We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams is an amazing place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
san jose
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dreams is an amazing place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I want to start off by saying; this is our fourth trip to Dreams PV and hopefully not our last. This place is an amazing place for couples, families or anyone looking to relax. The location is secluded enough, but just a ten minute cab ride into downtown.

Check-in: As soon as you arrive, your bags are whisked away by a porter and you offered a cold towel and a glass of champagne. We didn’t arrive until after 6pm and this was perfect as we did not have to wait for our room. If you booked your package with the offer of coupons you do need to ask for them as they are given when you check in, these actually came in handy during the stay.

Rooms: We chose to stay in the older tower in the deluxe room again. The rooms itself is the size of a large master bed room. There is a king bed, loveseat, chaise, table with two chairs and an armoire with a TV, coffee maker and drawers for your clothing. The bathroom was a nice size with a bathtub/shower combo and they provide you with 4 ounce bottles of shampoo, body wash, sun block (spf 15) and lotion. While the furnishing may seem outdated it was clean and served its purpose. The room has ceiling to floor sliding glass door that we loved to have cracked open to hear the ocean waves during the evening. Every room has a view of the ocean. We stayed on the 4th floor in room 1410 and 1409 (these were connecting rooms should you need to request one). The AC worked fine, but because of the humidity in August it was necessary to have it running all day. There is also a laptop size safe in your valuables and passport.

Housekeeping did an excellent job of cleaning the room and most of the time we turned down the turndown service since we enjoyed taking late naps (hey we’re on vacation). Even when we turned down the service they still gave us chocolates and a little souvenir. There are robes and slippers on the bed when you arrive. If you need extra pillows or anything in particular you can easily make one call and get it within ten minutes. They would also mop the floor everyday as we would track sand back into our room all the time.

Pool: There are three pools in total and the main pool has a swim up bar. We took our daughter to the shallow area at the main pool daily and into the Jacuzzi at the quiet pool area when it got to hot for her. The quiet pool is next to the old tower. The “Jacuzzi” at the quiet pool area is just warm water and a couple of jets. The actual Jacuzzi that is hot is in the middle of the main pool area. By 11am, the main pool area and the chairs do start filling up. You can still find a spot, but not one with an umbrella. Yes there are a lot of kids in the main pool, but there is another option if you want quiet time. The infinity pool near the preferred tower is for adults only with a nearby bar (ten steps). The pools were kept very clean and you can see them checking the PH of the water and cleaning it on a daily basis.

Beach: There is about a 500 yard private beach with so many palpas to sit under. The beach is amazing and this is also another reason we come back to Dreams so many times. There is a waiter who will bring you drinks and it’s always nice to try the drink of the day. This is the only private beach area in PV and the waves in some areas are gentle enough for my 10 month old to play in.

Food, food and more food: This is the only AI I’ve ever staying at and the food is so good it will probably be the only AI we will ever go to. There are at least six different options for you to select from. During breakfast there is Oceana (a la carte), World Café (buffet) and room service to choose from. We mainly stuck with the World Café since they had the most to select from. Oceana though had smoothies and fresh juices that were delicious. The buffet had yogurts, cereal, pancakes, traditional Mexican food, made to order omelets and the list just goes on and on. I would say the food is better than your chain restaurants (e.g. Red Lobster, Outback Steakhouse, etc…) and there is so much variety that you will not get tired of the food here.

I guess I’ll start off with my favorite, Oceana. The meat and seafood lover is what I would usually order and as always it was amazing. You also have to try the fried ice cream. The appetizers there are really good as well. I would recommend the escargot since it was my favorite appetizer there. They also have a daily special that you can order. On one particular day, the special was a whole rock crab with a seafood risotto.

My second favorite was Seaside Grill. The yellow fin ahi tuna salad was really good, but all the appetizers at this restaurant are excellent. I enjoyed the filet wrapped in bacon and my husband had the mahi mahi. They are also open for lunch everyday and had a great selection of fresh ceviche. I enjoyed the octopus with shrimp.

Portofino was also an excellent spot, but is for adults only. The gnocchi and penne pasta was excellent. The duck was also good and same goes for the beef tenderloin. You can actually order a half order of the pasta and order a main plate as well. We were so full by the end of our meal that we were hesitant to order a dessert, but we did anyways.

The World Café was great for a quick meal. There were a lot of selections for the kids to choose from. On certain days, they had fresh whole grilled fish. Not sure what type of fish that was served (looked like snapper), but it tasted really fresh. The food in the buffet for breakfast was the best. Lunch had your basic dishes of proteins, salads and carbs. Dinner wasn’t bad here either and there is so much to choose from you basically can try everything and eventually find something you like.

During our stay the Barefoot grill, next to Oceana, was open every day. They had burgers, hot dogs and quesadillas from noon until 5pm daily. This was a great way to grab lunch without leaving the beach and getting dressed. We did not get a chance to go to El Patio, the Mexican restaurant, so I can’t comment on it.

Room service was always within 30 minutes no matter what time of day. The menu was very basic with options like spaghetti, pizza, potato skins, etc…just enough to satisfy anyone. I would recommend the tortilla soup, chicken flautas and flank steak. Don’t forget to ask them what the special of the day is.

Entertainment: We didn’t get to enjoy all the entertainment because our 10 month old needed to be in bed at a certain time. The staff here is wonderful though in trying to keep you entertained from the daily kayak tour of the bay, jungle trek into the mountain from the hotel, water polo, etc….There are also kayaks and boogie boards for you to borrow. You can Jet Ski right off of the beach for $65/30minutes or go parasailing as well. Our daughter was too young for the kids club, but from what we could see the children seemed to be having lots of fun. They have a trampoline for the kids to jump on at 11am and 4pm daily. It’s the type you usually pay $5 for each child back home, but here it’s all free. There is a daily schedule they give you the day before so you can plan out what activities to do. I would highly recommend the turtle release. We were lucky to be able to do the turtle release as they were just starting to hatch. It was very educational and really an amazing experience. This usually occurs around 7pm and when we left the turtles were starting to hatch.

Please tip the staff. They work really hard and we all know that even though it says that tips are included in the package that the staff does not make very much. A dollar a drink is fine and even if you feel it unnecessary then maybe even a dollar for every two drinks. We tipped for each of the meal and room service. We even left money in the mini bar for the guy who refills it everyday and yes they do refill it every day with 4 coronitas, 4 bottles of water (more if you ask for it), 4 cans of coke, 2 diet coke and two juice bottles. No matter how much you give the staff is always so appreciative.

Coupons: We booked our trip through Orbitz and received $200 in coupons which we were able to use on massages and the purchase of tequila. You can use up to $40 at a time for spa services such as massages and salt scrubs. We ended up paying $54 for a 50min, Swedish massage and $27 for a 25 minute salt scrub. The best part that they don’t advertise is that the $20 wine coupons can be used to purchase tequila on Thursday, when they do the tequila tasting (this occurred at the main pool at around 4pm). A $29 bottle of Tequila came out to be less than $10 and we actually got another type for only $3.

Side Notes: If you are an iprefer member you can get an upgrade. Friends of ours were able to upgrade from a Jacuzzi suite to the dreams suite. We were able to use the internet for free, but could not get an upgrade due to the fact they were at full capacity.

To get into downtown it is only 50 pesos and back to the airport is only 150 pesos.

August is their rainy season and is very hot and humid. We didn’t mind it as the rain each evening made it much cooler. If you are concerned about the rain, it only rains in the evening and for maybe an hour or two. The lighting at night is just beautiful to watch from your window.

Go downtown on the weekends in the evening around sunset. There are performers on the Malecon (boardwalk) right around sunset. Something interesting to see and do while in PV.

If you have any specific questions you need answered don’t hesitate to send me an email.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,898
    1,053
    281
    129
    80
See reviews for
1,067
2,107
51
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
on the lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We arrived on time in Puerto Vallarta and cleared customs. The kids were excited to add another stamp to their passports. We found our luggage and headed out to find our transfers. We learned from our recent trip to the Mayan Riviera how to truly avoid the time share folks. Keep your eyes on the doors straight ahead of you and don’t tell anyone anything! The time share people will ask “what hotel are you staying at” and say “here is your transfer, seniorita” but it’s part of their ploy. Go past the time share people and look to the right for the people dressed in uniforms holding signs with your travel company on it like Funjet Vacations, MLT Vacations, Apple Vacations, etc. We found ours immediately and were escorted outside to a 12 passenger van. Since we were the only passengers there heading south, we were the only ones in the van. Very nice! We always debate about paying for the private transfer upgrade. Here we got it just out of luck.

The drive to our hotel was fine. We drove right past the Malecon on the way, and our driver showed us a few places worth spending more time at. We arrived at Dreams Puerto Vallarta in about 20 minutes. Check in took a little longer that I (or really, the kids) would have liked. I had faxed the hotel with information about our reservation ahead of time, and even got a reply from them, but none of that was documented on our reservation when we arrived and there was mass confusion. But, we eventually got to our room, 1623. Our room was in the Dreams Tower (the older tower) on the 6th floor. All rooms at Dreams Puerto Vallarta have oceanfront views, meaning one wall of our room was glass with a full on view of the shore and water. It was nice. We had 2 very comfortable double beds, a desk and chair, a small sofa, round coffee table and another chair, armoire with the TV, DVD player, coffee maker and drawers, large closet with shelves, a few hangers and an electronic safe, and an adequate bathroom with nice amenities. The air conditioning worked well. We were very comfortable in our room and had plenty of space.

We loved that there are no wristbands required at Dreams. The hotel is set on a beach cove between two mountains that make their way to the ocean. The beach is very private since there is no way for outsiders to access the beach other than through the main lobby. The beach was nice and clean. The water was warm. The waves were big enough for the kids to enjoy hours and hours of boogie boarding. Beach vendors were very nice and respectful. A simple “no, gracias” was all it took and they were on their way. They were friendly and were not a problem at all. We spent most of our time on the beach, but did go to the main pool one day. Pool chairs are very, very limited. By 8am most of the pool chairs had towels and other personal belonging on them already. Many sat that way all day, never really being used, which is a shame. Beach towels were always available. We rented boogie boards from the activities desk and played a few games of giant chess and ping pong. There are two other pools, too. One is a quiet pool next to the main pool. It is smaller with a few chairs and in the shade. This is one of the areas used for wedding receptions. The other is in front of the Club Tower and is the adults only infinity pool.

We mostly ate at the World Café Buffet but could have chosen to dine at the Oceana (seafood), El Patio (Mexican), Seaside Grill (steakhouse) or Portofino (adults only gourmet.) We also used room service, which the kids thought was great! We often grabbed a burger or hotdog from the beach grill during the day. No reservations needed for any restaurant and the dress codes were pretty relaxed.

We took a taxi to the Malecon on Sunday afternoon. The Malecon is a beachfront shopping area very popular with locals and tourists alike. We looked at the different sculptures and sand art along the way. The sand art was incredible. They were building The Last Supper scene while we were there. Pretty incredible. We did some shopping, got some ice cream and got our daughter's hair braided. It was a nice little trip. The taxi from Dreams to the Malecon was $5.

We took a taxi to the Vallarta Zoo in Mismaloya. The taxi cost $12 each way. Entrance into the zoo was $10 per adult and $5 per child. It was also $5 per bag of food to feed the zoo animals. We fed monkeys, raccoons, camels, flamingos, giraffes, fish, parrots, tucans, hippos, horses, zebras, bunnies, warthogs, and more. The absolute highlight of the day at the zoo was playing with the tiger cub and black panther cub! For $10 each, we got to go sit in a fenced in area and play with and pet a 3 week old Siberian tiger cub and a 4 week old black panther cub. We spent at least 15 minutes with them. It was definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity! Worth every penny!

You can see photos of our trip at http://www.shellistravel.com/Travelogues/tabid/316/Default.aspx. We really enjoyed our stay at Dreams Vallarta. The private beach was incredible, the oceanfront rooms were nice and the atmosphere was perfect. We'd definitely stay here again! After leaving Dreams, we headed to the Riu Vallarta where we spend the second half of our vacation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Dreams. We have been to the Mayan Riveria but it was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta. Overall we liked it here with a few noteable exceptions. We travelled with our 17 year old daughter and 14 year old son. We had phoned the resort twice prior to arrival and requested side by side rooms as we had booked two suites for the four of us, We were assured that would happen but on check in were told that our teenagers were on a different floor than us. It took us two days to get them one room away from us on the same floor. There was very little for this age group to do at Dreams . Two years ago we stayed at the Iberostar Lindo and the activities to appeal to teenagers were huge from archery to water polo. The only activities here were geared to young children or over 20 year olds, We were also turned away from the Oceana restaurant as my 14 year old son had brand new Billabong shorts on instead of "bermudas" Very poor for a beach resort. We did go into PV and bought some 10 dollar shorts from Walmart but were so upset by our treatment we never went back to the Oceana. We also found the bar staff very rude at times, in particular Jose at the Marlin bar. It didn't matter whether you tipped them or not. The hotel itself was beautiful and clean and the rest of the staff were wonderful. The main pool was too full of small children to enjoy and yet some of the adults in the infinity pool glared at my 6 foot tall 14 year old son when we went there. The pools were less than clean as well. The Beach was awesome as was the ocean. We also really enjoyed our side trips such as snorkeling with Tony. When I told Tony we had read about him on trip advisor he was clearly thrilled. We also went out to swim with the wild dolphins with " Wildlife Connections" I would highly recommend this over caged dolphins that are taught tricks. A highly informative and wonderful four hour trip that was very reasonably priced at 280.00 for the four of us. They are doing some wonderful research with the dolphins and could use any support given. All in all we enjoyed PV and the hotel was definately okay for an all inclusive but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a four night stay at Dreams in Puerto Vallarta. I did a lot of research prior to booking this trip and it surpassed my expectations. We had a Dreams Suite in the Preferred Club Tower on the 5th floor (Room 1555). The room was incredible; beautifully furnished with a large marble bathroom with a large soaking tub for two and a stand-up shower with a waterfall faucet mounted in the ceiling. The room and bathroom were perfectly clean and the air-conditioner was super powerful. The balcony was very large and any room in this tower above the second floor will have a great view. The lobby of this tower had a little welcome area where guests can help themselves to a wide offering of alcohol, sodas, snacks, fruit and coffee. They also offered bagels & lox every morning. In addition, they had two computers that you are welcome to use free of charge.
There are three pools in the resort. We stuck to the small infinity pool because it was adults only. The largest pool with the swim-up bar was full of kids and since this was an anniversay trip we steered clear of that. We never really had a problem getting a seat at the pool, and there a lots of lounge chairs on the beach, each with it's own umbrella, that are very close to the pool. It seemed that there were always some available so it should not be too much of a problem getting a good spot. The staff was always very attentive and got the drinks out quick to the pool.
The resort offered a lot of activities. We took out one of their kayaks for a little cruise around the ocean and my husband played beach volleyball. Also, each night they had a theme; casino night, fiesta night, rock & roll night...all are worth checking out.
We never had to wait more than 5 minutes to get into any of the restaurants and overall the food was pretty good. We used room service a couple of times and that was fast and tasty as well. The Vallarta Pizza & the Chicken Flautas were our faves from room service. Steer clear of the brownie - it was very unusual. We enjoyed everything we ordered from Oceana, and they also offered breakfast in case you get tired of the buffet. Also, you must try the fried ice cream at Oceana - Delicious!! El Patio was our least favorite restaurant. Seaside Grill had a pretty good filet mignon, but my husband's new york strip steak was very fatty. I also want to mention that I was very impressed that the restaurants were very clean; the plates, glasses and silverware were all sparkling.
Also, our room had a flat screen TV and we had many premium stations including HBO, Showtime, Movie Channel, etc. Also, the concierge had a selection of DVD's available to watch free of charge.
My husband and I plan to definately return to Dreams again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

This was the second trip to dreams for my husband and I and I have to say that it was well worth it to upgrade to the preferred tower. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very spacious. The entire staff at the hotel was more than helpful. I would especially like to thank Paty and Gaby for the wonderful service in the preferred tower lobby. We were welcomed by Paty with a glass of champagne and a friendly smile. Our check in was smooth and we were more than pleased with our room. We stayed for a week and wished that we could have stayed longer. The service at the pool and was exceptional Felipe, Fernando, and Aldo were always there with a smile ready to help us with anything we needed, the were awesome. Anywhere we went throughout the hotel we were greeted with a smile down to the maintenance folks who did an amazing job of keeping the grounds beautiful and clean. The staff work incredibly hard so we were more than happy to tip, you just don't find service like this in the states. The hotel itself is beautiful and there many restaurants to choose from. During the day you can walk down to the beach and order hamburgers, hot dogs, quesidillas, nachos, ceviche you name it and these guys work hard cooking over an open grill in the heat. The italian restaurant Portofino was pretty good and had a large wine list to choose from. El Patio was also good with a nice choice of traditional mexican dishes. I especially enjoyed the Sea Side Grill the view is incredible and the food was also very good. We also enjoyed room service for breakfast every morning looking out at the ocean view, it never took longer than 30 minutes. Another plus for my husband and I were the beds they were incredibly comfortable. I can't stress enough how beautiful the hotel was from the room to the grounds and the staff was the best! If your looking for a change of pace you can go over to the Malecon for only $5 were there are numerous restaurants to choose from as well as tons of night clubs. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We got back from a 12 day stay in Puerto Vallarta, 5 of which we spent at Dreams. It is a somewhat smaller, more intimate place than many of the huge hotels in Nuevo Vallarta and other destinations in Mexico such as Cancún. It's super close to the town itself --only a 5 minute 50 peso ($4.50) cab ride away so there's plenty to do if you get bored by the all-inclusive lifestyle. The resort itself is very mellow, perhaps because it was low season, without much nightlife such as dancing or parties. There was something for everyone during the daytime-- kids activities and an adult pool where my partner and I enjoyed kid-free adult company and a private beach. I would highly recommend the Jungle Trek, which is free and starts from the hotel's property, up the small creak that runs to a small waterfall. Bring your water shoes or Tevas!
The food was exceptional, as far as all-inclusive resorts go, with no reservations needed for any of the 4 specialty restaurants. The buffet was average but with so many alternative dining options, it wasn't necessary. We don't drink much so can't say too much about the alcohol nor the bar scene although the drinks we had were fine. It did get kind of dead pretty early, around midnight.
For gay travelers, I would say the hotel staff and guests were very open and friendly, although there weren't all too many gay couples as far as we could tell. (We did meet a few though.) The staff was very accommodating and super-friendly everywhere. For the "gay Puerto Vallarta experience," I would stay in the Zona Romántica, which has a large and thriving gay scene. We spent 4 nights at the Abbey and met a ton of people in the gay district and had a blast there.
I enjoyed the variety of experiences we had by staying in different types of locations. Expedia allows you to book a hotel for only part of the trip, but I'm sure all of the other large travel sites allow you to do the same if you call them.

Finally, we also rented a car from Thrifty and drove to the mountain towns of Mascota, Talpa de Allende and San Sebastian- amazing little towns where you really get a sense of a less-touristy Mexico. I wouldn't recommend Thrifty though. They claimed that we scratched the car, which was not true. If you are going to rent a car, get an all-terrain vehicle because lots of the cool things to see and do out in the wild are on rugged roads, making drivability difficult without one. We had to stick to the towns and main roads...

An amazing experience all in all. Well worth the time it took to get there from NY and if you are worried about the weather because it's rainy season, don't be. It usually rains in the evening or in the middle of the night. We had sunny or partially sunny days every day were there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san pedro, CA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We decided to stay at Dreams for our anniversary. Overall we definitely enjoyed our stay but if you decide to go here are some tips:
Upgrade to the Preferred Tower. This will make a huge difference. When we booked through Expedia, the new tower was not even an option because it was supposedily sold out. The first 2 days we spent in the Main Tower which was average to below average. Small rooms, most with no balcony. No lobby, very motel like. Some people seemed fine with the Main Tower but if you are picky or want the most out of your visit then do whatever it takes to get into the Preferred Tower. With that said, Jose at reception found us a Jr. Suite without a jacuzzi in the new tower and it was MORE than we expected. Air conditioned lobby with a section that included top self liquor, food, and coffee from morning until 9 pm. The room had everything! Large balcony, LCD TV, 2 sitting areas, gorgeous bed, and huge bathroom. It was worth the cost to upgrade!
The food was what you might expect from an all inclusive resort, pretty average. Each restraunt is closed one or two nights a weeks so I suggest that you research that before getting all dressed up and walking down to Portifino which just happened to to closed for our last night. We did enjoy the coconut shrimp appetizer at Seaside Grill.
Comedy Night was hysterical and Fiesta Night was another great experience.
The adults only pool was very nice. Make sure you go down early in the morning to reserve a couple chairs.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.