We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but only stay if you want quiet relaxation.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Costa Sur Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4 Night Package US$425.00
Ranked #35 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but only stay if you want quiet relaxation.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff at the Costa Sur Resort and Spa were the highlight of our stay. I can't say enough about all of them and especially Osbaldo and Victor at the restaurant/pool bar. I've never been to a resort where the more than 80 percent of the clientele was retirement age and older so if you want hang out at night at the pool bar and restaurant for some fun, you won't find it here. The kitchens in the rooms are badly in need of updating but it was clean. The lounge chairs around the pool are pretty uncomfortable with only two settings - flat or half way up but the chairs on the beach are great. The all-inclusive option of $47-$67 (premium seafood) per day was fantastic because we could pick and choose which days we wanted to do it and the food was good. I liked the location being only a $6 taxi or 70 pesos bus ride to old town and the Malecon.

Room Tip: There are two buildings - the south building looks newer although I did not see the rooms. I know t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    207
    79
    43
    26
See reviews for
113
208
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ended up here as a friend could not use their timeshare this year. We were
a bit unsure what to expect at this property but we were so pleasantly surprised!

The location is inbtween the Mismaloya and old town.....about a 10 min cab ride into town.
The view from our balconey is beautiful...it feels like you are on a cruse ship with the water right there. So much to see from the balconey...whales..spear fishers..birds..very entertaining.

The private beach has a great quiet area for swimmers. Fun safe area for snorkeling or to refresh your diving skills with the resorts PADI instructor. Many beach chairs a few very nice vendors. They were all on first name basis with the long time guests.

The rooms are fine with a very comfortable clean bed. The room was very clean and kept that
Way throughout our stay by a great housekeeper. The room is old school but freshened with a
nice flat screen Tv. The kitchen is adequate if you plan to have a few meals in your room.

The excercise room was a nice surprise. 2 eliptcals 2treadmills and a universal gym.
All was in great working order.

I did not use the spa as I felt it was a bit over priced.

What we enjoyed most was the resorts following. Most of the guests had been coming since it opened. Very friendly and social....many card games going on. Just a good feeling.

Would return and would reccomend to those looking for a smaller resort experience.

Room Tip: We were on the far side of the North towers....very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

After reading reviews on several resorts that where available through our travel club we settled on the Costa Sur. We were looking for a quiet place with good food and an older relaxed atmosphere.
It truly was quiet and relaxing. The crowd was older and while some of the time share people didn't seem to happy about us "visitors" most were very pleasant and friendly.
The food however was awful. I am not a picky eater and can usually eat just about anything without complaint. If we had to eat in the restaurant I stuck to the salads or sandwiches, Everything else was not very good.
The staff is outstanding. Fernando at the front desk goes way out of his way to be helpful. I can't remember the young woman's name that is the concierge but she was also great. I don't think I met one unpleasant employee.
The rooms are very old but the kitchen in our studio was serviceable for our needs. I own a cleaning company and do have high standards of clean and this was a bit below my standards but not horrible. We were unable to use our air conditioner due to the amount of mildew it was putting out. My allergies were out of control until we just turned it off and left open the patio door and bathroom window at night.
The view from our balcony was truly amazing. We could sit with our coffee in the morning and watch dolphins and whales at play. One day an entire school off manta rays came flying past. It was soooo relaxing and beautiful.
Going in we knew that it's wasn't an expensive new resort. We just wanted an affordable quiet get away and that's what we got.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Costa Sur couldn't be a more relaxing and romantic location. The pool and private beach were spectacular! The staff at Costa Sur were the highlight. They were able to help us with everything from travel arrangements to restraunt recommendations to even having a private Doctor come to our room. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelseyf, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Jessica,

I agree with you! I love Costa Sur too!
I will make sure to share your very nice comments with the rest of our staff.
Hope to see you here at Costa Sur again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Costa Sur on our first trip to Puerto Vallarta in January! Absolutely beautiful! The rooms were great, the food was excellent and the entire staff was amazing! I would definitely stay again and I highly recommend it!!! The private beach was awesome and the heated pool was very relaxing at night! Our entire trip of only 7 days was Paradise!!! Thank you to the wonderful staff for helping make our vacation so amazing!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelseyf, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dewar guest,

Thank you for your note!
I am very glad your vacation was so fabulous...
Please come back to visit us soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinholds, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Costa Sur is an older resort just south of Puerto Vallarta in a small cove on the Banderas Bay. We had a studio overlooking the Bay; from the balcony we watched whales breaching and playing and some truly spectacular sunsets. The room was clean and comfortable and the kitchenette suited us well. Wifi worked well in our room.

The swimming pool is very average but the area around the pool spills over into an outdoor sitting area with a well equipped bar that blends into a restaurant giving the feel of a nice outdoor lounge. Service at the restaurant is very slow ~ maybe resort time.There is a smaller pool and quiet sitting area beyond the restaurant where we did some lap swimming and reading. The beach is rough sand and the hotel has created a rock break to enclose a safe swimming area. At low tide the area is also an excellent spot to snorkel and the equipment desk is nearby at the pool.

The front desk staff is friendly and helpful and it is easy to arrange adventures off site at the activities desk. We had a car as we always like to do our own travelling but taxis were always available just in front of the buildings. There are very few restaurants in walking distance so transportation is important.

The south side of Puerto Vallarta is quieter and it is easy to get into the Sierra Madre Mountains and beautiful botanical gardens from there. We enjoy eco-trips so this location suited us very well but downtown was just a short distance north and we shopped and explored there with as much enthusiasm.

Overall we enjoyed our stay for the quieter comfort and more natural surroundings slightly away from the town.

Room Tip: ocean view for sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelseyf, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you, i love reading detailed reviews and feel proud about how well our guests spend their vacations in Costa Sur. The whales remark is my favorite! I love them and in fact this is my favorite time of the year..Dec through March...the snorkeling in the lagoon is amazing too...As you mentioned, this is a quiet resort...to enjoy nature and quality time with friends and family.

Please do come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euclid, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Overall this place wasn't bad except for the overwhelming odor of a septic system coming from behind the south building. We couldn't use the AC because it would pull the smell into the room. The staff was excellent and the food was good. Neither of the ceiling fans in our room worked. The private lagoon, which was great for snorkeling, but, I believe was the outlet for the septic system.

Room Tip: Watch out for the brown water cloud coming from the south end of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelseyf, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about Costa sur.
I am sorry about the odor, it could have been the water purifying plant but trust me no sewer.
in addition the water than comes into the lagoon comes from the river that runs down the mountain with one of the cleanest spring waters in Mexico....
This is why our lagoon is so clean and crystal clear and a sanctuary for marine life....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Sur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sur Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.