We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with panoramic pacific views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise with panoramic pacific views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Overall the resort is exceptional. Privately tucked into a gorgeous mountainous cove in the hills of Jalisco, you can't go wrong here. Each room is pacific ocean front with breathtaking panoramic views that never get old. The staff and quality of food is what makes this resort one worth visiting and returning to. We went on spring break and it was amazing. Probably even better any other time of year. We've been to a ton of all-inclusives and for the price, location, staff and experience, this is probably the best resort you'll find anywhere.

Staff that made our trip exceptional:
Oceana: Gilberto, Alejandro, arturo, Arturo. Oceana- breakfast and dinner
Seaside: Samuel and Luz
Bars: Felipe, both guys at the lobby bar.
Cleaning ladies were great!

Food. Oceana was by far the most amazing dinner and breakfast spot. The variety of omlettes, waffles, fresh smoothies and cleanser juices were endless! We had the escargot and sea bass every night and couldn't get enough of it. Any seafood choice is a home run! On our last night they prepared a special dessert for us which was delicious and extremely thoughtful. It's our first stop on our next trip!

Seaside Grill was a perfect place for lunch. The fisherman's tacos, mexican onion rings and ceviche's were incredible. In addition to amazing food, the view of the ocean is breathtaking.

Room service was really good.
We never tried the Italian or Mexican restaurants.

Tours
We booked the snorkel tour through Orlando (Magic!) and would definitely recommend it. The fish eat bread right out of your hands. Amazing! We ended up finding another couple to share the tour with and made it affordable.

Yoga. 9am yoga on the beach was awesome. Great way to start the day. We had never tried yoga prior to the trip but loved it by the time we left. After yoga we would dine at Oceana for some cleanser juices. Amazing

Town
The town of PV is very safe and only $5 to cab each way. We visited PiPi's for lunch and had their infamous margaritas. Huge portions for both! Gifts and booze are very affordable here.

Bottom line, excellent resort that you should experience for yourself!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamspv, Quality Control at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Since our goal here is to “create memories,” I am honoured to know that we played a significant role in making your visit here a memorable one. Thank you for mentioning the staff that made your trip exceptional.

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination.

It is a pleasure!

Esmeralda Alcala
Quality Control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,763
    978
    258
    116
    75
See reviews for
993
1982
46
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just got back from a second time at Dreams Puerto Vallarta. Check in was so quick (as we stayed in the Preferred Tower again). We had the room with the jacuzzi on the balcony and it was awesome. A nice added touch to an already amazing room. Our maid (Victoria) was so kind, thorough and a pleasure to see every morning. Food for dinner was hit or miss a few times. Oceana actually told us one night that they were so overwhelmed that we had to order all our food at once or it would be a long wait until our food came out. Not really what you want to hear when you are on vacation. Sea bass at Portofino was TERRIBLE. Mussels were outstanding there. Also, at Oceana, make sure you get the escargot!!!!! Lunch buffets were always great!! So many choices. Especially the pasta bar. YUMMY!!!! Seaside Grill was good for their seafood (Salmon). Steak on the other hand was on the tougher side. Hot tub at the adult side was "filthy" 3 out of the 7 days. YUCK!!!! Plenty of Palapas on the beach. Vendors are not a problem. Just politely tell them "no thank you" and they leave you alone (even with a smile on their face). We went fishing. A local vendor is allowed on the property and took my husband and I out for 5 hours. Manuel (the captain) was very accomodating. We had a wonderul time. We caught a 40 lb. Jack Crevelle. Weather was amazing. We would highly recommend this resort for families also. When we were there, there were kids, but never a problem. They have so many activities for the kids that they are occupied pretty much all day. The swim up bar/pool could definitely use a make over! Service at the bar was very very very slow. Pool is very small, on the dirty side and very limited seats with umbrellas.

All in all... we had a great time. Just some suggestions to Dreams. Possible updates would not hurt the property whatsoever.

Room Tip: Rooms in the preferred tower are amazing. Huge bathroom. Rooms with jacuzzi's on the balcony s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamspv, Quality Control at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our main commitment at Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa is to create memories that will last a lifetime in all of our guests. It pleases me very much to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I also would like to thank you for your comments, we find them to be very helpful feedback, like any property there are always opportunities for improvement and your comments would be taken very seriously. Our goal is to have all of our guests leave here completely satisfied.

I thank you for having booked at Dreams Puerto Vallarta and hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

It is a pleasure!

Esmeralda Alcala
Quality Control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This resort was recently built in the last year before our stay and we were a little concerned about kinks in service, but no worries. This resort was outstanding! Everything was new and clean, the service was outstanding and the bars and restaurants were easily accessible. The all inclusive option was great and the selection of drinks/food was very good. The pool and the swim-up bar were great. Very close to downtown and we would very much recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dreams from April 8th to 18th. After reading all of the reviews and checking out the photos, we were quite confident that this would be a place that we would truly enjoy. That being said, we are always careful when reading reviews to take them “with a grain of salt” unless the same problem is coming up continuously. From past experience, some people just can’t be pleased and are determined to find fault with everything.

Our flight via WestJet to PV went smoothly and we were lucky to be through customs and headed to Dreams in record time. The WestJet Vacations rep was waiting outside the terminal and quickly put us into the van which took us to Dreams. Be sure to bypass all of the time sharks in the terminal, your rep will be waiting outside the terminal although they will try to convince you otherwise.

On arrival at Dreams, we were met by very efficient Dreams staff who took our luggage and then by the smiling Bethy. Bethy is a breath of fresh air and one of the many stars at Dreams, who are always there for you. Check-in was efficient and quick. We did get handed off to their VIP desk for the coupons and vacation club talk but as soon as we said we were not interested, there was no problem. We were given a room on the 19th Floor (which is really the ninth) in the old tower and all rooms have an incredible view of the beach and ocean. The room was newly renovated, clean and included everything we needed. Maid service was excellent and the mini fridge was restocked every day. We had a room without a full balcony but it did have a French balcony which still allowed a great view and was nice to sit in front of.

We love the intimate setting of this resort, it is a smaller resort but it’s lush landscaping and secluded beach surrounded by rocky cliffs on each side make it very private and yet only a 5 minute ride from downtown PV. Bonuses for us after experience at other all inclusives were the no bracelet policy, no reservations needed for the a la carte restaurants and no signing out of beach towels. We never had more than a few minute wait at the restaurants and if it was longer they would give you a beeper so that you didn’t have to stand there and wait.

We had no complaints with the food, it was excellent and there was something for everyone. I loved the fresh fruit at breakfast and the ceviche at lunch. We loved the beach side setting of the Seaside Grill and Oceana for dinner, and also enjoyed the Mexican restaurant. The Oceana is also open for breakfast and the Seaside Grill at lunch. We didn’t try the Portofino as we preferred to be outside enjoying the sunset and sound of the waves. If you want a beach side snack, the Barefoot Grill also offers burgers, tacos, hotdogs, nachos and a few other items for lunch. Be sure to catch the Catch of the Day which is usually on Thursday from 1 – 2 pm. The fresh fish on the grill is to die for and love the coconut and pineapple drinks, it was one of our favorite things.

The Dreams staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. They are friendly and helpful, and work very hard to make your vacation perfect. We met many staff who deserve special mention – Bethy (e-concierge), Gilberto - Seaside Grill, Salazar and Andres beach waiters, Orlando – bartender at Marlin Bar, and Nicholas at the Oceana for breakfast. We also want to mention how impressed we were with the lifeguard, Arturo, and with the professionalism he showed in carrying out his job every day. He takes it very seriously and we watched as he had to assist several people who got themselves into a bad situation with the waves. The waves are not to be taken lightly and care should be taken when playing in the ocean.

We definitely would like to return to Dreams PV and can see why there are so many repeat customers. It was truly a relaxing vacation and a dream.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamspv, Quality Control at Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience about your stay with other guest your feedback is very important to us it helps us know that we are on the right path in our efforts to provide outstanding customer service. I will be passing your nice remarks to the rest of the staff, so they can also share in the appreciation of these very flattering comments.

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

It is a pleasure!

Esmeralda Alcala
Quality Control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived April 3rd and check in took an hour. We were at the front desk for a long time then to the "VIP Services" / Timeshare. Going to the VIP Services really upset me. I told front desk I didn't want to have anything to do with this part of check in but made us go to the VIP services anyways. They sure wasted our time and gave us a run around. VIP said they could upgrade us to a room for $75.00 with a balcony for 10 nights. Front desk told us there were no rooms available with a balcony and 2 double beds but VIP services assured us it was available. We go up to our room which was a king bed and a roll out bed. We are a family of 4 so there was no bed for 1 of our children. Now we had to be moved to our original room. What a hassle this was and the kids were getting very impatient as I was. We wanted to go to the beach. I called front desk and spoke to them very nicely and let them know how disappointed we were in them and didn't appreciated the run around we had. We received a phone call 5 minutes later telling us we were being offered a free upgrade to the preferred tower. We took it and moved to our room immediately to settle in. The room was lovely and the view was beautiful. I wouldn’t say it is worth the upgrade. In my opinion there is nothing wrong with the old tower except many rooms don’t have a balcony.

Now for the good part.

The beach was a lot of fun & the kids had a blast playing in the waves. Just be careful as the waves are big & strong which made it very dangerous. The red flag was up almost every day we were there. My kids were disappointed that the water trampoline was broken when we were there. I love that the beach is private with mountains on both sides. The sand gets very hot in the afternoon so be careful not to burn the bottom of your feet.

We took the boat from Dreams resort to go snorkeling. This is a must as it is the best snorkeling I have done. We would’ve liked to have rented the jet skis but the prices were very high for 30 minutes. Dreams needs to lower their prices.

The main pool is good and the water was a nice temperature. The swim up bar service was really good. The Jacuzzis are adults only. I must've missed this one on Dreams website as I thought I was going to a kid friendly family all inclusive. My kids love the hot tubs so they were very disappointed. Some days kids were in the hot tub and were allowed and some days not allowed. This should be stated more clearly on the website or don't have the hot tub so hot so everyone can use it. I don’t like that you have to go down around 7:00am to reserve a chair at the main pool.

My kids didn't use the kids club so I can't comment.

The food was great. We went for breakfast at the buffet every morning. Lenoir makes the best omelets and always with a smile. My only complaint with the morning buffet was that there were no vegetables to be had. I usually make myself a BLT sandwich for breakfast instead of eggs every day and there was no lettuce or tomatoes. For dinner we ate mostly at Oceana & Seaside Grill. I was surprised that there was never a line up at the la cartes and at times only 1/2 full. We were able to eat at Portofino one night. It truly was an amazing meal. The menu is huge. I wish there was a larger selection of choices at Seaside & Oceana as I ordered the same 2 seafood dishes all the time. We ate at the Mexican once and found are meals okay. I spoke to many people who had a really good meal at the Mexican. I guess we ordered the wrong things.
Room service was AMAZING. The menu had a great selection and they were very efficient. My kids really liked room service.

There is a little hut on the beach in front of the old tower that is opened from 1-5. My kids really enjoyed this place as they make the best french fries.

The entertainment at night was enjoyable. The hypnotist was hilarious! My 8 year old daughter was cracking up through the whole show. The fire show is a really good one too.

We were lucky enough to be able to take part in the turtle release program. This truly is an amazing program.

We did 1 excursion to Las Caletas. We found it to be okay. The kid’s adventure club was okay. Kids get to go on a short zip line once, ride a donkey for a few minutes & have a monkey jump on your shoulder for 5 seconds. This took up an hour of our excursion.

The staff at Dreams is really friendly. They have photographic memories. They meet you once and remember your name the next day. A shout out to Oscar, EZ & Tony! These guys are great.

Favourite features that stand out about Dreams:
- no dinner reservations
- great food
- no towel cards
- no wristbands
- private, beautiful beach
- friendly service
- turtle release program
- beautiful view with amazing sunsets

All and all our trip was wonderful. Would definitely like to try another Dreams resort.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view so you can't really go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently just got back from our wedding and couldn't be more pleased! Fatima (our wedding planner) made it so easy and stress free. She was very organized and responsive to all our inquiries and requests. Upon our arrival, she took care of everything and we didn't have much to worry about. It's nice to be able to say that we truly were able to take in and appreciate our big day.

The resort itself was fantastic. The staff went above and beyond to make sure that our guests were taken care of. We started our vacation at the preferred tower and our concierge Salvador was fantastic. He made check in quick and painless and we even got an upgrade at the latter portion of our trip because it was our wedding week! We had a little over 70 people attend our wedding and they all enjoyed their stay. It's great that they had so many different options of food. Their entertainment team works really hard to make sure there is something going on every evening.

The one negative feedback I received from our guests was regarding the wi-fi. They charged $15 a day for access. I don't mind paying for this but the problem was the connection. To describe it as spotty would be an understatement. Salvador did mention that they were doing a major over-haul of the infrastructure. Hoping that this will improve things.

Overall, it was an amazing experience and would recommend it to anyone that is considering doing a destination wedding. We're looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

First off, I've been to this all inclusive resort before. My most recent stay (10 days) was even better than I remembered... and the first time it blew my mind!

I am well traveled and I usually stay at all inclusive resorts. No other resort compares to this one! All of the fellow vacationers I meet say the same thing!
If you have not been to this resort.... BOOK YOUR STAY NOW! You wont regret it!

Their personable staff bend over backwards to please your every whim. Their waitstaff in any of the restaurants (or on the beach) are amazing and appear genuinely happy to be working there. Their entertainment staff are charismatic and humorous.

The food is plentiful, gourmet, and tasty. The presentation of all their dishes is something you would expect to find at one of the most ritziest hotels in the world. The whole experience will leave you impressed and feeling like royalty.

The facilities and amenities (beach, bathrooms, gym, bars, restaurants, pool area, lounge chairs, gardens, etc) are very clean and inviting day after day.

They have 2 intervals of maid turn down service. One approx between 11pm-1pm to clean up after you in the morning and another between 5-7pm to turn down your sheets and clean up after any mess you make in the afternoon.
They offer beautiful clean rooms with many all inclusive services including minibar, room service, wifi (if your in the preferred tower), dvds, etc. If you are not in the preferred tower you can buy wifi online at their hotel for $60/week. You can get service in your room, but it is slightly slow.

I have no complaints... this hotel will always be a favorite, and though we plan to travel to other destinations -- we will continue to come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in
#30 Top resorts Hotel in
#52 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.