We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Group Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Group Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went to Dreams PV for a wedding this past week/weekend and it was amazing. The resort is relatively small, so it was easy to get from room to room and meet up with the other guests. Allt the rooms seem to have a water view. There are several restaurants, pools, and activities to do on the beach. They do have some vendors which is great, so that you don't need to tie up a full day souvenir shopping if you don't want to (they weren't pushy either). Food was great and housekeeping kept the fridge fully stocked at all times. I loved the "adult pool" and bar by the concierge building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,897
    1,053
    281
    129
    80
See reviews for
1,066
2,107
51
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

As many others have mentioned on this forum, this resort offered excellent services along with beautiful sunset views from every room. The staff were very polite, the rooms were clean, food was wonderful as well. The beach is in great condition, although the waves were quite high. The only reason I knocked off a star is that certain aspects lacked transparency. We booked our stay directly from Dreams website, however, we had no idea it was part of Apple vacation? It was extremely confusing when we landed and was very difficult to figure out who was responsible for our transportation, since everyone at the airport tried to trick you into their cars... And the resort also offered $200 "credit" at check-in, which also had other catches, which was an instant turn off. I would only recommend this place if you haven't been to PV.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went back to Dreams for our 4th visit this year, just a week. Upgraded to the newer tower, and when the shower door broke, got moved up to the 6th floor with jacuzzi on the balcony. View was fantastic up there, and we enjoyed checking the computer or getting a drink of fruit water in the lobby. Suggestion: upgrade once there and negotiate the price... we only spent far less than we would have booking it on-line prior to going.
Love the Seaside Grill restaurant and ate almost every meal there except for breakfast at the buffet, which was fine. Coffee is wonderful there as usual. They even had Canucks hockey on a screen on the beach, although we had to really complain to get them to turn it back on after the East Coast game was over.
Gardens were fantastic as usual, and I really enjoyed the private garden tour which explained the local flora and fauna. Pool exercises were fun, although the upper pool by the old tower (best for actually swimming) had lots of leaves and such in it. The whole place is looking a bit tired and dated, and the coffee in the coffee shop and drinks at the pool bar were very inconsistent, but overall we love Dreams and will probably go back again! oh yes, and all the premium liquors (Don Julio, etc) were no longer available this year, and no cookies on the front counter... little things you'd never miss if you hadn't been able to get them previous years...

Room Tip: New tower has larger, more comfortable rooms with a full balcony and better views, and computers and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days here in February. It was our first time in Mexico and AI. We loved this resort.
We liked that it was not huge. Easy to get to your room quickly from anywhere on the resort. We stayed in the Dreams tower and although the rooms are basic, the bed was very comfortable and housekeeping kept everything very clean. Turndown service was a very nice touch. We felt these rooms were a good value. Food was always great. Staff very friendly and helpful and very good service by all. Beach was nice. Always a lounger and palapa available but to get a seat at the main pool or adult pool you had to get there early. We like a quiet atmosphere and found just enough activities and programs. We are looking forward to going here again in the future. Definitely a wonderful place to relax.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I took my two daughters to PV in February for a one week vacation. We have never stayed at an all-inclusive and we definitely enjoyed our stay at Dreams. The grounds were clean, as were the facilities. The staff at check-in were very helpful and Bethy at concierge was amazing. She always had a smile on her face and got to know us by name. Although it was winter in Mexico, Canadians enjoy an ice cream on warm days, which it was while we were there, and we had a difficult time finding ice cream at the various restaurants on site. Bethy actually made inquiries and ice cream was readily available for the duration of our week!

My daughters (18 & 15 yrs old) participated in many of the entertainment activities including games, fruit carving, massage techniques, margarita making rock climbing and beach volleyball to name a few. The entertainment staff was wonderful in making them feel comfortable and welcome. A big thank you to Tony, Lalo and Oscar for making the trip memorable for all of us with their bright personalities and big smiles.

The food at all the restaurants was amazing! World Cafe, is a buffet and serves a variety of food suitable to all ages; Seaside Grill is a great option for a meal and offers western themed food suitable for all ages; Oceana is best suited to teenagers and adults. El Patio serves wonderful meals in a more upscale environment for evening dining and Portofino...well, what a fabulous restaurant! The fare here was phenomenal to say the least and all adults should take the opportunity to eat here at least once. No complaints regarding the food at Dreams.

One upgrade that could be made is slightly softer mattresses. We all found that by the fourth night our sleep was questionable as the mattresses were too firm.

The price for a one-way cab ride to Vallarta Adventures in Nuevo is $30 USD. Vallarta Adventures is where many people book swimming with dolphins, sea lions, etc. so can be expensive as this is a $60 per day added expense.

Something you should consider if staying at PV Dreams is security of your belongings. The safe in our room was not large enough to accommodate 2 laptop computers, digital camera, wallets, passports, some small jewellery and 2 Western Digital backup drives so I had to leave my 2 Western Digital backup drives in my backpack. Upon my return home I was shocked to find my 2 backup drives were missing. The only people in our room during our stay was Rita from housekeeping, Rita's replacement when Rita was on her day off and the staff who replaced items in our fridge. I'm sad to say that whoever stole these actually had to go through my belongings to find them and it has definitely placed a scar on my memories at Dreams. Not only did they steal the backup drives, but my personal information contained on them which included pictures of my family over the years which I no longer had room for on my computer which are now gone forever.

I would recommend Dreams PV based on our overall experience and the people who did not have access to our room. My suggestion would be to lock your suitcases, etc. when not in your room to ensure staff that have access to your belongings do not violate your privacy and help themselves to your belongings, whatever they are.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our 8th time in PV. This hotel has the best service we have ever encountered. Staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy and satisfied with your stay. Upon out arrival at our hotel at noon, we had to wait until 2pm for check in. This was a minor inconvenience, but we had asked for a higher floor and they wanted to grant this request for us. They did so by putting us on the 10th floor. The room was perfect, we had no complaints. I would find it hard to pay extra for the preferred room as ours was great. We got a call in the morning asking us what time we would like our room cleaned and turned down at which was appreciated. We loved the Oceana restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Also, the Seaside Grill for lunch and dinner. Nikolas was great at the Seaside Grill. We loved not having to eat at a buffet and always having a restaurant as an option. The pool server Ramon was fabulous, very speedy with the drinks. We would have preferred a greater selection of premium alcohol, and were surprised by the lack of. We have stayed at cheaper hotels which offered a much better selection of top shelf alcohol. The coffee shop has great coffee , desserts and fresh pastries. The entertainment staff was fun and energetic, and played a lot of beach volleyball which was right up our alley. Our favorites were Izy, Oscar and Lalo. The hypnotist show was very good and worth seeing. Downtown in only a 5 minute drive away which allows for easy access to downtown entertainment. The ocean is beautiful, we were lucky enough to see dolphins and whales during our stay. We were surprised by the amount of kids at this resort, this was the only downfall for us. Loved this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

let me just start by saying if you have small kids this is the place! the hotel is located in a very good location, very private, south of the airport about 20 min by car, if you know Puerto Vallarta downtown is the half way point. hotel have a private beach, so no annoying vendors! back of the hotel is pure nature and all the rooms have ocean view, some with balcony, some don’t. only two towers (north and south) one for families and the other adults only. hotel was clean, great fun around the clock, every night was something different ( shows, music, food, tastings, theater, etc.) hotel have many pools, including one for kids and one for adults only. food was very good, much to choose from, restaurants on the property are very good, but if you want to check something local a cab to downtown is less than U$10.00 there. now for the families let me tell you this is the best part, they have full service daycare for kids up to 12 or so, if you want to take a break they take the kids from early morning all the way to sunset if you want. this is a really good place to stay if you are a couple or a family, there is something for everyone anytime anywhere. the spa service was also great, prices were not different from any place in US. the staff was very nice, just the service around the pool could be just a little better (faster). we took the family more than 5 times to Puerto Vallarta and this is the hotel we will always go back to from now on.

Room Tip: rooms have it all, fridge, tv, cd player and more. all rooms have ocean view, close to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Resort Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Resort Spa
Dreams Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Dreams Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Dreams Puerta Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Dreams Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.