We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Counting the days until our next visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. a Barra de Navidad 2394 Zona hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Counting the days until our next visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel and its staff provide one of the most amazing and memorable experiences one can have while traveling overseas. From the breathtaking ocean views in each room, to the swim up bar, fabulous food and drinks, and impeccable service, we could not have been more pleased. Oscar, the bell hop, was friendly, courteous, and incredibly helpful. He made wonderful suggestions for outdoor adventures (any of the Vallarta Adventures tours are amazing) to check out during our stay and provided excellent recommendations for local restaurants that served authentic Mexican cuisine (Hint: If you like seafood, you simply must try Tony's/La Choza which is a few minutes up the street from the hotel). All in all, we had an incredible time and are counting down the days until our next visit to the Presidente Intercontinental.

Room Tip: I would suggest booking a room above the fifth floor, as they have the best, most unobstructed views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    107
    58
    41
    26
See reviews for
69
126
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our second 1 week stay at the hotel. The staff and service is beyond many 5-star hotels. You can not beat the location, natural beauty nor the good value of this hotel. However, given we frequent the InterContinental chain for it's consistent hotel quality, this particular property either needs a significant capital improvement plan or immediately remove the InterContinental branding from the hotel. If I were IHG, I would be sending my brand protection team to this location to determine what branding might better suit a hotel in this physical condition. We were fortunate to have our basic issues resolved (linens, etc.) but the staff can't help if showers are plastic insets, hot/cold water mixers don't work or take 15-minutes to reach a human temperature. This hotel has high level corporate issues not related to on-site staff nor management. Likely, all problem areas with the hotel are related to it's apparent low level of occupancy creating a shortage of funds to keep the property and it's amenities up to InterContinental standards. Although I understand the value proposition this hotel offers, it should NOT be an InterContinental as it will loose regular guests like us remaining loyal to the brand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Adrian S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your continued loyalty to our brand and hotel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Presidente InterContinental in Puerto Vallarta is set in beauty (Jungle above and Pacific below) and staffed by the most attentive people on earth! From the porter to the pool attendants, from the waitstaff to the front desk clerks, all anticipate every possible need and wish. The 15 minute cab ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta is a small price to pay for the 'South of the city' beauty and tranquility of the setting of this hotel. Thankfully, it is NOT all-inclussive, providing instead the freedom and pleasure of exploring the abundance of downtown restaurants for dinner followed by a liesurely evening stroll. The in-house breakfasts make lunch unnecessary. I will continue to look forward to returning "home" to the Presidente and its welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Sixth Floor or above; room numbers _8 or higher on the floor have the best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Although the hotel is a little old it is still in pristine condition. Upon arrival you are greeted by staff with smiling faces whose main aim is to make your stay very comfortable and they manage it very well. The Concierge and Front Office Manager is Leslie Arandano and she is very good at her job. She is most helpful and is very knowledgeable about the area. The pool bar is well equipped and the prices are very reasonable. The breakfast is mind boggling with a huge variety to choose from on the Buffet, or if you choose, the a la carte menu is extensive as well. The rooms are huge and well appointed with great amenities. The sea view is just what you need to relax with. All in all, an excellent Hotel which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and often feel the same welcome...home! Service is kind and inviting. Bar food and drinks were reasonably priced and service from Fernando was outstanding.You will definitely feel the Mexican charm at this hotel.

Room Tip: Best views from floors 6 and up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel! I have never felt so welcomed by the staff of a hotel before, from Leslie and her staff at the front desk to the staff of the dining room, pool, and pool bar ; everyone was so friendly, they almost made you feel like family. The dining room staff soon anticipated our preferences and the chef could not have been more accommodating, preparing things for us that weren't even on the menu. One of our party was gluten intolerant and the chef prepared fresh corn tortillas and gluten-free muffins especially for him every morning.
The hotel is about eight kilometres south of the city but there is a bus every fifteen minutes right in front of the hotel for less than 50 cents (7 pesos) and only $8 (100 pesos) for a taxi for four people to return after dark. It was great to go into the city to try different foods and return to the peace of the hotel away from the hustle of the city. The beach in front of the hotel is lovely but the surf was too high for the uninitiated to get past it into the quieter waters beyond. . Alphonso who sells hand made jewellery and ironwood carvings on the beach is an interesting character who really adds to the ambiance.
I would happily return to this hotel if the opportunity presents.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Rooms on the upper floors have a better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I´ve stayed here like 3 years ago and then last year, both times we booked through priceline and got an excellent fare USD60...not making advertising to the agency but it´s a great deal. They had all the amenities, like soap, shower cap, lotion, shampoo. Even though is far from the city center is quite calm if you are looking to relax, if you are looking to party this is not the hotel for you unless you have a car. Years before i ordered a shrimp cocktail and it was great, this time the restaurant was poorly stocked. I ordered a steak that was raw inside and there were no hand made tortillas available....sad.
The bed was comfy and the barthroom ample however the tub could have been longer, if you are more than 5´5 you will not fit in. Used the fridge for medicines and took out all the cans, then they said we consumed water from the min bar but we didnt so they made us sign a good faith honor paper telling we did not. kind of nice.

Room Tip: All rooms i think have a view so ask one far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carr. a Barra de Navidad 2394 Zona hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Puerto Vallarta blends with its natural environment to give the white sand beach and lush flora centre stage. Acqua Esencia experiences personalise your room with fragrances, flowers and music to bring the essence of Puerto Vallarta closer still. When you want to venture out, the city centre, canopy tours and golf are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.