly enjoyed its large size and proximity to the beach. We are definitely staying here again. The facility is clean the housekeekping staff excellent and we even had a repair made before even asking!! Very relaxing and enjoyable week. Definitely recommend the resort. While not new and fancy, it is Mexico!

Jim and Jenise, Reno NV

  • Liked — Proximity to the Beach and size of unit
  • Disliked — Needed some updataing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Playa Del Sol Costa Sur Puerto Vallarta July 10-18, 2008

Spent 8 days at this resort and well was worst vacation I have experienced in Mexico. I will not ever be returning to this resort.

I obtained this unit as a bonus week thru SFX after depositing a Mayan Palace Regency 2 bedroom. We arrived at resort with SFX confirmation for one week and confirmation of one day which we had booked separately. The check in process was a bit time consuming as no one seemed to know what was going on. We wanted a room ( one bedroom, as per booking), with internet ( fee), and not to move on extra night but to stay in same room. After much time a room was assigned , but we were told sorry, but though we told you via emails we have internet, it is not working. We do have a 2 computers you can use in business center though but not sure if they are working either. Okay, not a huge deal, disappointment but could deal with it. Then we were asked if we wanted to do the AI for $65./p/p/d with minimum of 3 days. We were told it includes all food and beverages except shrimp, fine meat cuts and lobster ( but can get those items for $12. Additional charge per meal per person) and drinks till 10:30pm, with some limits on specialty alcohols, but beer and house tequilas were included and sodas and such so that sounded okay with us. We did not see menu, bad mistake. Anyway we usually like AI, and since it looked like a parking problem on site we decided to go for it. Paid for the full time we were there. More to come on that. Next up, we drove and not a parking spot in site, and a big sign stating parking on first come first serve basis. This is not good for us……finally after about half hour a parking spot was available and we parked and got bellboys to take luggage to room. Guess we will not be leaving the parking area much, as we may not have a place to park upon return.

We were assigned to the building next to the main building……on the 8th floor. There are elevators. Okay sounds good to us and we would not have to move hopefully on last day but check back with front desk on Wednesday.

The one bedroom unit was a good size with colorful draperies, furniture and kitchen a bit dated but we could deal with that. Two small bathrooms, one with shower, other just sink and toilet. Those are the highlights of the room. The living room has a medium couch and a small couch, coffee table, end tables and lamps and a ceiling fan along with a very small TV, hanging from kitchen area ceiling ( kitchen, dining & living room open like one room). The dining area had a table with 4 chairs. The kitchen, a galley type kitchen was not the cleanest or newest we have yet to see, but we’ll deal with it, we think. It does have a coffee maker and blender, some dishes and some pans, a small stove with oven and a small but full size refrigerator. The refrigerator is very old, worn and almost falls over when you open door. Okay we’ll deal with it no big deal. There is a packet of coffee by the coffee maker but we cannot find any bottled water or purified water holder ( garafon) anywhere, hmm..usually always provided when doing AI.

Off the living room is a small to medium balcony with a table and two chairs, but you cannot sit in chairs and see over balcony wall, you have to stand to see anything, there is a lot of peeling paint on balcony, as well as in room, and mold is evident in A/C vents and also in many areas of unit ( others told us there units were just full of mold, ours was I guess not as bad, at least on the mold).

The bedroom has to our surprise a full bed, not queen or king, a ceiling fan, a bath with shower off it, two bedside tables, with the dimmest lights I have ever seen. A chair with a lamp next to it, again extremely dim. There is a phone in living room and also bedroom. No alarm clock. No TV in bedroom. Plentiful closet space and a safe of which if you lose key there is a $100. Charge. ( That is pretty standard). There is also an ironing board and iron. Colorful drapes and bedspread, but only small exterior window so room is very dreary and dark

The unit has a very musty, old, moldy smell. Well we figure that will clear up once A/C is on and such , maybe unit has been empty.

Then the phone rings, the front desk wants to remind us we cannot start to use the AI until 4pm, it is now 2:30pm. Also want to tell us that the coffee packet that makes 4 cups of coffee is free for just this first day as a welcome, after this you have to pay for it….Goodness never had this occur before when on an AI and we do many, as well as travel 10-12 vacations per year in Mexico. Oh well we laugh about it and say guess there are no extras here. No biggie, we bring coffee and such with us. We unpack and then figure we will check out the resort and restaurant etc. It is very hot and muggy of course, which we knew it would be in July in PV. We also experience some afternoon rain, again we are used to this.

Down we go in elevator to ground level. There is a sales office there but no one in it, oh that is good, also a play area for kids, also unoccupied. A covered sitting area with some books, a palapa bar and two pools. One in corner area kind of secluded and quiet but very small and then another in between the two buildings, not real big in size but sufficient. There is a restaurant behind the pool, and tables placed near bar and also in a covered area outside of restaurant. Guess there is only one restaurant. There is a gym and a spa located on second floor of main building. We check out the spa prices and pretty steep so figure we’ll wait till our second week at another resort, for those prices we can have a massage on beach in a tent.

In front of the pool area, down about 5 stairs is the beach…..hmm…totally slanted, on a slope, would be impossible to lay out on a chair, but there is a rock barrier in ocean making like a lagoon area. That looks nice and people say you can snorkel there and the barrier prevents problems with undercurrents and such.

So we wait till after 4pm and we go to palapa bar and ask what are the house tequilas? The bartender shows us, one bottle, no name tequila, and gives funny look to our green AI Bracelets. Hmm…wonder what that is all about. I am surprised only one type of tequila in Mexico on an AI, so I decide a beer will do, as does hubby. We mingle with some other guests, many are owners at this resort and they feel the need to say they bought when this was under another ownership and different name and well not the same…hmm..

Shortly after our drink at bar we go to restaurant. They are having some specials but, oh, the AI green braceleted people cannot have 2 of the 3 options, only one so would you like to see the menu. Sure. Oh my, now we know we should never have done this, almost all the items on menu include shrimp or such so we are left with chicken, burritos, fajitas etc. Again we just want to have a nice vacation so we’ll make the best of it. We order something Mexican with chicken. There is a salad bar included, very small and limited and many insects about the food….not good. Limited desserts also. The meal is okay, nothing incredible but edible, and we laugh about all the restrictions and say we’ll make the best of it and know better at this resort next time. We do note the prices are quite high on the menu and we were told if we wanted to get the specials or shrimp or fine cuts of meat we could pay an additional $12. US per person per meal. Funny most of the chicken and Mexican meals were just as high as the shrimp dishes. Shrimp Tacos were over $4. US each, but we would have to pay $12 for shrimp, on top of what we already paid.

After dinner we go to bar for a drink, there is entertainment off to the side, a female singer, who actually is quite good. At 10:10, we order another drink but the bartender tells us loudly you are AI so the bar is closed now to you, unless you want to pay. We are confused so we just say okay thanks we are tired anyway we’ll just head up to room and get a good nights rest. Hubby says wonder what that is all about thought we had till 10: 30 pm, oh well maybe a mistake but kind of rude to announce it so loudly like we have done something wrong. Oh tomorrow will be better, or so we thought!!

We return to room…still smells very moldy and musty, the A/C vents are moldy and gurgling. I tell my husband I think we’ll try to spend little time in room as this could be a health issue with this mold and such. He agrees and knowing A/C says something about problem in A/C with the gurgling and lack of maintenance etc. We go out on balcony and it is covered with water from rain….apparently the water drips from floor above right onto the high balcony wall and then splashes right into the balcony. Well guess we won’t be using that much. We go to make coffee and realize, hey no purified water, so we call front desk, they tell us we have the cleanest water in all of Mexico in Puerto Vallarta so you can drink from the faucet. Hubby relays this to me, I am appalled, yes I know PV is noted to have decent water but this place is old and unmaintained and no foreigner or even Mexican drinks from tap in Mexico unless water is filtered and even then most use bottled water. Well no way we are drinking from this tap…if building is not maintained I can only imagine if filters , if they have any on water lines are maintained. Fortunately we have some bottled water in car, enough to make a pot of coffee for morning, then tomorrow we can purchase some in their mini-mart which is onsite. We watch a bit of TV, mostly Spanish stations but some in English, no problem but hubby would have liked TV in bedroom. I can do without TV period, but would have liked internet.

We put some stuff in safe which is in one of closets and note that all our clothes are damp, yuck! We leave open closet doors hoping that helps and crawl into bed…hard as a rock….well that sometimes is the case in Mexico so we’ll survive, glad we at least brought our own pillows. We both awake in middle of night drenched, very hot, husband says he thinks they shut A/C down at night or due to lack of maintenance. Oh well…back to sleep if I can only find a soft spot amongst the hard bed and the springs sticking out of it to get comfortable.

We get up early next morning both of us very sore complaining about the bed, not the hardness but the fact that the springs though not visible through mattress seem to poke into you everywhere. Showers, a nice hot one for me or so I thought, only warm water or cold….okay coffee and then off to breakfast and pool area for a day of relaxation and sun. Maybe we will try the pull out sofa tonight and see if that is any better than bed.

Down we go to breakfast, small buffet but enough choices to get by. Good omelettes and eggs. Fruit and such though again, covered partially with plastic and insects abound. Oh well, such is Mexico at times. Breakfast is okay with no restrictions so that is a good start. Then off to minimart which has quite a good selection of items at outrageous prices but you are way out on southside so guess they figure they can get those prices. The purified water is triple what we pay for the same water delivered to our house and less than half the quantity. Yet we still decide to get it as don’t want to move car and a taxi ride would cost more than the added expense. Not losing our parking space!

Off to pool area for sun and relaxation, but first we need towels. This apparently is a big issue here. It takes us over 15 minutes to get two towels, have to sign for them, get a ticket and the towels to my surprise are numbered, that is surely something new for me…guess they get a lot of towels stolen. There are sufficient chairs around pool in direct sun fine with me, but limited ones in shadier areas. Now to get a soda and relax, okay many waiters around but takes over a half hour to get one to attend to us, again we get the look at the green bracelets. We order our sodas and relax. Sure is hot in sun, later we want another soda, more waiting for service. At lunchtime we decide to eat at tables by pool off snack menu, barring any of the restricted items which are many we decide on burritos. Takes a long time to get waited on, again the frown at the bracelets. You have to sign at end of each meal or shift for what you have ordered, record keeping I assume. We tip well and have also tipped each time we were able to get a waiter. No smiles, no thanks, even snubbed my Spanish as if I had not spoken. The second day we did get a better waiter who actually spoke to us like human beings instead of jailbirds and he even smiled. Wow! The pool area is small and loud but tolerable and the weather has been typical of rainy season, sun most of day with clouds rolling in late afternoon.

There are some palm trees in the pool area and we have noted many coconuts fall and smash to ground nearly hitting people. One day one just missed my husband and waiter. You would certainly obtain quite the injury if hit, but yet nothing was done and this went on for days, with just what we noted a minimum of 4 per day! Very dangerous. Maintenance, maintenance!

We did befriend a few couples and enjoyed their company but even they noted the difference in service between the AI and non AI people. They even commented to us, what is up with this, we said we had no clue. Hubby, myself and another couple one day went to beach area to deal with vendors. I was to be the bargainer since I can speak some Spanish. Cokes in hand bargaining away we go. After purchases I decide I do not like the taste of my coke, weird taste. I put it down and vender says I am real thirsty are you taking that, I say no, go ahead and have it if you want. We return to pool area for lunch with this couple. The waiter in front of all ( apparently was from FBI spy squad) tells me I am not to give my drinks away to anyone. He was very rude and loud. I told him I drank some of it, I did not like it, it tasted weird and so I chose not to drink it. He again chastised me saying vendor took it. Oh my gosh, imagine a country man of his, was thirsty and took a coke! The waiter told me if you want the vender to have a coke you can pay for it. Well pardon me but I have paid for it, and would have had many more if I could have been served in a timely manner ( mind you it was not all that busy). Needless to say I felt it best to just tell waiter okay I’ll not let anyone have any of my sodas and you will not address me in this way again and will say nothing. He ignored me! The couple with us were appalled……they said do you know they charge about $3 US for a coke and $10. for a small margarita. I just said well this is new for me to be treated this way by staff in Mexico , so I’ll just chalk it up to ignorance and attitudes and poor service and treatment. I know I will not be returning here, but I am here now so make the best of it! Hmm…never had to do that in PV or anywhere else in Mexico before!

This type of service and attitudes continued each and every day. One day we were even chased down to beach, while in water to sign bill ( which of course was zero, already paid for) as waiter was going home so had to get signed. I said well just give it to one of the other waiters and we will sign when we get out of water. He told me no, had to sign now. He also did this to a Non AI couple as well. Absolutely ridiculous, by this point we are thinking this place is like nowhere we have ever experienced and we are not really enjoying it and appears many others are not as well.

There were only 2 nights of entertainment, the singer. The bar every night the same stunt at 10 or 10:10pm, closed to us but not others except one night when a different bartender was on, his name was Enrique and at 10:30 ( the appropriate time) he said, the bar is closing so would you like me to set you up with 2 , 3, or how many more drinks before we close up…Wow, now this is different. The other bartender should be fired for rudeness and such and this guy should be on all the time. One night with the rude bartender, my husband orders a drink and I start to tell him what I would like, he walks away, so we just think he did not hear me, so we call him back, I again try to tell him and he walks away, so finally my husband says my wife will have a paloma ( tequila , squirt and lime and salt). Well I got my drink. Reminds me of many years ago in Mexico when woman were about equal with street dogs. Anyway, the house tequila is a cheap, junk brand of tequila, not even a medium grade, so to say. In tequila country and tequila state, come on!

We did take the car out and left our sacred parking spot one day to do a bit of shopping and to take another couple to the bank and such. We had a nice time. We also went to the resort we were spending our next week at, to confirm our reservations and showed it to the other couple. They were very impressed with it and also with the attitudes of the staff etc. when we were confirming our reservations and asked to show them , our new friends around. Upon return to Playa Del Sol Costa Sur, yup, no parking, we just drove around and around, up and down etc, until we found a very small spot we could squeeze our minivan into.

We did snorkel in the lagoon area, lot of fish but nothing spectacular. Very strong currents pull you to the rocks, so is good they have that as barrier and protection. We even tried laying on beach in lounge chairs on total slope, just too uncomfortable.

On Wednesday night we are thinking we cannot wait to leave on Friday, so uncomfortable here, poor service, treatment maintenance and just totally uncomfortable. We have dinner Weds. Night with couple we met. The woman asks the waiter as he is pouring water into her glass if the water is purified. My husband and I say nothing. The waiter tells her about the best water in Mexico. The woman says but is it bottled, he ignores her, but she persists, is it purified? He still ignores, finally she says I need to know if that water is purified or not as I have not been feeling good all day. He tells her it is not bottled it is purified with our filters. Anyway no one drinks the water.

Earlier in the week, I noted two couples with Pepto Bismol on their tables and kind of green looks to their faces. I asked if they were okay. They replied they felt ill, had diarrhea and vomiting all night etc. Living here in Mexico and being a nurse, I travel with what would be called a pharmacy. I asked them if they would like some medicine, this or that etc. and they took it. Well lo and behold, over 6 couples were sick with diarrhea, vomiting and some with low fever. That night I am feeling not so great myself, so we hit the bed early ( oh we tried the pull out sofa, worse than the bed and not even a dog could sleep on that, hard, rods, springs etc, pinching and poking you.). Well, you guessed it later that night I am vomiting, and very ill. The next day I am sick as can be and unable to get out of bed. We call Dr. in our area of Mexico and tell him I am taking such and such pills and my symptoms. He thinks food poisoning and yes continue with meds you are taking, but if you get worse or dehydrated go to hospital immediately. Well, I am in bed all day and night. I tell hubby to go eat and hang around pool etc. By night time hubby says he went to dinner and asked for something light for me, like mashed potatoes or such, and well what a big deal!! They have no mashed potatoes. Okay well then how about a baked potato like I had….well against the rules. Now hubby is kind of mad, he tells waiter, look my wife is very ill, has been in bed all day, sick all last night and all today, and the only place we have eaten or drank is here at your resort. The waiter checks with manager and well they can give me a baked potato and hubby can mash it up, BUT they will have to have hubby sign for two meals as though I have been in restaurant. This is ridiculous. Thank goodness we are leaving tomorrow.

Hubby has to pack everything up, as I am just too weak and sick. The next morning, we go to check out, which goes smoothly. My husband takes manager aside and tells him in private of our experiences at this resort and also of the things said by others and that well frankly, they have some serious issues here and really should address them as quickly as possible. He says, “Oh, I am sorry”. We leave, never to return. We head over to other resort.

This has to have been the worst resort I have been to in Mexico. It is unfortunate as with maintenance and good service it could be a nice resort, certainly not a 5 star but a pleasant place to experience the south side of PV and to relax. Instead it was a very stressful, unenjoyable, sickness filled, nickle and dime you to death resort acting as a prison, and unmentioned one at that! So very unfortunate. We did have good weather despite rainy season and we did make the best of it, but no, we will never return. I even had another week booked on an exchange thru SFX for November but told them of our encounter and that I would not return and they made other arrangements for us. So commendations to SFX for great customer satisfaction and service.

Upon arrival to our second resort, the bellboys and check in people, were so wonderful. Looking at me, they asked do you need a Dr., can we help you unpack, of course we can get you into room right away. What a difference!

So, now I have written my first negative review and hope to never have to do that again. The Southside of PV is lovely and I have stayed at other places on the South side and enjoyed very much, but I would heed caution in staying here. I feel bad for the owners, who obviously must see a huge change and not a good one.

Upcoming will be my review of our second resort and stay which was a total contrast and just great!

  • Liked — Leaving and going to another resort, some of the people we met that were also on vacation.
  • Disliked — The service, staff, attitude, lack of maintenance, nickle and dime treatment.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We rented 4 large units (1 to 2 bedroom suites) for our family reunion. The units may need a little upgrading but overall the experience was great. I especially recommend it for families with kids. The property has invested in a retaining wall that allows people to swim and enjoy the sea in a protected environment. The lagoon type of environment is very nice for kids. Pelicans and crabs are found on the beach and around this retaining wall. One suggestion is to bring "water" shoes because the beach and the lagoon have lots of small stones that are sharp - it can be painful to walk in your bare feet.
The restaurant is pretty good and they are very accomodating to your needs if you do not want spicy food. We will definitely come back!

Eugenia - Chicago

  • Liked — Family environment and staff is very professional and at the same time friendly
  • Disliked — The sharp stones on the beach - it is part of Mother Nature though not the hotel's fault
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sur Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.