We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2005

We just returned from Dreams on January 12th. The location is great compared to nearly all the others we saw in the area. Particularly we enjoyed a beach mostly free from pesky vendors. While the hotel allows a few regulars, they are very well mannered and non-aggressive. Food is very good and top shelf. In short, we thought Dreams was a great place to go. As far as construction, work is still going on but confined to the Spa area and not noticeable. A $4 cab ride to downtown for shopping.
Watch out as you are exiting the airport to get a taxi to your hotel. Some guy in a uniform steered us into a timeshare selling area right in the airport telling us that they arange the taxi rides.
Tipping the staff makes you feel better but doesn't seem to get you any better service.
2 phone calls of about 8 minutes each back to the States cost me $52!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,767
    980
    261
    120
    76
See reviews for
997
1,991
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2005

We stayed at Dreams (chintsey name) from January 2nd to January 9th. We booked the all-inclusive package. This was a very good deal. However, because this resort is just becoming an all-inclusive, every day was a new adventure. We went to the Seaside Restaurant (fab. views) the service and food were horrible. Went back three nights later and everything was great. Same thing with the Portofino Restuarant except the first visit was fantastic and two nights later the same meal was awful. The wait staff said they knew about the problem...but, the chefs alternated between restaurants which caused the uneven service. The Salsa music on the Salsa Evening was amazing. Those musicians from Cuba were great!

We stayed in the original tower and the rooms were very large, but, not up to par. The rust around the mirrors, the old holes in the bathroom tiles, and the sloppy paint job was not the 6 Apples that the charter company had promised. If we had a choice, we would have opted for the suites in the Dream Tower which seemed in much better condition.

BE SURE TO TIP THE FANTASTIC SERVERS! We took lots of $1.00 USD bills with us and the tips we gave resulted in amazing service. Found out that the bar servers only get $5.00 per day! No wonder they appreciate getting a $1.00 or $2.00 every time they delivered. They provide excellent lunch and snack service to you right on the beach. The beach is wonderful. The sounds of the sea are a fantastic way to go to sleep.
A big negative was the large groups at the resort whose sole perpose was to drink "til they passed out. They were loud and very rude. I would go back for the beatiful sunsets, the wonderful service (TIPS) and lovely landscaping. Give them a few months to get themselves together.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2005

Stayed at "Dreams" (awful name) 17-23 December. Having read the reviews on Trip advisor we knew what to expect. I would hate to have arrived not knowing about the construction work. The lobby was a mess but everyone was clearly working hard to get things completed by Xmas. The front desk staff were not terribly gracious and we did have to be firm about getting the rooms in the club tower above the 6th floor we had booked. These rooms were wonderful, huge, clean, comfortable and with jacuzzis on the balcony and views of whales in the ocean.
The waiters/bar waitress were wonderful; we were all-inclusive and were treated royally.The entertainment staff were pleasant enough, with the exception of one miserable blond European girl, who really ought to try a different career.
The food and drinks were very good, although I noticed that the more luxurious items were phased out towards the end of our stay. I suspect we were pampered initially to compensate for the construction. The oceanfront restaurant setting was heaven.
If you play tennis, there's a very amiable coach. Remember to book your court at peak times. Look for Tony in his fishing boat on the beach. He is delightful and will take you snorkelling, diving or fishing. We asked him to take us to see the whales closer-up in the bay and spend a fun few hours on our own. It was a great trip, seeing a mother and calf and numerous dolphins and catching Tony's supper on the way back! The overcrowded tourist boats looked no fun at all.
The only real negative to our trip was the enormous group of "ugly American tourists" who seemed to take over the whole beach! They reserved almost every waterfront lounger and sat in a haze of smoke all day, and if you had the misfortune to be at a restaurant at the same time as them they complained loudly and continually about everything and were dismissive and rude to the waiters. I think they were New Yorkers. Apparently they go every year so I would consider avoiding the hotel during that time!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2005

We just returned from a week stay at the DREAMS Resort & Spa in Puerto Vallarta. (January 3-10, 2005). I had stayed at this hotel when it was formerly the Camino Real and there are many great renovations that have recently been completed. The restaurants have been redone, an infinity pool with hot tub is a new addition and the main pool has been remodeled and another hot tub added. The only pool that was heated was the main pool. We stayed in the club section and the room and view were fantastic. The couple traveling with us stayed in the tower and their room was freshly redecorated and there were no complaints. The service was great in every area. I would encourage you to tip the hardworking staff as they really go the extra mile to make your stay PERFECT. Martin at the main entrance was extraordinary as was our housekeeper Rosario. Again, they work very, very hard to serve you. The food was great. Be prepared to spend 2-3 hours on dining when dining in any of the ala carte restaurants. Relax and enjoy the slow pace. The view from the SEASIDE restaurant is awesome. We saw signs of workers putting the finishing touches on the remodeling, but NOTHING that interfered with our relaxing stay. I would return to DREAMS in a heartbeat and can't wait for our next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2005

We spent the week of Dec. 18 at the DREAMS, and enjoyed it very much....much better than prior stays in Cabo and Ensanada. Good location, isolated/private beach and only a $4 cab ride into town. Despite hearing about it, we were not once asked to buy a time share, and there are few vendors on the Dreams beach to bother you. Staff was very friendly and helpful, nothing but good interactions. And this is coming from a someone who is very skeptical about Mexico...I usually say in Mexico you pay 1st class prices for 2nd class quality. Food was just ok...we were glad we didn't do the 'all inclusive'. Breakfast was the best, and we would recommend the fish tacos at maria bonitas for lunch/dinner! We were also very glad that we went on the tour to las caletas, john houston's former island.

The beach is great, and we enjoyed the buffet lunch on the beach......salads, burgers, chicken sandwiches, and plenty of booze. Families and couples alike all fit in great here. We stayed in the new club side....our room was excellent, very large, very high ceilings, and a great balcony. We were very happy with the room, with the exception of smelling a bit like new paint. The other side had septic tank problems and water leaks.

One BIG WARNING -- DO NOT USE THE TELEPHONES! We used a 1-800 number to call family in CA -- the number was listed in the room, stating that you can charge calls to the U.S. to a credit card, and no service fee was charged. IT IS A SCAM!! We made 5 calls, of about 5-10 minutes max, for which were were charged $305 when we got our credit card statement. Attempts to call the phone company listed on our bill led to a disconnected number. We are currently disputing the charges.

So all in all, we would return to the dreams....most of the construction was being finished, and it will look very nice when it it done. A big skeptic, I would return to PV and the Dreams given the chance!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
defiance,ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2005

Just start by saying Dreams is a wonderful resort.Had a great time very relaxing.The food was very good,went all inclusive and was a great value.The breakfast was pretty basic did not like the eggs at all but every thing else was good.Service was top notch.Room service was very fast never more than twenty minutes wait.The only people that were not very freindly were the front desk.Every one else were great.It seemed like the people not doing all inclusive got a little better service I gues beacause they were better tippers.It seemed like you were expected to tip at all meals and at the bar wich is not what I thought it should be.One tip is if you have young kids 8-17 watch out for the bar crowd.We saw two 8 year olds getting drunk in the hot tub on Corona's.At night there were quite a few drunk 14-15 year old kids.The age limit is 18 but they hardley ever ID'd anyone.One kid went to the sports bar for a drink and didn't get served so he went upstairs to the other bar and brought down a beer.Went on one excursion pegaso whale watching and snorkeling.Well worth the money.Great service and saw ten whales.Make sure to take the dramamine because it is a little rough at times.They supply it for you so they dont have everyone sick.Spend the extra few dollars to go with pegaso on the sailboat.We saw the other boats out there and there was nowhere for them to sit.At least one hundered people on board where our boat had 35.peppe was our host on the Iissis and he was great.Went to splash the water park one day.It was very nice they had alot of slides,a sea lion show and a dolphin show twelve dollars to get in wich is not to bad but a $15.00 cab ride there.Well hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2005

We were at Dreams from December 21, 2004 to December 28th, 2004 and it was wild when we walked in. There was construction every where. The main pool was filled with construction equipment and the elevators were filled with construction workers. For five days we were in the middle of all of this. The last two days of our stay were much quieter and they seem to get most of everything completed. Many people were complaining at the front desk, daily.
I would go back to Dreams again....... only to see if it is as wonderful as everyone says........... now that they are done refurbishing it.
It has tons of potential and the beach, the waves and restaurants in town were wonderful. We brought along our 21,19 and 9 year old and they all want to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.