We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised couple with some previous resort "experience"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised couple with some previous resort "experience"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I are finishing up our 4th trip to Mexico (all of them all-inclusive). We have been to Cancun twice and Puerto Vallarta twice (now). We were here for a wedding (at Las Caletas, not at Dreams) with about 25 other people. The group was diverse in its experience with all-inclusive trips. Most had almost universally positive things to say about the resort, and the trip was an overall success.

First, a quick list of pros and cons:

Pros:
-Most comfortable bed my wife and I have slept in (not only in Mexico but the US/Canada included)
-Attentive (if overworked) staff
-Nice beach (the best of the 4 we have experienced)
-Room service food and service were very good
-Overall good value. Expected less for the price

Cons:
-Only 3 pools. All seemed overcrowded most of the time
-Food was average in most cases with some standouts
-WiFi is not free for non-preferred members
-Beach vendors are somewhat pushy and annoying

As you can see, there were more Pros than Cons, and the Cons were relatively minor.

Rooms

We stayed in a "standard" room in the "regular" tower. Some of the reviews have mentioned the Preferred Club. These types of upgrades hardly seem worth it to us, as most of the time is spent outside of the room for us. The rooms in this tower were obviously older, but have been well maintained for the most part. As others have mentioned, all of the rooms face the ocean. We were in the 18th floor, which afforded us a pretty nice view of the beach/ocean. The extra cost to have a balcony didn't really seem worth the money to us, as we didn't think we would use it. The rooms without the balconies are actually a little larger and include a small sofa/sitting area. As I mentioned above, the beds were very comfortable. I am a weekly business traveler, and I've stayed at many midrange Hilton and Holiday Inn properties in the US and Canada, as well as a few nicer ones. The bed in our room was the most comfortable bed I've slept in. The pillows were also very nice. There is a fridge in room that is stocked with Coke, Diet Coke, Corona (small ones), mineral water, Sprite, Fanta, and bottled water. If you run out of anything, the staff will fill it up at any time. Other resorts we have stayed at have liquor in the room, but it's understandable that is lacking here, being a family friendly place. Overall, the rooms were nice and comfortable. My wife and I both agree that this probably is not the ideal resort for honeymooners, mainly due to the fact it allows kids. The rooms are not as nice as some other resorts we have stayed at, but still nice overall.

Staff

The staff were very pleasant and friendly. There was zero pressure to tip from anyone (including room service). We tipped as we felt appropriate and all of the staff were appreciative. Some of them remembered us from previous nights, which seemed surprising, considering the number of people at the resort. There did seem to be a slight shortage of staff at some restaurants. The waiters seemed very busy and overworked on high volume nights. One of our dinners took 2 hours. This isn't really the fault of the staff themselves. They seemed understaffed on busy nights, but were overall very friendly. On our last night, the kitchen made us a dessert that was decorated in chocolate sauce with the words "Have a nice trip!" These small details were definitely appreciated.

Food

Overall, we would give the food a B-. There were some highlights and some low points. Food is always interesting with all-inclusive places. Of the 4 places we have stayed, this ranked somewhere in the middle. If you look at the "newsletter" provided by the staff, it will let you know which places are open for each meal. My favorite restaurant was Oceania (Seafood). The wife's was El Patio (Mexican). Overall, the food was good. The seafood dishes seemed to be better in our opinion(s). We ate breakfast mainly at the World Cafe (buffet). The omelettes cooked to order were tasty and fresh.

Alcohol

Overall, the alcohol selection was on par with the other all-inclusives we've stayed at. There were a few top-shelf selections available if you asked. Beer choices seemed to be Negra Modelo, Corona, and Modelo Light. We aren't the kind to drink the whole trip, but the selections available were good. One note is that they don't go out of their way to stock the top shelf brands. Once they're out, they're out.

Summary

Overall, our experience here was very good. We were not expecting the level of service and food quality for the price we paid. A few miscellaneous notes:
-The bride and groom we were with had no special treatment. They were putting peoples' names in the newsletter that got married, but they weren't in it. They were a little let down by this. They did have their wedding off-site at Las Caletas, which might have added to this. Still, it didn't seem like a lot of effort to make them feel special.
-There was a wedding on one of the nights we were there. They played music loud enough to hear the words in the room until 10pm. The loud music was followed by fireworks until 10:30pm. Something to make note of it you or your kids are light sleepers and like to go to bed "early"
-Others have mentioned a 90-minute time-share-esque presentation upon checkin. We did not experience this, so this might have been scrapped
-Some people in our party went into town and enjoyed themselves. They went to the shops in town and mentioned the prices on cigard and tequila were much less than the resort. My wife and I never leave the resort when we go to Mexico.

We were skeptical about Puerto Vallarta over Cancun in general because a previous trip did not go well. We are happy to say that Dreams Puerto Vallarta changed our opinion back! We would consider coming back here, especially when we have kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a better view. Rooms without balconies are actually larger and include a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,894
    1,052
    281
    129
    79
See reviews for
1,065
2,105
51
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I do not usually write a review but this one warrants one. We took a 5 day trip to PV and decided to stay at Dreams as it had great ratings (justifiabily so!) and had never tried an all-inclusive resort previously. I am sooooooooooooo glad that we did. This resort surpassed our highest expectations. The king room was very clean and spacious with floor to ceiling windows over looking the ocean (and that was just the basic room). Later we upgraded to a suite at the preferred tower which was true luxury with a jaccuzzi tub on the balcony. The food in all the restaurants and eateries was exquisite. We were not expecting this level of quality. The pools were clean and the grounds well maintained. The ocean was warmer than the pool and the sand beneath our feet was softer than silk. True luxury in paradise!

What made the vacation even more amazing was the VIP service we received from Jose our concierge. Here is a remarkable and dedicated person who was on top of it all!! Every time!!
Having mentioned it was my husband's birthday one of the days and we were going to need a sitter to watch our little 2.5 yr old in our suite, Jose got right to it and gave us time to meet the sitter who was a qualified employee from the "explorers club (3 and up)". He knew our daughter and would always make her laugh and knew exactly what type of sitter we needed. But it didnt stop there... while we were out, Jose had the room decorated with birthday banners and a beautifully decorated cake. Jose even got my husband's name and birthday wishes in the daily newsletter.

But it didnt stop there.... Later my husband and I went to Portofino (an Italian adult-only restaurant on the resort). We were seated at a table which was nice enough. However, the hostess then came by to confirm our name and ushered us to a private VIP room decorated with candles and petals! It was such a wonderful surprise for the both of us. Ramone took excellent care of us. We had 3 appetizers, 3 soups, 3 main entrees (incl a delicious shrimp and scallop dish) finished by 3 desserts. All were 5* quality, (easily a $300 meal) all inclusive. We have never had such VIP treatment before and this was beyond our wildest dreams. Ramone made this experience for us. We wished we were able to see him one more time before our departure.

But it didnt stop there... After feeling like we were on cloud 9 (and my husband saying that was the best birthday he has ever had), we went back to our room to find our bed decorated with flower petals in a heart shape and warm bubble bath also decorated with flower petals. :D :D :D

Jose made our trip and experience. His customer service was second to none. We loved our time at Dreams. The food (El Patio is another awesome place to eat at the resort), the spa (highly recommend the spa), the activities (from jungle tour, to kayaking, to renting a few movies from the front desk) to just laying out under the huts on the beach sipping pina colada!

We will definitely be going back very soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

WOW! Fantastic. This was our first experience with this type of vacation. All facets were superb, from the quality of all the amenities, to the outstanding service provided by staff. The restaurants were all exceptional, but my favorites were Oceana and Portofino. I would specifically like to aknowledge the outstanding service from Lucy, from check-in to check-out; from Salazar out on the beach, always there with a drink in his hand for us; Christopher was amazing at El Patio...great service and an exceptional sense of humor. In conclusion: an exceptional visit, with exceptional people in an exceptional place. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a very late review but have to share given we've just returned from another resort and all I could do was compare to Dreams.

I'll keep this one short but - we went in February for a wedding and unfortunately my Hubby couldn't go so it was me as a single and 40 family and friends of the (young) wedding party.


Service was incredibly attentive, the food was beautifully prepared both at the buffet and restaurants (have the chicken at the Italian!!) , the drinks were perfect (and remembered by each bar tender) and my room was large, airy, clean and very comfortable (best bed I've slept in away from home)

We had the most incredible beach service I've ever had (Ismael was like an angel in the morning with those Caesars!)

Only downsides were the ocean being what felt like black flag conditions the entire week - really unwelcoming - my Mum actually got bashed up very badly and had some serious damage but the Doctor was great (for $50 cash) and fixed her up best as he could and the pools were underwhelming for such a great resort.

Other than that, this was an amazing "boutique" resort well worth going to.

Room Tip: If you're over the bar pool you will have some noise at night - ask to be switched to the far en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I recently got back from Dreams and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. Both towers are nice, we stayed in the Dreams Tower one night and upgraded to the preferred tower(you can use your resort coupons towards the cost, totally worth the little money to upgrade). We encountered no problems all week. This resort offers lots of activities such as a jungle trek, rock climbing, and a turtle release program. We ate at all the restaurants and loved El Patio and Portofino the most. All employees tried their hardest to make our stay great. The fire show was also very well done and is a must see. We have been to several all-inclusives and this resort offers so much more than many we have been to. Definitely will visit again in the future!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

All-inclusive resorts aren't my normal type of vacation, so I wasn't too sure what to expect. All I can say is the level of service and attention to detail were excellent. We tried all the restaurants and buffet and loved them all, but the best by far was Portofino. We stayed in the new tower where Sergio took great care of us in the little 'lobby bar', and our beach waiter/bar-tender Salazar, was the hardest working man in the place and was always on the spot with drinks. Rooms were amazing, views were amazing and I loved how secluded and 'old Mexico' the resort was. Can't wait for my next trip back!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be good. I'd probably avoid one on the ground floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Dreams made our honeymoon the most memorable trip wonderful. Their hospitality is second to none. We have no complaints and would recommend dreams to anyone. We plan to visit one again, hopefully soon:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.