We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous sunset and sunrises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Costa Sur Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$72 (USD)
Ranked #36 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sunset and sunrises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived at the hotel June 27, 2013, to a welcome desk outside of the hotel entrance with a bartender serving our choice of 3 exotic drinks. The hotel front desk staff were very pleasant and efficient at both check in and check out. Our room was comfortable with a removable pillow top on our king sized mattress (which we preferred), two closets, a good sized shower in the bathroom, and otherwise sparse bamboo type furniture. The housekeeping staff were excellent and provided fresh towels and tidied our room every day. The room did have a lockable safe, a powerful A/C, a good sized flat screen TV, a small refrigerator, gas burning oven, dishes and cutlery. Despite that, we ate either at the onsite restaurant or in town. The waiters at the hotel restaurant/bar area have been there for many years and that says a lot in itself. The buffets were a better value for your money than picking items from the menu. Unfortunately, their WiFi required frequent log-ins, so we gave up on that. The pool was definitely a “hot-spot” and was clean and a beautiful temperature. Poolside massages and complimentary towel service were available. The hotel location is great although a fair distance from the airport. Get used to the smell of diesel fuel in Puerto Vallarta and don’t even consider renting a car because the locals are the only ones adept at driving inches apart from one another. We appreciated that the Costa Sur Resort is away from the hustle and bustle of the main drag or the larger resort developments. It’s the former Howard Johnston's and the oldest timeshare in Puerto Vallarta. It has, without a doubt, the bluest water on the coast and even though the beach is small, we had a million dollar view of the ocean with brilliant sunrises and sunsets, and the rolling waves lulled us to sleep every night!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the water so you can't lose! We stayed in the North Tower which is the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Skondrat,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have taken note about the WiFi connections constantly timing out and we have worked on the issue with our IT Manager, so this is now resolved. It is a fact the open window for inactivity was too short and we reset it to a longer wait.
We will make sure to pass along your nice comments to all staff involved , as these are the kind of feedback that makes them strive everyday to give a much better service to all our guests.
Once again thank you very much and we hope to host you again at "your home away from home" very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    209
    82
    43
    26
See reviews for
115
210
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I just got back from a 20 day stay at Costa Sur. It was my first time back in 5 years and was a bit nervous about the location being it was 3.5 km from town. But I was pleased from the moment that i was checked in. You are greeted by warm hearted and friendly staff that make you feel as if you were their family. If there is anything you need the staff will certainly help accommodate you. The all inclsuive portion is a great bonus especially if you are planning on having a few Margarita induced pool days. The best part of the all inclusive packages available at the resort, is that you order of the menu so you do not feel like a herd of cattle eating out of troffs when it is meal time. The menu is comparable to a 5 star restaurant, with perfect sunset and water views. I definitely have to give a big thank you to the bar staff who have been working for as little as 6 years to a faithful commitment to one employer of 30 years. Andreas, Juan, Hector, Fabricio and Clemente and are just a few of the restaurant staff that will get you anything you crave and if its not on the menu, they will make it.
Don't let the distance scare you, the bus is across the street and in a speedy, rickety 10 minute roller coaster ride you are in town for 14peseso a person. A cab ride is usually about 70 pesos.
Once again I cannot say enough amazing things about this resort, and already planning a return for the winter months.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Carolina, thank you very much for your great comments about our staff and food, we appreciate them for all they are worth to us.
It is a fact our staff is one, if not the friendliest of all Vallarta and has been the great asset of our property, making repeat guests feel at home as soon as they come into the resort.
The other asset is our location which, even though a bit off downtown in a very secluded part of Vallarta's south coast, close enough to enjoy the malecon in no more than a 15 minute ride by bus.
We are glad you came back after a 5 years absence and we hope to see you this coming winter at you "home away from home".
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had a week timeshare given to me and ended up choosing Costa Sur. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I got to know all the servers at the bar and restaurant and they treated me and my friend so kindly. Everyday they asked how we were and what activities we were doing. The food was good, activities were very fun (kayak and paddle board), massage was great and service excellent. I would recommend this Resort if youre looking to get away from the big crowds and have a more peaceful environment. Easy to catch the bus into main Vallarta, 5 min ride and cheap. I had a wonderful stay at Costa Sur! Thx, Taryn

Room Tip: The beds are super comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Taryn,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our resort and about our staff.
I do hope you make of Costa Sur a regular vacation spot when visiting our beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

Hope we get to see you soon back in Costa Sur!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is older but the wait staff is extremely friendly.The rooms are older but all have great views, comfy beds and nice new tvs. The other benefit is that you are very close to old town and the bus is only about 50 cents US. The only thing I would change is a few front desk associates who aren't pleasant and the quality of seafood in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We take all reviews seriously and take immediate actions when we see a comment that contains opportunity areas.
Definitely, one of our great assets is our staff and we are very glad you had the chance to experience it.
We have taken note about your observations and you can be sure we will look into them, in order to rectify the situation.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you soon on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Helps to have a good sense of humor when staying here! Otherwise one may go insane. Location is quite nice although is a 70 peso (at the time of this writing) taxi ride to town. Front desk quite pleasant and helpful. Room was comfortable. Where this resort really "falls down" is in the restaurant/bar area. Despite not appearing very busy, was nearly impossible to get anyone to seat you or take your order. Once your food/drink is served forget about ever seeing your wait person again. One quickly learns to fend for themselves as otherwise another cup of coffee or asking for anything else is only a fantasy here. This resort discourages ordering from the menu in stead recommending the buffets at every opportunity. Would strongly recommend going into town for meals/drinks as we quickly learned. The WiFi requires very frequent log-ins, as in every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We take all reviews seriously and take immediate actions when we see a red light on a comment.
I do hope you give us a second chance in the near future so you can see for yourself the improvements on service, this is a never ending task and the most important one in our industry.

Thank you again and hope you come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been coming to Costa Sur (formerly Costa Vida) for nearly 10 years as timeshare owners, and it keeps getting better every time. Although there are many things to do in PV, the resort has practically everything you need. The restaurant is superb, the accomodations are excellent, all with panoramic ocean views. However, my favorite part is the staff, many of whom have been with Costa Sur for many years. They all evidently love their jobs and it shows with the excellent attention and service they provide.

Room Tip: There's really no such thing as a "bad" room as far as I can see. It would seem the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Susan,

Your kind review is much appreciated.
It gives us much joy to see that after many years you see all the improvements we keep on doing to our beautiful resort to keep it as the jewel it is.
Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First time at Costa Sur and we had such a good time!! Being it was my husband's birthday, we were greeted upon check-in with a birthday song and cake to our room! We had a 1 bedroom that was very clean and spacious with an amazing view of the bay. The staff was very gracious and some became friends as well. The concierge Oscar was very attentive to all of our needs as well. The amenities are plenty when you can't get to town for essentials. We made a lot of friends while having happy hour or just relaxing by the pool. The "ocean pool" is amazing to swim or look at all the beautiful fish! The food at the restaurant is very good but the French onion soup is to die for! A heartfelt muchas gracias and we can't wait to come back next year!!!

Room Tip: The 1 and 2 bedroom rooms are very spacious with 2 bathrooms and full kitchens. Beautiful views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm and heartfelt review.
This is the reason why we are in this business, to deliver great experiences to our guests.
Come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sur Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.