We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Sur Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for US$299.00
Ranked #45 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kelseyville, California
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

On a previous stay at Costa Sur we were very happy and on the basis of that experience we pruchased a TLA membership for return trips but much to our disappontment our recent trip 4/29-5/6/2013 we found that the ambiance had changed drastically. No longer is it a resort of relaxing ambiance, good food and service-it had changed into a childrens zoo-screaming children at both pools from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. we were only able to swim in a relaxed mode on two occasiona out of a 7 day stay, The food service had deteriorated to mostly buffet style service and mostly mexican type food and flavor, we also felt rushed to get seated, eat and get out. It also appeared to be a smokers paradise and at no time could we enjoy a smoke free area...not even when dining. The resort seems to have developed plumbing problems for we were not able to adequately adjust the water temp in the bathroom and the hand sink took ten minutes to drain-UGH! Just before leaving we learned that the resort management had opened the resort to local day trippers, which we assume was the reason for the zoo atmosphere. Needless to say we will not return nor recommend Costa Sur. Mel T. Kelseyville, CA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
To: Ray F.
We were very sorry to hear about your disappointment with your stay at Costa Sur. We try to maintain a comfortable balance with visiting groups who come to enjoy the unique pleasures of our lagoon and beach. Once in a while, we let that balance get away from us and that was apparently the case during your recent stay. Please be assured that we will redouble our supervision to make sure that the hotel facilities, dining areas and swimming pools are not overloaded. Nothing is more important than keeping a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere for our guests. In regard to the problem with the wash basin and water temperature controls in your room, we regret that you had that problem and will be more vigilant about reviewing every fitting and fixture in our rooms to make certain that this problem does not reoccur.
We hope you will reconsider in the future and return to Costa Sur to enjoy the atmosphere you so much appreciated during your earlier visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    278
    107
    49
    34
See reviews for
157
289
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I don't know why there are so many people that have given this hotel a bad review. Some people must have incredibly high expectations to think every property is going to be 5 star. This property is one of the oldest time shares in Puerto Vallarta and while the rooms are a bit dated, they are well maintained and very clean. The beds are comfy and the A/C is cold.

I can't say enough about the common area...the pool, the bar, the restaurant, the small beach and lagoon. Classic Mexico with a fabulous view. You won't have to deal with loud, thumping music all day long along with someone yelling into a microphone leading pool games. You will get peace and quite and jazz on the speakers around the pool and bar area.

We stayed our first week at Paradise Village in Nuevo Vallarta. Very large property, lots of activity and noise. We are now spending a week here at Costa Sur and we are loving the small hotel feel and the incredible location south of town.

As with any property, there will be less than ideal room locations. We always ask to see our room before we have our bags taken to it.

We also had massages at the spa and the were great. All of the staff, from bellman, front desk, waiters, bartenders and housekeepers are great and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room from floor 6 and up for a great view. If you want the windows open in th bedroom, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I feel the same way as you do about the reviews...we are a small, quaint, traditional 4 star hotel located minutes away from one of the most beautiful town in Mexico, Puerto Vallarta. We do not advertise brand new, 5 star, deluxe accommodations, so dont know why some of our guests have that idea... In addition we have one of the most unique features any hotel could have in Puerto Vallarta, our ocean lagoon which is populated by the most amazing and colorful fish.

Thank you again for posting your comments and hope you come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The room was in good shape and we enjoyed drinks by the pool with a great view. The help was fabulous and the front desk was very attentive. The view is wonderful and the lagoon is a fun experience! I really enjoyed a relaxing massage from the spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dirk,
Just a quick note to say thank you for your very kind comments about our resort and especially about our staff. Yes, they are “fabulous” and we are all very pleased to hear that your stay was a complete success. C’mon back. We we will try to surpass your last stay with us.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I feel as if Costa Sur is a hidden gem! The scenery from any room you book is priceless. As you stand on your balcony, you have Los Arcos to your south and the lovely Puerto Vallarta skyline to your north. Lots of warm hospitality thrown in to add to the overall pleasure of your trip. The room staff are very conscientious and thorough.
We used the bus frequently. We even used it from the airport. Across the road from the hotel there is a nice cement slab to stand on while waiting for the bus.
The food is delicious with a lovely presentation. You can even select a table with an ocean view. I can't say enough about the view!

Room Tip: The higher up, the prettier the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about your experience at Costa Sur. We must agree that it is a “hidden gem.” We also hasten to agree with your warm remarks about our staff which are the pride and joy of our resort.
Please come back so that we can try to do even better. We are always happiest when our guests really enjoy themselves. That’s why we’re here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

super comfortable not most modern but friendly staff great food and a million dollar view made up for being small lagoon had lots of varied fish and very relaxing worth a try .bus stops out front 7 pesos into town try north tower room 720 or upper floors

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your generous comments about your experience at Costa Sur. It is true that our resort is “not the most modern,” but as you note there are many features that make up for that, including “friendly staff, great food and a million dollar view.” We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our private lagoon which is unique on this bay.
We hope you will return soon. You will see the results of our steady efforts to upgrade the rooms in order to make them, well, not modern but even more comfortable.
Thanks again for your comments – they mean a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We received an awesome deal on our room here via a Living Social deal. We were in PVR for a wedding and multiple sets of guests also stayed here. We had a one bedroom suite in the updated tower.

I'll start with the good-
-Staff is extremely friendly, lagoon is great, pool is nice, room was suitable for our needs-not the fanciest place I've ever stayed but it was fine for me.

Bad-
We were in the tower nearer the septic tank and the smell was AWFUL. Almost unbelievably, the smell in our room was much much worse. To the point where we'd occasionally gag-the smell was constant and horrible. Did I mention the horrible smell? It was bad. (I should note this isnt my first trip to Mexico and I'm accustomed to the occasional whiff of sewer, this was much more extreme and regular) I'm embarrassed to admit this now but we didnt think to ask to be moved until three or four days in. When we did complain the staff was very nice and showed us multiple rooms, the room we picked was much less smelly. We should have asked to move much sooner! But that is on us.

The worst part of this trip was that all of us got very sick. There was no common food or drink that we could pin this to and by the end of the trip the only thing I could come up with was that it was the hotel. Either a backup of the septic tank left the air dirty or perhaps someone with housekeeping had a virus that was transmitted. Who knows. Every person at the wedding (8 total that we talked to) that stayed in the same tower as we did got sick-extreme vomiting and diarrhea. ANother group in the elevator in the same tower said 14 out of the 16 people in their group had also been sick!

This was my third week in a row on a fabulous trip to Mexico so it was a really unfortunate end to the trip. I would have been happy with the facilities and price but I just can't overlook the fact that so many of us got so sick. I would not stay here again if I could go back in time-no way. I dont write bad reviews often and take the impact of critical reviews seriously but this completely impacted our trip in the worse possible way.

Room Tip: Avoid room 418 like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We were very sorry to hear about your health problems during your trip to Mexico – nothing is worse than an illness that affects everyone in a group traveling together. For our part, we can only reinforce our hygiene program which is already very strictly applied to all procedures related to consumption of food and beverage on the premises. Our water undergoes the most rigorous and regular testing at a highly qualified laboratory. At a separate laboratory, also highly qualified, we have regular testing of the food provided to guests at our hotel. The results of this testing continue to be consistently favorable.
Of course, no one can be 100% certain as to the possible origin of any such illness. But we can assure you that we take your letter very seriously and will thoroughly review all hygiene procedures with even greater attention to any possible compromise of cleanliness standards. We want our guests to feel that they can have full confidence that the food and beverage at our hotel meet the most stringent international standards of hygiene.
As for the odor problem while you were at the hotel, we did have a mechanical malfunction at our treatment plant which we fully corrected as quickly as possible. We apologize for this inconvenience and we are fully committed to preventing this problem from occurring again.
We do appreciate your fair minded reference to the many positive features of our resort, first among them being the staff. Everyone employed at Costa Sur takes personal pride in serving our clientele and it is a very personal disappointment when there are problems of the type you describe in your letter.
We hope to have a second opportunity to demonstrate that Costa Sur is a professionally managed operation. Again, we apologize for the odor problem which is not an acceptable condition for our guests at any time. We appreciate your comments because they will motivate us to take every possible measure to prevent any such problems from occurring again.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I would actually give it a 3.5, not superb, but not bad either. Nice looking place - sort of. It's like an old building got upgraded, but without much attention to detail. For example there's marble countertops, with sloppy installations. New paint, but painted right over loose panels without tidying them up first. Our floor stunk of fertilizer in the plants, and there's noise from the highway at night, in addition to mariachi band playing for the wedding downstairs. Otherwise the price was good, service was decent, and the view is spectacular. Lagoon and pool are nice. It was actually the perfect choice for us since we didn't spend a lot of time there. It's not far out of town and we rented a car so we spent most of our time eating out (hotel restaurant is decent but expensive) and seeing the town.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, but get more noise from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sur Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.