We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Garzas s/n | Zona Hote, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this resort from 1/31/31 through 2/9/13 in room 304. We had originally booked an ocean view room but were upgraded to a Junior suite as my wife is a Hilton Honors Diamond member. Our completely positive experience with this resort began months before our arrival when Fernando Zepeda responded promptly to our e-mail & applied our stay to my wife's Hilton Honors account & told us we would most likely receive an upgrade. All this with no confusion or delay whatsoever, even though we asked the stay to be credited to my wife's account months after we booked our stay through bookit.com.
Our arrival at the resort was handled flawlessly & was the most efficient & seamless check-in either of us have ever experienced on vacation. The front desk personnel were friendly, inviting & completely prepared for our arrival. The bellman, Andres, took it from there & gave us the best tour of the facility & information on the amenities that either of us have ever received. During our entire stay, the resort was maintained in sparkling clean, pristine condition. We were surprised when the elevator doors opened & we found one of the cleaning staff wiping down its stainless steel walls. Every time we saw someone cleaning anywhere, it was evident they were doing a very thorough job.
The room in which we stayed was, to put it mildly, spectacular, with an 8'x8' shower, clawfoot tub & dual sinks, all enclosed by plate glass covered with sheer curtains. The floors were done in marble tile throughout. Bed was firm but comfortable. All lights were either CFLs or LEDs. One interesting energy saving feature in the room was the use of the room key card to turn on the lights & Hvac. Cotton bathrobes, a coffee maker & mini fridge were all provided in the room. Hotel management should note at this point that the stocking of the coffee pouches & mini fridge was hit or miss, with more misses than hits. We left notes for cleaning staff about our preferences to no avail. Our suggestion would be to have a post card sized list of available beverages & snacks so that guests could check off what they would like stocked. This would provide clear communication to the staff about what to do (making their jobs easier) and also meet guests needs every time in this area. A small suggestion.
Our experience with the food & wait staff was a good one every time. Waiters were very attentive & it's very clear that they are working very hard to meet the needs of every guest. We were so impressed with the service that we tipped well at every meal.My wife is an executive with a large healthcare organization that has 'providing excellent customer service' as a primary initiative....and she was impressed daily with the Hilton's staff.
Drink service around the pool was uniformly excellent & was provided by Manuella & Annabelle, two very attentive waitresses. They not only filled drink & snack orders quickly, they also remembered our preferences from day to day. We tipped one or the other of them either $5.00 or 50 pesos per day.
Eduardo & Paola, the two in charge of entertainment & activities around the pool were both very engaging, upbeat, fun people to be around. They created a fun environment around the pool by providing one on one & group activies throughout the day. Eduardo was particularly conversational & informative, providing profiles of the communities surrounding the Puerto Vallarta area. My wife thinks he will probably be moving up in the Hilton organization very soon.
The 3 pools were all very well maintained with the 2 ground floor pools incorporating several spiral shaped areas with seating to be used for conversation. The rooftop infinity pool overlooking the ocean at O'west was very chic & upscale in design and was a perfect place to unwind & relax after a full day of unwinding & relaxing by the pool. On occasion live entertainment was provided. We never could determine when the sushi & snacks were served there, however, as we only saw them up there one time. Guests should remember that most times this is a place for quiet conversation & enjoying sunset/ocean view. On one occasion there were three men & a woman noisily doing shots & causing a ruckus, we and most of the other couples stayed a few minutes & left.
We ate at 3 of the ala carte restaurants, French, Italian, & Mexican, with the Italian restaurant being the least impressive. The other two restaurants were both excellent with great service.
We ordered room service twice. Both times the service was as expected & the food was of high quality.
We have already started recommending this resort to anyone who cares to listen. Our experience was that positive.

Room Tip: Junior suites are the way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    274
    128
    60
    36
See reviews for
268
378
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a new property and is still growing. There was a real interest in knowing what they could do better and improving. It's not perfect but it's getting better daily and it is very good already. I find name dropping of staff on these reviews odd (most never read them) but I'd recommend dealing with Christian at the front desk for your needs. Some of the others there seemed a little lost and for us he got things done quickly and most importantly correctly.

Drinks:
Premium pours, actual can's of beer. All top shelf. What else can you ask for? Ok the wines are horrible. They do have a premium wine list you can order from for a price but the mark ups are in the 400% range.

Food:
All of the restaurants provide well prepared food. I think that is the issue for some people. It's more fine dining than buffet. The beef tartar in the French restaurant is raw beef, raw quail egg with a small side of lettuce and tomato (basically a deconstructed burger) is not for everyone but you can't fault the workmanship even if you don't like the taste. BTW I don't ever get burgers on vacation but I had one here after seeing someone else have one. Homemade patty, char grilled. Best burger I've had in years.

Staff:
Staff are great and always helpful. They are staffed presently for around 50% capacity. When the hotel gets busier than that service does suffer.

Rooms:
Our room was great. New, modern and clean. We were on the 8th floor of the "old" building. I did hear some people on the lower floors talk about a smell, but we never had one.

Beach:
It's so so. There is room to take walks but it's not really a swimming beach. Neuvo Vallarta is much better if you want a beach.

Pools:
The pools are well maintained and warm. My only complaints would be that the handrails all seem to be loose (could impact older people) and I'd like to see them make the beach facing part of the pool adults only.

Room Tip: 7 and 8 floor in the "old" building have none of the smells others talk about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had an excellent stay at the Hilton. When you first arrive you enter into an open air lobby that is absolutely beautiful. We were upgraded to a junior suite on the first floor with a semi-private pool. The view of the ocean wasn't great from the room, but we really enjoyed having the pool right outside our door. It was also a very convenient location for returning to the room.

The staff at this hotel were absolutely excellent. By the second day they had our breakfast drink orders memorized. Everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. They organized many activities and encouraged guests to participate. On January 6, it was Kings Day in Mexico, and they had the traditional cake in the lobby and gathered guests to participate. It was fun and memorable to be included in a Mexican tradition.

The food at all the restaurants was pretty good. We never ate dinner at the buffet, but were impressed enough by all of the restaurants. The dinner at Fogo was especially memorable since it was right off the beach. As others have said some of the meat was a little overcooked, but you can avoid that by just sticking with the sausage and shrimp, both of these items were delicious.

The pools at the hotel were pretty nice. The drink service at the pool was wonderful, and the staff was very friendly. The first few days there, right around New Years, it could be a little difficult to find chair, but for the most part there was no problem. There was also the adult pool on the top of the suites building. This was a great place to relax with a drink, especially in the evening to watch the sunset.

We encountered one issue with the stay regarding room service. We placed the room service order on our door the night before, and in the morning we realized it was still there and we never received our order.

Overall, my stay at the Hilton exceeded all expectations. I look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent 6 amazingly relaxing days at the Hilton. Gold status got us an upgraded room right above the pool. The food was great...specialty restaurants and the buffet. Our two children loved the kids club and Paola (she is wonderful!)
Pool area is great, no annoying early bird towel chair savers. Annabelle and the rest of the crew were always right there with another drink. The rooftop bar was an excellent late afternoon escape. The service property was very friendly and courteous, no reason to ever leave.
I have already recommended the Hilton to family and friends and would love to go back anytime.

Room Tip: Would go back anytime! Great value, great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton for a week on business. The weather was fantastic, and the property (both grounds and meeting rooms) was spectacular. It's a smaller resort, but there really is no need to venture off. The property has a world-class spa (which gave me a top 3 massage!), nightclub, rooftop pool/bar, and great bars & restaurants. I was skeptical because it was so new, but I couldn't have had a better stay. As the Hilton's first ever all-inclusive, it does not disappoint! I will definitely return! 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was just there with a group of co-workers for our annual retreat and I cannot say enough wonderful things about the property! The service was impeccable, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was relaxing but fun. I think our group utilized just about every service the hotel has to offer and none of them were disappointing. The spa was the best I have been to in Mexico and worth every penny. The meeting rooms were perfect and well equipped with the things we needed. The special event menu and location options were spot on. I also highly recommend watching the sunset at the OWest lounge - wow, what a view!

Big special thank you to Mariana and Mauricio for all your help!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you want fantastic weather and a great hotel, this is the place. Four of us went the 1st of Feb. I guess figjam37 went too soon after opening because our experience was 5 star. Hilton's staff could not have been more helpful (Christian, Nellie, Sarah, and Isabelle) from the dining to the beach to the front desk. Every amenity is just a very short walk away - the pools, dining, beach, and lobby. Everything is very casual - never any reason to dress to the nines. Loved the "all inclusive," especially not receiving a check-out bill. I want to comment about the food which is an issue for some. When you pay top dollar, expect the best. Hilton PV had delicious breakfasts, plenty of choices for lunch, and several restaurants for dinner. Food was good, drinks were plentiful, and I'm willing to give the restaurants time to settle in. In the meantime, I gained a few pounds at this resort. Magnificent property!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor. Fabulous view of property and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort

Address: Avenida de las Garzas s/n | Zona Hote, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Puerto Vallarta Hilton Resort, awarded the AAA Four Diamond award, offers an All-Inclusive beachside experience, which includes with your stay: breakfast, lunch and dinner daily – buffet and a la carte – snacks at the pool area, 24-hour room service, limitless domestic and international beverages including house wine (by the glass), in-room mini bar restocked daily, daytime activities, fabulous recreational amenities such as kayak rentals, live nightly entertainment, and more, all set in a magnificent beachfront location. Lounge on cabanas, directly adjacent to our courtyard-style glamourous infiniti pool. Enjoy panoramic views of Banderas Bay with cruise ships embarking nearby and guestrooms with mountain views of the magnificent Sierra Madres and ocean views. With two towers, we have a variety of guestrooms available, including fantastic suites with private balcony whirpools. Enjoy multiple onsite dining options while choosing to dine indoors or al-fresco on our various veranda levels overlooking our beautiful Pacific ocean sunsets. Kids and parents alike will enjoy the Kids Club, featuring entertainment and activities to truly inspire and allow parents some free time to explore. Be sure to find some time to indulge in our onsite spa Ki as well. We're just minutes from the airport and the cobblestone streets of downtown. Experience a truly magnificent vacation at the Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.