We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Garzas s/n | Zona Hote, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book ahead and Save
Ranked #37 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are a married couple in their thirties traveling with no kids.

The overall experience was great! The hotel was good. After being to the resort, the hotel was not a 5 star BUT the employees make this hotel a 5 star hotel. The service was Awesome! Everyone was very nice and very accommodating.

Details
Beach - Small and public. I was surprised that there were dogs on the resort beach.
Hotel - Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and again service was 5 stars
Food - There are three restaurants. The food was okay but no variety. Room Service was not good. Lucky we brought snacks with us from home

We had an AI package and paid extra to upgrade to the ocean view room – it was nice. We had Sunset view from balcony every night.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    216
    98
    52
    30
See reviews for
220
292
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I traveled to the Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort mid-March for a quick getaway. We really enjoyed the Hilton and already talk about our plans to return.

The staff alone made the trip worth it. Everyone was incredibly friendly and always willing to help with our requests. The staff at the breakfast/lunch restaurant was by far our favorite - every morning they greeted us with a smile. I burned my hand one day at lunch on some hot tongs at the buffet and every member of the staff went above and beyond to make sure I was okay (I was, by the way!).

The concierge staff was also fantastic. I was pregnant during our stay and didn't feel well one night so they helped us change our dinner reservations and then proceeded to surprise us with a personalized "congratulations" dessert at dinner that night. Those little touches were great!

We did have some issues with room service not bringing us new robes during our stay after our robes were mistakenly taken out with the dirty towels on our second day. A small inconvenience to us just because we're pretty laid back and easy going, but I could see someone getting irritated by having to call the front desk 3-4 times to remind them.

My husband really liked the food. Not sure if it was morning sickness, but the only meals I really enjoyed were breakfast/lunch. The fresh guacamole and chilaquiles were delicious! Dinner was tough for me and the room service was not the best. We enjoyed the Mexican restaurant for dinner - definitely our favorite.

Despite the mishaps with room service and the food, we really did love our stay at the Hilton. The staff made up where the food lacked and the hotel itself is lovely. We had a great swim-out junior suite that was so relaxing when we wanted to get away from the crowds at the pool. The main pool was really great, too, and my husband enjoyed the unlimited margaritas and pina coladas.

We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Request a junior swim-up suite - we were Hilton Honors so we were upgraded automatically but definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton PV for 4 nights in April 2013. We were upgraded to a junior suite with our Hilton Gold status. The room was really nice, with a jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. We made reservations for the French, Brazilian, and Mexican restaurants. The food was pretty good at all 3, but the Mexican restaurant was the best. We never ate at the Italian restaurant, which was a buffet. The lunch buffet varied from average to good, depending on the day. The service everywhere at the hotel was excellent. Everyone was very helpful, very friendly, and really made for an enjoyable stay. Clearly the management of the hotel is doing a great job. The other reviewers have made a couple good points - email the concierge before you arrive to make restaurant reservations. And arrive early morning to reserve a cabana or pool chairs. We saved our pool towels from one day to bring down the next morning and reserve a cabana (since the towel stand isn't open until 9am each morning.) I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited the Hilton from March 29th - April 4th for spring break. We brought two 10 year old girls with us. When we first arrived at the airport we were greeted by a gentleman at a desk (located as soon as you clear customs on the right side), he asked us if we needed a ride to the airport and we said yes, he went on to explain a resort vacation package to us that included a ride to the hotel, free breakfast, ability to visit another resort, tickets to the water park a ride back to the airport and a city tour. Since we had the girls with us, we accepted because we did want to see another resort while here (we visited the Flamingo Resort). We finally made it to the hotel where Christian checked us in, he was amazing. Always smiling and just seemed happy to see us. Our room was very lovely, RM830 with a beautiful view of the beach and hotel next door. It was difficult not having a full bathroom as we were traveling with these girls who needed space to change clothes and such--we would have gotten two rooms if we were aware. But none the less, we made the best of it.

While at the resort, we ate at the French restaurant as well as Fogo. Both were very nice. The buffet did get old and by the last day I ended up just having bacon and fruit for breakfast. The gym is beautiful with nice equipment and a yoga room upstairs with yoga mats and exercise balls. The children's club is nice, they do a good job of keeping the kids occupied. The adult pool was amazing. We put the girls in the kids club and spent time there. They have towels and drinks--it's quiet and just beautiful. It's like you are at a different resort.
One day my husband went deep sea fishing with the husband of a couple we befriended and a couple of days later the resort cooked the fish and made a meal for both our families at Fogo on the beach. What an amazing experience for all of our girls.

In the morning, I got up at around 7:30 to reserve chairs. If you want to use one of the shaded beds, just ask the morning staff and they will let you know which ones are available--probably a 6:30 am wake up would be needed to ensure that you get one of these. There is not a cost for these-they are first come first served. The girls went on a banana boat ride that they absolutely loved.

Overall the resort is quiet and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They set up an easel board near the towel desk outside with a schedule of what is happening each day however it would have been nice for them to announce to those at the pool what the agenda was for the day. This way they would have a better turn out for things like karaoke and bingo. Which by the way were very fun.

I received a facial on the last day--very nice services.

We did visit the Flamingo Resort and after the presentation, we spent all day there playing in the pool and visiting the beach. It is a very quiet resort and much larger than the Hilton, but a lot of fun as the pool was heated and just a lot of fun. The girls also liked the water park that we got for free. Not sure that it would have been worth the asking price of $30 pp--once inside, you needed to purchase a locker key and a tube to ride many of the rides.

We would stay here again, however we would reserve two rooms next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I wanted to share our families experience at the Hilton Puerto Vallarta. We decided to take a family vacation but it was also a celebration of mine and my wife's 21 year anniversary and my younger son's birthday. SO as you can imagine I wanted it to be extra special. Fernando, the manager of the Hilton, Diana and Damas the concierges' as well as the entire staff went over and above to make this vacation very positive and memorable. Fernando and staff took the time to make sure that ever detail of our stay was an A+++. Our room facing the ocean had a jacuzzi on the balcony and the room itself was beautiful. Whenever we needed something or had a question the staff was there to make sure we got what we needed. We enjoyed the pool, the restaurants, and the service. One of the restaurant settings was facing the ocean. Does not get better than that. One of the staff at one of their restaurants remembered that it was our anniversary and they brought out a special dessert with candles. So if you are looking for either a family vacation or a romantic one, the Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort is without a doubt a MUST DO on your bucket list!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This property is AMAZING! I was here for almost a week for a business trip. Although i was unable to take advantage of many of the wonderful activities available to me here due to actually having to work, I was overwhelmed with this hotel. I travel frequently and have stayed in many lovely hotels. Generally, hotels offer the same thing to travellers, but what makes a stay special is the staff and this hotel goes over the top in service. First of all, there is staff EVERYWHERE! Anytime i needed anything, there was someone i could ask. They were pleasant and gracious and friendly and never told me "no" or "i can't do that". AND the hotel itself is beautiful. My room had a staircase that went up to my own private terrace with a jacuzzi. The location was great- close and easy access to the airport. There are lots of resorts and hotels in Puerto Vallarta, but not for me. This is the only hotel-as far as i am concerned and hope to be back when i don't have to work so much! Gracias!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Laid back luxury! Very clean hotel, and unbeatable customer service. Email in advance to set up a romantic beach dinner. $288 usd. Worth every penny(peso). Concierge Diana Salgado is a real professional. She made sure we had a beautiful anniversary experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort

Address: Avenida de las Garzas s/n | Zona Hote, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Puerto Vallarta Hilton Resort, awarded the AAA Four Diamond award, offers an All-Inclusive beachside experience, which includes with your stay: breakfast, lunch and dinner daily – buffet and a la carte – snacks at the pool area, 24-hour room service, limitless domestic and international beverages including house wine (by the glass), in-room mini bar restocked daily, daytime activities, fabulous recreational amenities such as kayak rentals, live nightly entertainment, and more, all set in a magnificent beachfront location. Lounge on cabanas, directly adjacent to our courtyard-style glamourous infiniti pool. Enjoy panoramic views of Banderas Bay with cruise ships embarking nearby and guestrooms with mountain views of the magnificent Sierra Madres and ocean views. With two towers, we have a variety of guestrooms available, including fantastic suites with private balcony whirpools. Enjoy multiple onsite dining options while choosing to dine indoors or al-fresco on our various veranda levels overlooking our beautiful Pacific ocean sunsets. Kids and parents alike will enjoy the Kids Club, featuring entertainment and activities to truly inspire and allow parents some free time to explore. Be sure to find some time to indulge in our onsite spa Ki as well. We're just minutes from the airport and the cobblestone streets of downtown. Experience a truly magnificent vacation at the Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.