We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Puerto Vallarta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #11 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Dallas, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel property has been our vacation destination for 20+ years. It was originally Camino Real, then Dreams, soon to be Hyatt Ziva. We are anxiously waiting to make a reservation for December just as soon as the hotel permits. We agree with previous posters: the property has traditional old Mexico charm, the beach is wonderful, landscaping is beautiful, and the views of the mountains and jungle are amazing. With all this being said, it is the staff who truly makes the hotel extra special. Please, please keep them on.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,937
    1,069
    284
    129
    84
See reviews for
1,081
2,139
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have stayed at the dreams twice in the past two years and out of 11 trips to Mexico, the ones to the Dreams Puerto Vallarta were the best. It is so sad to hear that the resort is changing hands. All of the beautiful old mexican details made the resort so unique and unlike anywhere else I have ever stayed.

As everyone else has said here, the staff was absolutely amazing! They made there job seem like it wasn't a job, and always took it upon themselves to become our friends. Even on my second visit, I was remembered by many, and of course I remembered all of them. I REALLY hope that the new hotel owners bring the Dreams staff back and treat them AMAZINGLY as they are 100% what made the Dreams PV so incredible.

I am very interested to see what they are doing to the resort and I very much so hope they do not ruin the beauty it already held.

Good bye to the resort that holds some of my most amazing vacation memories.. I hope I will be able to return next Spring and see what has been done to the place and the staff. All in all, I truly hope that Hyatt is taking into consideration all of the reviews here on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have stayed many times at this hotel. Years ago it was known as the Camino Real, then it became the Vallarta Dreams. I have yet to stay there as a HYATT but as long as they keep their staff and operations the same your stay can only be great! Whatever the name this hotel is a winner. Perfect location and the best beach in old Vallarta. My personal favorite hotel in the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at this property while it was a Dreams property. The location was beautiful, beach was gorgeous, and staff is great. I hope the Hyatt keeps the same staff that Dreams had because they are truly excellent. I would recommend the premier tower and an upgrade, the higher the floor, the better. Thank you!

Room Tip: Higher floor, upgraded tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

That is a beautiful resort. We came here on a day pass in April and had a great time. They checked our ID at the gate as we entered and we were good to go. Walked by a very busy pool and music playing as we swang to the right and then decided to sit at a more quieter beach. It was wonderful. Service was excellent and the food was VERY GOOD! All of the servers seemed happy and were working hard to please the vacationers. Lots going on there. Only a couple of vendors on the beach and they were not in our face. We ordered some chicken quesadillas and they were done in 5 minutes and yummy. I was impressed. We really enjoyed the relaxation at this resort and being pampered for the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at Dreams about a year ago and it was amazing, amazing views, amazing service, amazing beach. We loved every second of it and always said we will go back, hopefully we will still be able to! looking forward to reading reviews under the new owners.

Room Tip: all rooms are ocean front, request a room higher up for amazing sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We visited this hotel in July of 2013 when it was Dreams Puerto Vallarta. It has a great beach where you can swim(although the undertow dips past 5 feet after about 20 feet out), kayak, and there are locals readily available to take you snorkeling and parasailing for around $50. The resort itself is getting older, and as soon as we arrived we were presented with the usual timeshare sales attempts("come to our breakfast and find out more info"). We had a basic room that was very disappointing, the windows were humid and had condensation on them, the bathroom toilet leaked water..granted it was the muggy time of year, but you could tell everything was fairly outdated. We had a choice of a few restaurants, the italian and mexian options were a joke and the food was poor. The outdoor seafood restaurants were good, they had some nice walk up spots, and there was a good buffet breakfast each morning. Our waitstaff was great, no problems there, and the hotel staff were overall friendly and attentive and even upgraded our room the last 2 nights to one of their higher end units, which was also nice but still outdated. The pools were poor, not very deep, one was always in the shade. It wasn't too hard to find chairs to lay out on, and drinks were always available. You definitely can't walk to old town from here, you'll have to take a taxi or bus. The best part is the beach, by far, a very nice stretch to lay out on with Los Arcos a short boat ride away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.