We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the long haul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta to your Saves list
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the long haul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I will not bore you with the travel out as hours on a plane is a long time, I will say the dream liner is a nice aircraft. A long walk at the airport to baggage reclaim and you have to pass all the hawkers to get outside to the rep, this is not a major issue just hot. On arrival at the hotel as we had a delay the management and staff pulled out all the stops to make checking in easy and they certainly succeeded with a dance demo and everything laid on, this made the start to our break very pleasing. This hotel has got to be the cleanest hotel that I have ever stayed in, you would find that statement hard to believe unless you have stayed there. The hotel is a small intimate hotel which was not full during our two week stay, apart from the weekends when the local weekenders arrive, that said even then it did not seem full. The food was very good and there was always enough choice with theme nights. all the waiting staff and chefs were attentive and willing to take the time to explain the different foods on offer TIP Always try to get a table under a fan as it can get hot in the place especially at the evening meal. Specialty restaurants were very good,mexican, surf and turf and steak are all in the same place on different nights TIP book early to get the times you require. The Italian, which is across the street and a hike through the hotel opposite is a 5 minute walk but worth it, not big portions but enough TIP ask for Rafael to make the special coffee it is quite a treat when he sets light to the brandy.
The snack bar at the pool area has some lovely snacks however this is about my only dislike of the hotel PIGEONS they are around the tables and wont go away, the waiters do try to keep them away, but as long as the tourists put food down for them they will not go(they are vermin and carry disease people dont feed them). The rooms are functional and as with the rest of the hotel they are kept spotless our double had plenty of space for us for the amount of time we spent in there.
The nice touched were every day the staff came out, gathered around the pool and sang the theme song. When the temperature was at its hottest the staff brought round cool towels to mop the brow, these were very welcome. At night a turn down service came round tidied the room and left a chocolate on the bed. Very nice touches.
The only thing I would like to see (or rather my son) is ice cream, even in the specialties on a night.
To conclude if the management should read this review please pass on our thanks to the staff of the Canto del Sol for making our holiday a relaxing and enjoyable one. Pedro, Allan, Manuel in the restaurant. Jorge and Hugo around the pool and Trinidad for the best G&T in Mexico. I would like to name everyone as they worked tirelessly to ensure we had time to remember. I hope this hotel is available in the brochure next time as i will not hesitate to book up for our next trip.

Room Tip: Just ask for a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    706
    319
    140
    86
See reviews for
429
567
67
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pincher Creek, Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The staff is very friendly, especially Alberto (concierge). The rooms are clean and the maids keep them nice and spiffy. Of course it depends what view you want and cheaper rooms will not have a good view so you get what you pay. I loved the pool area, the restaurant and especially the massage. These gals are really good and my wife and I went twice. Thanks to all the staff, and all the big smiles and being so friendly!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.louis,mo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in early June for one week and traveled with our two teenage kids. We have never been to the Pacific side of Mexico as we normally travel to the Caribbean. The hotel itself was in need of some updating but it was mainly the rooms and exterior. Pool, restaurants, tennis courts all in very good shape.

What stood out at this resort was the the entire staff. Simply cant get better service. There was a certain culture among this staff that really made our trip enjoyable. Certainly one big happy family.

They had plenty of booze everywhere and Hugo and the rest of the gang kept it flowing constantly. You will not have to run for your own drinks. The food at the grill was very good. Breakfast was also good and I recommend waiting for the quesadilla's. We did go to some of the fancy reservation places but did not care for them. There is really only so much they can do at those sit down places given the price you pay for this particular hotel. If you are looking for fine dining then you may want to buck up and pay more for a 5 or 6 star hotel.

The location of the hotel was pretty much right in the center of the bay and within walking distance of town, We did like walking down the boardwalk along the beach. Tons of culture right at your fingertips. If you are looking for something not so Americanized such as Cancun, this may be the place for you. Riding the bus is a little different than Cancun. Buses are in bad shape and no AC. Think we paid 28 peso's for all 4 of us to ride one way. Overall I would recommend this hotel and it was certainly a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sask
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My friend and I got an incredible last minute deal to Canto del Sol through Air Canada.
The best part of this resort is the staff. From the moment we walked into the lobby until the time we left, the staff made us feel like family.
Around the pool the staff is constantly cleaning. Dirt has no chance at this resort!
The entertainment staff at the pool and at the shows in the evening are extremely multi-talented.
Around the pool the servers deliver drinks and food from the snack bar with smiles on their faces.
The food at the bar and buffet is wonderful, but it is the servers who make dining a truly great experience. The a la cartes were fantastic! When you book them you can check the menus. My favorite was the seafood and steak, where there were so many delicious choices.
Our room was nothing special. but you get what you pay for! But for the amount of time we spent in there it was fine.
The only downside to this resort is the almost non existent beach. The water is very rocky and has a very sharp drop. I would give this a 5 star rating if it wasn't for the beach.
Thank you to everyone at the resort for making us feel so special!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a pool or ocean view. Ask for a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family & I travelled here at the end of June 2014, we had a great time! Great staff, friendly,helpful & fun people! The property is very clean & well maintained. Thank you to; Raul, Veronica, Martinez, ALEX, Danny , JOSHUA(RICO) & all the Canto Del Sol staff for all you do!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the resort from March 22-28, 2014. We had a great time and enjoyed it so much that we purchased a Canto vacation club. To begin we first met the bell person Jose Hinjosq. He is terrific on looking after our things, getting ice from the bar and his positive attitude , always smilling and saying ' Welcome Home". We want to give a huge thank you to Maritza Martinez Pwaons, Front Desk Supervisor. She's just super in explaining where to go , what route to take, giving change and giving us the room preference that we wanted. She is a key person at this resort so be kind to this person. You will be very happy that you remember this. We would like to thank Kathy at Guest Services in the lobby. She took her time to explain anything we wanted to know/ tours and we very much appreciate her interest in that we were having a super time. The food is really good. Always fresh with a huge assortment. It changes every day and we enjoyed the waiters. They really make it fun as they greet you and have fun with you each and every day. The a la carte restaurants are all good as their is lots of choice. I falled to mention that the house wine is delicious from Australia. This is included in all lunch and dinner meals. This is a nice touch. One suggestion is that they need ,more umbrellas near the pool. A very hot area. Thank you Canto and see you in February

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is great on the whole, however we were there for two weeks and the food and drink became a little bit of a spoiler.

Cleanliness - Amazing, there is constant cleaning going on, and the place looks spotless
The rooms are cleaned up to twice a day and there is a turndown service most nights, although one or two nights this was a little anti social at 9.30pm!

Facilities - The facilities are great and the hotel and pool looks fantastic. There are kayaks to take out to the sea which is great. The sea water in Puerto Vallarta is extremely unclear so we barely went swimming in it. The pool is however great and included a swim up bar.

Food/Drink - The drinks were hit and miss, a lot of the cocktails weren't always great, a lot of sweet pre mixes I think. The beer was great though and there was a good range of spirits. The buffet restaurant had a good selection, however the food was sometimes bland and tasted the same a lot of days.Although I would not miss the mexican buffet night as this food was awesome! Breakfast was always good however. The staff always provided great/friendly service.

The a-la-carte restaurants - The italian was fantastic we went more than once. The steakhouse was good, then the Mexican restaurant was pretty bad food if i'm honest.

Location - Not bad, there are a few shops around the hotel and about a 10 min walk from a hypermarket. The downtown area is about a 30 min walk away but it's a lot less effort to get the bus (only about 35p each way).

Front desk - The staff here were extremely helpful, very friendly and happy to help you. Good english skills too, they also made a big deal about my birthday whilst being there.

Entertainment - Only the kayaks provided and one attempt at tennis is all we used. The entertainment otherwise wasn't particularly inventive or appealing.

In summary the hotel looks great however after two weeks we had enough of the food and drink.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
#51 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#74 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel Spa & Beach Club
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel Spa ...
#59 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallar...
#79 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
#77 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friendly Vallarta Resort
Friendly Vallarta Resort
#20 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.