We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for cilantro margarita and then leave!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Los Arbolitos Restaurant

Los Arbolitos Restaurant
Camino de la Rivera | 184 Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
01 322 223 1050
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 772 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $53
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We open every day from 1:00m pm to 11:00 pm that the kitchen closes and after that you can stay and enjoy your evening with great music and drinks until 12:00 pm.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go for cilantro margarita and then leave!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I chose to go to this restaurant with some friends and family because of the reviews. The only thing I can say is "I'm not sure what all those other people were thinking when they wrote their reviews.". This has to be one of the worst restaurant experiences I have ever had. The only redeeming part of the meal was the cilantro margarita. You would think that after waiting over one hour wait for food it would be wonderful but instead it was both cold and inedible. I think The most insulting part of the evening was After requesting the check the owner's daughter came over and asked how everything. When we told her how terrible it was and that my daughter could not eat her fish because it was so bad, she simply stated that one of the employees did not speak English. She did not offer anything to try compensate for the awful experience. She did, however offer to remove our plates. I normally rely very heavily on Trip Advisor reviews. I will have to think twice before I rely on a review the next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    17
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A MUST go here!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Awesome place - three floors for seating - we sat on the top floor and it was quaint and charming. Our waiter named Caesar was very friendly and nice and spoke great English which was helpful. The chile rellaneos were very delicious, They also have an incredible vegetarian burrito - the best I have ever had! The flavors of their food was innovative and different, but really really tasty and wonderful. Might be a little hard to find, but just take a taxi like we did. It was cheap and they take you right to it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, In
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the hunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We visited Los Arbolitos after seeing that it was re-opened. During the day, you'll walk right past it, but at night, it comes to life. The restaurant is on the 2nd and 3rd floor (hint to management, do something with the entry way at ground level to make it more 'inviting') and after dining, be sure to ask for access to rooftop viewing area. It's two flights up a circular staircase and you're on top of the roof. Great views of the area. But the food was fantastic, too. Great coconut shrimp (4 huge pieces almost too much) and the sauce was different than the U.S. variety, but nonetheless, very good compliment. Wife had chicken fajitas and were great. Our friends had the chile rellanos and chicken enchiladas in mole sauce. All excellent! Owner came over after and offered us complimentary shots of nearby distilled tequila. Put this on your list for local food, away from the over-hyped and over-prized restaurants near the malecon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Authentic Meal in Old Town Puerto Vallarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We wanted to try something more authentic and we found it at Los Arbolitos. Beautiful setting at the top of Old Town by the river and up against the hills. This restaurant has been around for many years but is under new ownership. They have kept the old menu and everything tasted delicious. Try the cilantro margarita. Very refreshing. Delicious tortilla soup, gaucamole made right at your table, fantastic enchilada with mole sauce and out of this world chili relleno. Too full to try dessert. The staff was wonderful right up to Marissa the owner who gave me a big hug when we left. Take a taxi as its a long walk up from the beach.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great prices. Authentic Mexican food. Very friendly service. Marisa is doing a wonderful job. Garlic shrimp, guacamole, enchiladas were all delicious! Go there! You will love it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Arbolitos Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Los Arbolitos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Arbolitos Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.