We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small resort in PV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Costa Sur Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #36 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Alameda, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great small resort in PV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went to Costa Sur for the first time this July and to PV for the first time in 20+ years. I had concerns going to Costa Sur at first s it was an older property and I liked the idea of the "all inclusive" but wasn't sure about t food. Well it was wonderful. The people were tremendous and the food was some of the bst "mexican" food Ihave had. It was aso nice to have the same waiters most days as you got to know them and they you. Everyone from the bellman to the front desk to the waiters and cleaning people were wonderful. If you are looking for a big "mega resort" this is not for you. Also I am not sure if you are single and looking to meet someone there it is possible but it is smallr and less "club-ish". The rooms are large (even the studios) and the beds comfortable. The appliances need updating (refrigerator, telephone, stove) but they all worked. There is wireless in the hotel but it wass not always strong. I know the hotel is working on mking this a non-issue. And the beach being semi-private and sheltered by a breakwater was excellent. It made for swimming and snorkeling very easy. So overall a wonderful time.

Room Tip: A corner room will give you a larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Peter, thank you very much for having taken the time to let us know about your recent stay at Costa sur.
We are very glad we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a wonderful time and we will make sure to pass along your nice comments to all staff involved, as we know they will appreciate them tho their full value.
It is a fact we are working on the wifi issue and we will have it resolved in a brief time.
Hoping to host you again in a very near future at your "home away from home", we remain
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    225
    85
    45
    26
See reviews for
128
229
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Costa sur is a nice resort. It is an old hotel the rooms are little outdated. My family we had two rooms, all very clean. Great view overall all enjoyed the room. Very spacious. Flat screens. We did cook on the stove. Our rooms were in the north tower. No wifi service in our room. We had to go to the lobby or ground floor to use it and enter a login every time. Food was good. Hotel buffets are ok. They offer a nice pool bar and restaurant. kayaking, snorkeling and other activities. Great experience. Loved our time at the resort. If you are expecting a new 5 star place. This is not the place for you. Great place for the price.

Room Tip: I believe the north tower is older so if you want a newer room, stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear sirs, thank you very much for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us.
We are glad we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a nice Family vacation, enjoying the amenities Costa Sur has to offer.
We have taken note about the wifi problem in your units and want to assure you that we are working on the system in order to correct the situation.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you again, soon, at your "home away from home".
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I watched this resort being built! It has changed owners since then, but to finally be on the property felt almost like a homecoming. My husband and I left the Westin Resort and Spa in PV, after a two-night stay, and moved into Costa Sur, for a 7-night Getaway we had booked through Interval International. Well, the rooms are certainly not the Westin, but they are clean, comfortable, come with a small kitchen, [complete with everything but a regular oven], have a great king bed, and a view beyond belief! The building shows it's age, as do the rooms, but we had absolutely no complaints. From the 12th floor, [of 14], we overlooked the bay, the private hotel lagoon, and sunsets to die for! The hotel was crowded, with mostly families from other regions of Mexico. Since it was August, there are lots of kids, so piece and quiet is not on the menu, if that's what you're looking for. Otherwise, what a great place to stay! There is an "adults only" pool, but unfortunately that policy isn't too vigorously enforced, a larger pool, and a safe and picturesque lagoon, perfect for swimming, snorkeling, or just laying on a raft basking in the sun and sea. The poolside bar is great, and happy hour runs daily from 5:00-6:00pm, with great drinks. The restaurant is really very good! We were pleasantly surprised. We ate breakfast, lunch, or dinner at the restaurant many times, and thoroughly enjoyed every meal. We're foodies, so that means something! We had a car, so transportation was no problem, but for those without a car, the bus stops right across the street from the resort. You can be in town, the Romantic Zone, Mismaloya Beach, or wherever, in just a few minutes. Costa Sur is south of town, where the jungle meets the sea. To me, this is the side of town to stay. The beauty is awe inspiring. The staff is wonderful! Be sure to have the concierge assist you when getting your boarding passes for the flight home. Free wi-fi, too!

Room Tip: Higher floors are best. The South Tower, where we stayed, has smaller rooms than the North Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sheryl, thank you very much for having taken the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay at Costa Sur.
We are very glad your experience satisfied your expectations ... and more. We will make sure to pass along the food and beverage department your mention about the quality of food and drinks, and to the rest of the staff as well, which, I know, they will appreciate very much.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in a very near future at "your home away from home".
Best regards.

PS Pictures are very nice!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My fiance and I decided to hold our wedding in Puerto Vallarta (without ever having been before) and were recommend to Costa Sur by a friend. Upon reaching out to the hotel and arriving for our wedding Mabel, Gelsey and the staff took excellent care of us. They set up a pre-wedding visit to sample everything and pick out our decorations and made sure we were comfortable with everything.

The staff for the hotel is small, so don't expect it to be like a huge resort with people running around everywhere to serve you, but they are extremely friendly, helpful and will remember your room number and drink when they get to you.

We changed the time and location of our wedding 2 days prior to the ceremony and Mabel was quick to accommodate our needs without questioning. The wedding ended up wonderfully and all our guests can't wait to go back for our anniversary.

We can't thank them enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Rebecca, thank you very much for having taken the time to let us know about you recent stay and wedding at Costa Sur.
We are very pleased everything worked out the way you expected it to go and we will make sure to pass along to Mabel, Gelsey and the rest of the staff, your comments and thanks. The staff at the resort is one of our great assets and we are proud to have it show on the reviews.
We will be waiting for you and your guests on your anniversary trip as we are sure memories will keep accumulating.
Once again thank you very much and we re remain,
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is our third time in Puerto Vallarta and first time staying at Costa Sur when I made my reservations there was no availability at the resort we had stayed at before so I was a little nervous about staying there. Two weeks before leaving found out that a friend had just returned from her vacation at Puerto Vallarta and coincidently had stayed there she loved it! We arrived July 13, 2013 at the front desk was Fernando whom I had been speaking with prior to our arrival he was so helpful and friendly. The resort is amazing with an amazing view! The rooms are big with a kitchen, dinning table, sofa bed, 1 1/2 bathroom and a balcony. The bed is very comfortable, housekeeping was great! At the bar Enrique was awesome and so was Flavio! Every morning we woke up to the sound of waves that we didn't have at the other resort! Downtown wasn't that far at first we would take a taxi which charged us 70 pesos per taxi ( we were a group of 11 people) so we would take 3 taxis later we started taking the bus 7 pesos per person! We would definitely stay at Costa Sur Resort again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Ms. Juanita we thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your comment about your recent stay with us. We are very glad we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a great stay.
We will be passing along, to all the staff involved, your nice remarks which, I know, they will fully appreciate as this is what keeps us striving for our guests' satisfaction.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future at your "home away from home".
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our room opened to a balcony with a beautiful view of the lagoon and ocean. Totally enjoyed being able to eat 3 meals, snacks and exotic drinks all without having to carry money.
Our day consisted of choosing one of two pools, or the lagoon, or both!

Since we were there for a wedding we enjoyed getting together with other guests and family at meals and swim time. The wedding was beautiful and the coordinator worked hard to make sure it was not disrupted by an early storm.

The staff was accomodating and our room very comfortable and clean. I would definitely recommend it as a destination.

Room Tip: If you want a full balcony choose a one-bedroom unit. Corner units have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Nancy, thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.
We are very glad everything worked out to your satisfaction and sincerely appreciate your comments regarding the wedding and the job done by Mabel, our wedding coordinator. We will make sure to pass them on to her.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you in a very near future back in our beautiful resort.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived at the hotel June 27, 2013, to a welcome desk outside of the hotel entrance with a bartender serving our choice of 3 exotic drinks. The hotel front desk staff were very pleasant and efficient at both check in and check out. Our room was comfortable with a removable pillow top on our king sized mattress (which we preferred), two closets, a good sized shower in the bathroom, and otherwise sparse bamboo type furniture. The housekeeping staff were excellent and provided fresh towels and tidied our room every day. The room did have a lockable safe, a powerful A/C, a good sized flat screen TV, a small refrigerator, gas burning oven, dishes and cutlery. Despite that, we ate either at the onsite restaurant or in town. The waiters at the hotel restaurant/bar area have been there for many years and that says a lot in itself. The buffets were a better value for your money than picking items from the menu. Unfortunately, their WiFi required frequent log-ins, so we gave up on that. The pool was definitely a “hot-spot” and was clean and a beautiful temperature. Poolside massages and complimentary towel service were available. The hotel location is great although a fair distance from the airport. Get used to the smell of diesel fuel in Puerto Vallarta and don’t even consider renting a car because the locals are the only ones adept at driving inches apart from one another. We appreciated that the Costa Sur Resort is away from the hustle and bustle of the main drag or the larger resort developments. It’s the former Howard Johnston's and the oldest timeshare in Puerto Vallarta. It has, without a doubt, the bluest water on the coast and even though the beach is small, we had a million dollar view of the ocean with brilliant sunrises and sunsets, and the rolling waves lulled us to sleep every night!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the water so you can't lose! We stayed in the North Tower which is the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Skondrat,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have taken note about the WiFi connections constantly timing out and we have worked on the issue with our IT Manager, so this is now resolved. It is a fact the open window for inactivity was too short and we reset it to a longer wait.
We will make sure to pass along your nice comments to all staff involved , as these are the kind of feedback that makes them strive everyday to give a much better service to all our guests.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to host you again at "your home away from home" very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sur Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.