We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful newly renovated resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New All Inclusive Hotels
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful newly renovated resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here with our two daughters, beds were amazing, beach is expansive, the ladies who run the carts throughout the day are terrific. Mango on a stick are now a regular snack at our house. Dominick was wonderful with scuba intro and the food was great too. The pool was not heated, they have said they are working on it and the hot tubs are barely warm. So keep that in mind as a question to ask if you are booking in the cooler months.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,819
    1,016
    273
    125
    78
See reviews for
1,033
2,029
48
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We loved the Hyatt Ziva! (Late 20s couple from UK living in Chicago). Everything was done to the highest standard, they went above and beyond with the all-inclusive offers with drinks, food, 24-hour coffee shop, food carts by the pool, ice cream etc. Our room was recently renovated with the rest of the hotel to a high standard with stunning views and 5 star feel everywhere. We didn't get a balcony room and it really didn't matter - there are huge sliding doors which make it feel like a balcony. I would say it's not worth getting the swim-up pool rooms as they are in the shade all morning and the main pools are beautiful. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The 5 restaurants were all exceptional food and nice to have so many options each meal and with various bars. Our favourite was the Italian for dinner - the Mexican wasn't quite up to the others' standard. From the photos we weren't sure how big the pools were and if there would be enough sunbeds but it's designed in a way that even though there are a lot of people there and it doesn't feel like a huge hotel, it never felt too busy and we always got sunbeds where we wanted them. There is entertainment every night - looked fun, but not really our thing but the hotel is big enough that it's not intrusive. We went sea-kayaking which is included and there are some other water sports and excursions you can pay for. This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. We wouldn't hesitate to go back. Most guests were older and retired couples, a few families with younger children (it wasn't school vacation season) and a few larger groups towards the end of the week/beginning of spring break period.

Room Tip: We went for the basic room - has stunning views, large sliding doors which feel like a balcony, I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have visited PVR for nearly 25 years in a row at this same time of year, always staying at our timeshare (which we now no longer have). As a Hyatt Platinum member, I was sent a marketing promotion early last fall for their new resort in PVR which we knew to be previously Dreams, and before that, El Camino Real. I booked it for 5 nights, not even realizing it was all-inclusive until two weeks before leaving when I got a reminder email. Not having ever been to such a place, we were somewhat nervous that it would turn out to be a like a dubious cruise line where you are captive and have no options that appeal to you. Turns out our concerns were wholly unjustified and we ended up spending almost all our time at Ziva. We only went out twice: to visit the blue chairs beach one day and to have dinner with local friends.
There is no need to repeat the recent praise and critique of others which are all pretty accurate. Here are observations to add to the mix from others:
1. The beach is truly one of the most beautiful of any in the bay of Banderas. Ample sun bed and palapa options at either end - the north end appears to be the quietest. Everything is low key and the beach drink service is efficient and friendly.
2. Most others have lauded the staff. We add our compliments whole-heartedly. Everyone truly seems to love working there and the hospitality is genuine.
3. Blaze is by far the best menu-style restaurant. It's quite impressive that there are some many options to choose from at each of the three daily meals.
4. Corner Ocean view Junior King suite offered perfect views down the beach and of the sunset.
5. Gym is spacious and offers almost every item you'd expect to maintain your regular workout.
6. Unlike other recent reviewers, we observed no construction or similar work going on or yet to be done - the resort appears to be fully complete. And it is indeed very stylish and contemporary.
7. We saw - and really enjoyed - two of the evening entertainment acts. Wednesday was the 'Fire' show and Saturday was the 'Cirque' show. Both were excellent and the performers were very skilled, not amateurs.

Now, a few things for management to attend to:
1. Dinner at Pureza was a disappointment. Appetizers and main courses arrived at the same time, 45 mins after placing our order. And after that long wait, the food was mediocre at best. Pad Thai didn't even come close to how the dish should be prepared.
2. DIM THE LIGHTS IN THE SUNSET BAR, for crissakes! There are some high wattage chandeliers in this large space that blast out way too much light for the ambience you want and expect in such a setting.
3. There are far too many cigars being smoked by big-bellied guys all over the property. The smoke can be smelled everywhere since one being smoked on the beach will blow back to the pool and restaurant area. Theres nothing that can be done about the bellies, but it would be great if there was a special area away from the main social spots just for cigar smokers.
4. The pool bar gets quite busy in the afternoon. Unfortunately, if you are in the pool, there is no bartender on that side so you have to yell and get their attention, or, get out and go around to the upper deck. Put a bartender full time on the pool side during the late afternoon.
5. Drink consistency varies widely, so it's best to watch your cocktail being made if you want it to be more than just sweet juicy flavor.

Overall we would definitely recommend Ziva to others and we do expect to return again within the year.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are bigger and closer to food and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent five nights at this resort last week. Beautiful beach and facilities. Very private and clean. The staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Blaze was our favorite restaurant. Vincente and Ezequiel were friendly, gracious, and attended to our needs. Armando at the excursion desk and Ruben the bartender were also particularly great employees. We also had great service from the various attendants at the Concierge desks. Plenty of seating at the beach and pools. Great daytime activities and shows in the evenings. Quiet and relaxing later in the evening.

Room Tip: All rooms have awesome views, but the higher floors have even better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hyatt Ziva. We had a standard Oceanview room which was very nice. They have two towers of rooms...the Club Tower for a little expanded service and the Standard tower. The Club Tower rooms also have balconies for each suite where the standard tower only has a few rooms with balconies...the rest are all "French" balconies.

What we liked the most about this resort is that you are right up against the ocean just about everywhere you go. We left our sliding glass door open all night and it was like having a sound machine set on "ocean" all night...really nice! The resort is very easy to navigate from one side to the other...you never seem like you have a far walk to reach anything.

This resort is rather quiet...I'm surprised it is a family resort because it seems more suitable for adults to us. There isn't a large pool, but they have a few very nice small infinity pools with plenty of chairs. There is an adults only pool and hot-tub.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. The Blaze restaurant was our favorite due to its location right on the waters edge. We thought the food was very good with the exception of a couple of pizzas we ordered for room service.

They have a very nice Sports/Tequila bar. The big screen should work great for those wanting to watch the NCAA tournament.

They need some beach beds and that may be coming in time. The fitness center was very nice and looked out on to the ocean...like almost everything does at this resort. They also have a nice spa.

I think this is a great resort for couples that want a luxury feel (not over the top though) with a great beach, but don't need a lot of action/activities to be happy. It is only 5 minutes from downtown where there is plenty to do if you get bored reading a book and listening to the ocean!

Beautiful sunsets here too!

Room Tip: I would recommend the Club Level because those rooms all have balconies. You also get access to sna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is an Oasis.. nestled between two cliffs, clean well kept beach, pools, gym and spa..Outstanding Staff from Bellmen to Housekeeping.. Loved Blaze the restaurant, not to leave out the Italian, Asian, Mexican Restaurants, or the Buffet. All where incredibly delicious, knowledgeable and helpful waitstaff. Our Concierge Beatrice was "The Best" Helped make My Girlfriend Birthday Fanominal. Surprised her with Rose petals that lined from the door to the bed.. Layed out with a giant heart. Also balloons, and cake, with happy birthday Choyia. Thanks Beatrice... You're Awesome!!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The property was scheduled to open on Sat Dec 20. We arrived Sun Dec 21. The hotel was not ready for guests. Our group was five adults, multi-generational, with two kids 7 and 10. We stayed for 6 nights.

Every day definitely got better. However, so much wasn't ready when we arrived. Lobby reception not ready - we checked in where I believe the Hyatt members would normally check in. Gym was not ready - we saw brand new equipment being delivered that day. The spa was still being built (down to the studs). Not all the restaurants were open (which I could live with) except that the three restaurants that were open were not quite ready. Kitchen was super slow - I'm talking main entree served 75-90 minutes after we ordered - on multiple occasions. We eventually took most of our meals at the buffet restaurant. At one restaurant, they ran out of bread and butter one night. The resort also ran out of pineapple juice two days after we got there (really? at a beach resort?).

The bathroom in our room was beautiful. The shower was spacious and very nice. Liked how there is a vertical strip of glass to bring in natural light from the sleeping area into the windowless bathroom. Appreciate the design of the toilet being in its own room. There was no hair dryer in either of the guest rooms our party was in. Took three requests and two days before we were given an obviously used and old hair dryer - but at least it was a working hair dryer!

WiFi didn't work in our guest room, but intermittently worked in our 2nd guest room two doors down. WiFi didn't work in the pool area next to the lobby building, but worked really well on the beach! Go figure.

Pool area beautiful. Bar servers worked so hard to make it nice for guests even though they didn't have everything they needed. Big shout out to Alejandro. Lounge chairs poolside and beach were nice. Appreciated the many chairs with umbrellas on the beach. Beach is very very clean because staff go up and down removing whatever is washed on shore throughout the day. Love this! Beach is private too - no access except by boat so only hotel guests use it. Only one of the hot tubs was warm and that's being generous. Ocean waves extremely strong with strong undertow - watch your little ones.

Kids Club was still partially under construction when we were there. Bathrooms and wading pool not complete so we never left our kids there. Didn't matter because the kids spent the entire week at the pool and on the beach.

Note to folks that have to sleep with no sound outside... this property is on the beach. The ocean waves are loud and can be heard in the guest rooms. We were on the 9th floor too.

Reviews seem to be stronger as time has passed. I'm happy to hear because I could see the potential of the place. It's just a shame that they didn't get their act together sooner. That said, Hyatt responded to our complaint by refunding us two out of our six nights.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.