We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jorge's Hideaway Shrimp Shack

Jorge's Hideaway Shrimp Shack
Calle Pilitas #206, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
3228896928
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Branford, Connecticut, Usa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Jorge has created a great local restaurant with delicious food. Seafood and fish are prepared perfectly: moist and flavorful with delicious sauces. A delightful hideaway offering good food and good value. We had the lamb special which was fabulous! We highly recommend eating here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    23
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara on the Lake
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Simplicity at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was rather alarmed after reading the last three reviews on this place but have to say that our experience was not the same. As other reviewers have stated, it is tucked away on a residential street but just a short walk away from Olas Altas which is the main drag of Zona Romantica. If you are looking for an elegant dining experience then stay away from this place. It literally is a shack complete with a corrugated iron roof. However, the owner and his staff are very friendly and accommodating. We both ordered tortilla soup, which frankly was the best that I have ever had. I ordered the beef medallions and my partner had shrimp served in a creamy sauce with mushrooms. Both dishes were very good. The atmosphere may best be described as "funky" we did not see and rodent droppings in our food. I only hope that if this was the case that they have cleaned up their act. I suspect that the owner has already taken action in this regard since the wine servings seemed to be normal and not excessive as stated in other reviews. Again this is not a fine dining experience, but you will find good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Hidden away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

You will not just walk by this place as it is on a dead end street but we finally found it. Small with only seven tables but a group of ten came and they set them up in the street. What a hoot everyone was happy. They have beer and wine just not much of a choice but the shrimp is the star. We both had the coconut shrimp with mashed potato which was perfect . The service was friendly and perfect. The two young boys who work there were friendly and very well mannered. Would return again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best of PV!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Truly the best meal, the best ambiance and best service in a town of great restaurants. Up a side street, hidden away, is this charming place with only 6 tables. We came here because we met Jorge at Swell, a beach restaurant on Los muertos, which was fun and had good food among a slew of similar places. Jorge was a wonderful host who kept us happy lounging here all day, ensuring we were comfortable and well-fed all day. But when we found his own restaurant on our last night, we were thrilled to get the same personal attention. The chicken tortilla soup was heavenly - the best I've ever had, and it's my favorite soup. I couldn't decide which seafood dish to order so I asked to be surprised. Out came the biggest and best coconut shrimp I've ever had, with a delicious salad and mashed potatoes. My husband had a chili relleno that was unline any we've ever tasted. The finale was an ice cream creation rolled in cakey crumbs with chocolate suave.
If you want an authentic,family run restaurant that's charming and has delicious food, this is it!
Hola Jorge!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been traveling to PV for 17 years and have many favorite restaurants, this one is at the TOP of our list. The food is excellent, from bacon wrapped shrimp to rack of lamb, everything was elegantly presented and the service was wonderful. Jorge's years of experience in this industry are really showcased in this little out of the way restaurant. The dinning room is small so I would recommend reserving.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jorge's Hideaway Shrimp Shack also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Jorge's Hideaway Shrimp Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jorge's Hideaway Shrimp Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.