We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel - Fantastic Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Hotel - Fantastic Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just returned from another great stay at Canto del Sol. We had our wedding in December - Jacquie the wedding planner was amazing . Every detail was taken care of and the wedding went perfect. The hotel treated us and our guests very well. Our dinner afterwards was super. We had 18 guests join us and evryone loved the pool and the staff. The staff were friendly and served us well

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto del Sol,

We thank you very much for having chosen our lovely hotel as the scenery for one of the most important days of your life. We are sincerely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the service we did provide to your guests.

We really hope to have the opportunity to host you and your family again in your home away from home Canto del Sol.


We remain at your service for any further comments at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    529
    253
    116
    70
See reviews for
302
382
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

In reading a recent review posted, I feel that clarification for this resort needs to be made.

This is a SOLID 4* resort. I have been many times and in fact have re-booked another trip for the end of this month and taking another couple along. I have also sent at least 5 other couples, including families to this resort by my recommendation, as well as taking my own parent and/or family members.

Staff is absolutely excellent as well as accomodation and food/entertainment. This resort is always kept clean and the staff and management work hard to please the tourists. Things happen that can be beyond our control and should not be factored in to reviewing this property, nor should our poor judgement or normal illness which can occur once we arrive at our destinations be the blame of a particular resort, such as stomach flu, colds/pneumonia or etc. Most travellers can recognize the difference between a regular stomach flu or cough cold, and what we can blame a resort for. Being confined in close quarters on a plane for example, for 4 hours or greater can certainly pass various bacteria/viral infections along to our fellow travellers. This is not the fault of a resort. These various viruses need to run their course and most people know they cannot be cured with needles or a lot of medications that are out there.

Our reviews should be based on normal service obtained at a resort, cleanliness, food quality, accomodation and general overall feeling while on vacation.

This resort has a wonderful atmosphere and an "aim to please" attitude of all I have encountered. No negative experiences from anyone I have encountered either at the resort or people that have gone on my recommendations.

Please keep this in mind when reading these negative reviews, which I find are usually posted by those with an axe to grind.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We would like to sincerely thank you for your response to a review we recently got. It is gratifying to know we do have a lot of guests like yourself and all the people you have recommend that have actually enjoyed our facilities and service from our wonderful staff.

We all know that when traveling you are exposed to all kind of viruses and bacteria, not necessarily got inside the resort you are visiting. So, thank you again for your pertinent point of view.

By the way, we appreciate very much your recommendations to your friends and family. That’s the best publicity we can have!

We are looking forward to receive you and your friends once more to your home away from home Canto del Sol. We remain at your service for any further comments, suggestions or requests for your upcoming visit at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

What a great little resort!!! We travelled to Puerto Vallarta, which we love! A great, safe city! I wanted a resort that was all inclusive, close enough that we could walk to the Malecon. The staff was excellent! Everyone was so friendly and attentive. One of the nicest things is that there is no smoking. Only near the stairs down to the ocean. It did not send the smokers far away but kept them away from us suntanning.
A great resort that I will for sure book again!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

Thank you very much for your so nice and appreciative comments! It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was satisfactory. We are also glad you enjoyed the attention of our staff as you enjoyed our beautiful city downtown.

We are looking forward to have you soon back in your home away from home Canto del Sol! We remain at your service for any further comments, questions or requests at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We've traveled trough Hawaii, Florida, Central America, Cancun, Acapulco, Mazatlan, Cabo San Lucas then one year we decided to try Puerto Vallarta. We traded our time share and were given Canto Del Sol as a trade. That is how "we found this hidden jewel". This is a charming resort filled with friendly hosts. We often end up at a major resort where after 11 days you leave and no one ever knew your name. That does not happen here. They take the time to enteract with you and make your stay so comfortable. We travel with our two children and every year when we ask where we want to stay....Canto Del Sol is their answer! They love the buffet that has a delicious rotating menu from Chinese, Italian, seafood, International and of course a Mexican night. We enjoy being seated at the buffet or resturant with a friendly smile from someone who remembers not only your name but what your drink of choice is. The staff gladly tends to your every need with a smile. The staff is the best I've incountered anywhere! Let's talk about the top notch sports & entertainment staff. They put on live dance shows every night I can't stress this enough (a must watch). The pool is the life of most resorts. This pool area has it all leaving you to want nothing more. Kids club for the little ones (our kids love it) Kayaking, guilded walks on the beach, beach & pool volleyball, aqua aerobics. swim up bar. The gentleman who runs the staff named Joshua has kept this as my personal favorite resort. He's been so warm and friendly over the years that it feels like I'm returning to visit my home away from home. Every year we seem to run into others who feel the same. Five of the last seven years we've chosen to return here to our "hidden jewel"

Room Tip: We've arrived and recievied a room facing away from the pool. A simple friendly request for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

Thank you very much for the time you spent in writing us your wonderful comments. We may adopt “Hidden Jewel” as a slogan thank to you!

We are glad you liked the activities program we have for the little ones and for the big ones, these certainly made your vacation memorable.

Our Executive Chef has been improving the quality and taste of the food we provide at all of our restaurants. We like to hear the buffet was extensive and varied for your taste!

We remain at your service for any further comments or suggestions at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you and your family again in your home away from home Canto Del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Happy New Year to All at the Canto.

My wife and I have just returned from another wonderful month at The Canto Del Sol and would like to say thank you to all the people who made it possible, the staff.
We have been coming to the Canto for ten years, twice a year, and still really enjoy the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. Especially people like David Medina and Paulina who always seem to have the right answers whether it be interpretation or just general info. They treat us like royalty.
Our three housekeepers, Betty, Alicia and Lourdes were friendly, efficient and really, really nice. They did a beautiful job decorating our room on our anniversary, Dec 3.
The staff and food in the restaurants, especially in the Italian restaurant, cordial,efficient and delicious.
The bartenders, waiters,(Jorge looks better without his cap), all a pleasure to be around.
If you get the idea that we enjoy being there, we do!

See you in March or April, God willing.

All the best for the New Year

Carol and Ted Driscoll

Room Tip: Avoid the South side. No view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Carol & Ted,

We are very grateful for the time you spent to share your experience at Canto del Sol, it is very satisfactory to know that your stay was enjoyable one more time.

We thank you also for the special mentions of our staff members. With pleasure we will recognize them for the good service they provide, and keeping them motivated.

It was an honor for us that you did spent your anniversary in our hotel and we all hope to welcome you back soon at your home away from home, Canto Del Sol. You can also contact us at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We try to stay at this resort when we are in Puerta Vallarta as it is away from tourists that like the old town nightclub area. This resort has everything you could possible want when you are on vacation. The nightlife is good but ends at midnight so no all night disco sounds to deal with. Restaurants are good but I would suggest eating out in the area with the exception of Blakes restaurant sports bar. I have previously written a review on that place. There are some very good places to eat and bars to visit. I give this resort 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We thank you very much for your kind comments and evaluation; it makes us very happy to know that you had a good time in our resort and the services and facilities did accommodate you.

We are glad you enjoy Puerto Vallarta as we do living in here. This destination offers really all kind of entertainments and culinary experiences!

We remain at your service for any further comments or suggestions at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you again in your home away from home Canto del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My daughter, who just turned thirteen, and I spent a week at the Canto del sol hotel/resort in Puerto Vallarta before the rates jumped for Christmas week. I had been a timeshare owner there for twenty four years but that had expired, so this time we purchased an all-inclusive week. It used to be that the Canto del sol was not all-inclusive, but most guests, even with an option to not do so, go with the all-inclusive. For the best rates, it seems best to consult TripAdvisor and to compare pricing on Orbitz, Expedia,Canto del sol, and other websites. This time, we purchased through Orbitz which had a discount going on.

The taxi from the airport costs 195 pesos or 18 US dollars, and you purchase the voucher or ticket for this at the last windows by the exit doors just before walking outside from the terminal. Taking a return cab from the hotel to the airport costs 80 pesos or approximately 8 US dollars.

We paid in US dollars every time we needed to pay for anything on the trip.

Canto del sol has a very nice pool, a pretty lobby, a buffet restaurant open all day, three on site restaurants: an Italian one, a Mexican one, and a grill. For each two nights of all-inclusive, guests are able to reserve at one of the restaurants. Our preferred one was the Italian, so we went there twice. If you like coffee, you may wish to order the Spanish coffee which is prepared at your table with a lot of flame and fare.

The evening shows are at 8 p.m. outside. Each has a different theme and is presented by the activities staff. These shows usually consist of dancing and lip synching. There is also a BINGO night. Friday night is their Mexican fiesta with and outdoor buffet, games played for play pesos followed by an auction, and then the evening dance program.

The staff at Canto del sol is one of their best assets they have there, as everyone is friendly, likeable, and very willing to assist you. This is probably one of the major reasons that my family and I have continued to return.

The large pool area is the main spot with activities offered throughout the day. The pool bar offers a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, but when ordering for children be sure to say “SIN LICOR” or you may encounter your child making a strange face upon taking a first sip.

The beach area is average for Puerto Vallarta. The hotel has a section of lounge chairs roped off. Vendors are usually on the other side of these ropes selling their wares all day long.

MEGA is one of two different stores that are a sort of Walmart that are in walking distance of he hotel. This one is located about five blocks from the resort and is where one can go for groceries and the like.

The hotel also has a tennis facility formerly known as the John Newcombe Club. There are four outdoor clay courts and four covered hard courts. With the all-inclusive, guests may reserve an hour a day.

Individual tipping is up to the guest, but we left a tip on the bed each day for the cleaning ladies, and a dollar or two on the table each time we ate at the buffet, and more when eating at the restaurants requiring a reservation. We also would give any waiter bringing us beverages from the pool bar at least a dollar before we left.

While conversing with different workers during the week, I found out that the average wage for many of them is equal to 6 US dollars per day. For those dealing directly with hotel guests, any tips were in addition to this. It is a good idea to take along a lot of one-dollar bills for tipping, but it is also considered lucky by many to have a two-dollar bill. So, that may be something to request when going to the bank before travelling to Mexico.

Should you accept the timeshare breakfast invitation? That is a good question. We have done so twice at Canto del sol in recent years, but only because of the incentives. The first time was a few years ago when we were there but did not have the all-inclusive. We were offered massages and 50% off the all-inclusive rate per day. That got us to try the all-inclusive, and the all-inclusive reservation became our preference upon returning a year or two later. This last time my daughter again wanted the free massage so I agreed to listen and to go through the motions.

In the end, though, I caution everyone and advise not to not sign anything there. Taking notes during the presentation is a good idea and helps clarify what is being offered. It would not be a bad idea to ask the salesperson to initial your notes after discussing them once again together. This reconfirms what was promised as part of the purchase and helps avoid misunderstandings. If you are told that this is the only day or time that the offer can be made to you, it is in your best interest to disregard this statement and say that you cannot make the decision on the spot. Leaving without buying is best.

Then, if you are actually interested, you can research the offer on the internet by googling for information concerning any purchase of type you are considering. (The hotel has a computer room for free usage that has two laptops.) Finally, there is supposedly a Mexican law that gives you only five days to rescind any purchase of this kind. That being said, we like Canto del sol and feel comfortable there but prefer not to have any contracts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We thank you so much for your preference of Canto del Sol. We certainly like the very detailed evaluations like the one you posted; they give us the opportunity to improve our service. So, thank you very much for your time you did spend for this review. We are glad your stay was satisfactory and we did fulfill all your expectations about facilities, staff service, activities, shows and culinary experiences.

We do have different time share plans for all type of guest requirements. But indeed, this is not a mandatory presentation; we would never bother any of our guests, therefore these 90 minutes chats with our vendors are optional.

We will forward your pleasant comments about our employees to our so hard working staff; we thank you very much for considering them in your comments.

We remain at your service for any further comments, questions or suggestions at guestserv@cantodelsol.com It will be a pleasure to host you and your family once again in your home away from home Canto Del Sol.

Sincerely,

Paulina Gallardo

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.