We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Costa Sur Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$72 (USD)
Ranked #36 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Fremont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had a week timeshare given to me and ended up choosing Costa Sur. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I got to know all the servers at the bar and restaurant and they treated me and my friend so kindly. Everyday they asked how we were and what activities we were doing. The food was good, activities were very fun (kayak and paddle board), massage was great and service excellent. I would recommend this Resort if youre looking to get away from the big crowds and have a more peaceful environment. Easy to catch the bus into main Vallarta, 5 min ride and cheap. I had a wonderful stay at Costa Sur! Thx, Taryn

Room Tip: The beds are super comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Taryn,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our resort and about our staff.
I do hope you make of Costa Sur a regular vacation spot when visiting our beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

Hope we get to see you soon back in Costa Sur!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    211
    82
    43
    26
See reviews for
116
210
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is older but the wait staff is extremely friendly.The rooms are older but all have great views, comfy beds and nice new tvs. The other benefit is that you are very close to old town and the bus is only about 50 cents US. The only thing I would change is a few front desk associates who aren't pleasant and the quality of seafood in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We take all reviews seriously and take immediate actions when we see a comment that contains opportunity areas.
Definitely, one of our great assets is our staff and we are very glad you had the chance to experience it.
We have taken note about your observations and you can be sure we will look into them, in order to rectify the situation.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you soon on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Helps to have a good sense of humor when staying here! Otherwise one may go insane. Location is quite nice although is a 70 peso (at the time of this writing) taxi ride to town. Front desk quite pleasant and helpful. Room was comfortable. Where this resort really "falls down" is in the restaurant/bar area. Despite not appearing very busy, was nearly impossible to get anyone to seat you or take your order. Once your food/drink is served forget about ever seeing your wait person again. One quickly learns to fend for themselves as otherwise another cup of coffee or asking for anything else is only a fantasy here. This resort discourages ordering from the menu in stead recommending the buffets at every opportunity. Would strongly recommend going into town for meals/drinks as we quickly learned. The WiFi requires very frequent log-ins, as in every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We take all reviews seriously and take immediate actions when we see a red light on a comment.
I do hope you give us a second chance in the near future so you can see for yourself the improvements on service, this is a never ending task and the most important one in our industry.

Thank you again and hope you come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been coming to Costa Sur (formerly Costa Vida) for nearly 10 years as timeshare owners, and it keeps getting better every time. Although there are many things to do in PV, the resort has practically everything you need. The restaurant is superb, the accomodations are excellent, all with panoramic ocean views. However, my favorite part is the staff, many of whom have been with Costa Sur for many years. They all evidently love their jobs and it shows with the excellent attention and service they provide.

Room Tip: There's really no such thing as a "bad" room as far as I can see. It would seem the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Susan,

Your kind review is much appreciated.
It gives us much joy to see that after many years you see all the improvements we keep on doing to our beautiful resort to keep it as the jewel it is.
Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First time at Costa Sur and we had such a good time!! Being it was my husband's birthday, we were greeted upon check-in with a birthday song and cake to our room! We had a 1 bedroom that was very clean and spacious with an amazing view of the bay. The staff was very gracious and some became friends as well. The concierge Oscar was very attentive to all of our needs as well. The amenities are plenty when you can't get to town for essentials. We made a lot of friends while having happy hour or just relaxing by the pool. The "ocean pool" is amazing to swim or look at all the beautiful fish! The food at the restaurant is very good but the French onion soup is to die for! A heartfelt muchas gracias and we can't wait to come back next year!!!

Room Tip: The 1 and 2 bedroom rooms are very spacious with 2 bathrooms and full kitchens. Beautiful views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm and heartfelt review.
This is the reason why we are in this business, to deliver great experiences to our guests.
Come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORegon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Older and a bit tired style Mexico. Rooms very clean. Bed was comfortable.Plenty of towels and a little mini kitchen in our studio was perfect. The kitchens need a counter update, lifting linoleum. All units have beautiful ocean views. We took our dining chairs out on our patio and watched the dolphins swim by every morning. The staff was exceptional. Every one was kind, friendly and helpful. The food was good. We sat at the buffett on a Saturday night for three hours at a ocean front table and grazed. It was not crowded and the wait staff was very accomidating with anything we needed. This is one thing about Mexico,they do not rush you in restaurants, you ask for the check when you are ready to leave. The swimming pool for kids was refreshing. But the adult pool was warm. Perfect if you have arthritis I suppose, but not good if you want to cool off away from kids. The beach is perfect for swimming and snorkelling. Clean and protected by a rock barrier.About 15 minute or less bus ride to town with just a couple stops, 70 pesos. Then Taxi back was $7.00 US dollars. We liked Costa Sur and will return and stay in a 1 bedroom with our timeshare exchange.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. You are obviously an experienced traveler which always enhances the value of a guest’s comments. We are very pleased that you so quickly identified many of the trademark virtues of our resort – the perfect views from every room, the quality of our incredible staff, the unique experience of our protected swimming lagoon, the quality of our food. You deserve to come back – and soon!
Hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our 11th floor corner room was perfect, large, comfortable, clean with an awesome view. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, unlike our usual experience in Mexican hotels. Air conditioning was great, as was the shower pressure, and it was wonderful to have a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker! The pool was very nice. The included breakfast was perfect and tasty. Four complaints, the drinks were weak and expensive, the beach is too small, the balcony is too small and the hotel is a 10-15 minute bus ride into town, which was a little too far away for us. But overall, all of the positives along with the rate make this a tempting choice for future trips!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, has an extra large window! Choose a floor lower than the lobby if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience at Costa Sur. We will make doubly certain that the drinks served are above reproach and fairly priced. We generally get good comments on the beach because the protected lagoon allows the relaxed use of a wonderful swimming area. But if we can find a way to make it more comfortable, we will certainly do so. As for the 10 minute bus ride, well, we are in Mexico and we can only advise you to enjoy the local color. We really appreciate your mentioning the room rate as one of the positives since we take a lot of pride in providing an excellent facility at a good location and at a very attractive rate. That’s the kind of value we are very pleased to offer our guests.
Please come back! We’ll have an excellent drink waiting for you by the pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sur Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.