We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent tour of this Cathedral and the Bell Tower” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe

The Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe
Calle Hidalgo, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Religious Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Beautiful cathedral featuring its trademark crown of angels.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Magnificent tour of this Cathedral and the Bell Tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had such a great tour of Our Lady of Guadalupe Church in Puerto Vallarta. Having been to PV many times in the years past, we decided we wanted to learn more about this Church and to see the Bell Tower.... so before we went to PV, we called to see if we could have a tour. The answer was, "yes!" Our private tour was amazing and we learned so much about the history of this Church. They never do tours, so to us, this was very special indeed. And walking up the "special tiny iron wrought spiral staircase" to the roof of the church and then again, an even tiny-er iron wrought spiral staircase up to the bell tower landing was outstanding in itself. The 180 panoramic views from the church roof and all over Vallarta, including Banderas Bay were something I will never forget. The magnificence of those bells! WOW! That was the highlight of my whole trip!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    212
    54
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Magnificent Church and Bell Tower!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had such a great tour of Our Lady of Guadalupe Church in Puerto Vallarta. Having been to PV many times in the years past, we decided we wanted to learn more about this Church and to see the Bell Tower.... so before we went to PV, we called to see if we could have a tour. The answer was, "yes!" Our private tour was amazing and we learned so much about the history of this Church. They never do tours, so to us, this was very special indeed. And walking up the "special tiny iron wrought spiral staircase" to the roof of the church and then again, an even tiny-er iron wrought spiral staircase up to the bell tower landing was outstanding in itself. The 180 panoramic views from the church roof and all over Vallarta, including Banderas Bay were something I will never forget. The magnificence of those bells! WOW! That was the highlight of my whole trip!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

it is located very nicely right in the center of the town so if you are there already why not to take a peak or at least take a picture with the church in the background. Facing the church on a Hidalgo street on a right corner, across from church is a little restaurant which I recommend for a meal, big portions, local flavor and not over priced.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE ALONG THE MALECON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

One of the most popular sites in Puerto Vallarta, at least according to what I've read. It's a VERY short distance behind the Malecon, but you will easily find it as you walk along. It's very quaint, very beautiful (in a simple way).

There was a wedding going on when we were there, so we only got to "peek" inside, rather than explore it, but seeing the GORGEOUS bride in her GORGEOUS dress and hearing a BEAUTIFUL rendition of Ave Maria more than made up for that.

There is a beautiful, haunting statue of St. Francis of Assisi outside.

Easily reachable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“MUST SEE THE CATHEDRAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a lovely church that is in the HEART of PV. It is a fine place for people to go to mass. Check out the times for the English masses. Be sure to eat at the little restaurant to the left as you go down the steps of the church. El Camapanario is a great place to eat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to The Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.