We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It may not have been the prettiest hotel on the strip, but the staff were absolutely incredible. I've never been to ANY resort or hotel where every time you walk by they say hello and strike up a conversation. My friend and I ended up adding half of them to facebook before we left! I went with a friend without my kids, but it was incredibly kid friendly. We met couples that loved it as well. You can only smoke in designated areas outside of the resort or on balconies, but even as a smoker I didn't mind. Non-smokers will love it. I think it was well worth the money and I'll come back to this resort again just for the people.

OH And I was in a wheelchair (I broke my foot right before my vacation) and even thought their ramps are a little difficult to get up, I didn't have to do it alone once, someone was always running up to help me out. They even changed my room to one with a large terrace so I could sit out there in my chair at no charge. They're very accommodating. And no one there seemed to tip so they did it out of kindness. I tipped at the very end

Room Tip: If you smoke, make sure you get a room with a balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    543
    260
    120
    71
See reviews for
320
398
47
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Spent2 weeks March 2013. The hotel is in an older area of the strip but we have learned to like the smaller hotels more. The service was amazing. We almost never went to the bar as the chair service was so good. It is the first hotel where we really new most of our wait staff, and loved them all. Anything we ever asked for, hangers etc. was taken care of right away.Very clean and very and well run. The food was very good and we went to all the ala Carte's a few times. The one located across the street was a nice surprise. Try and go in the daylight as the view of the hills made this spot as pretty as you can get.
We do prefer a better beach than PV has to offer, but always enjoy coming here. We did recommend this hotel to my husbands coworker and they were very happy with it. There are so many places to travel we feel no reason to blow the bank on every trip, and this hotel is excellent value.
There were time share owners in large groups by the bar and my only complaint was they handed over their mp3 s to play instead of the nice relaxing Latin music. Sometimes the music just competed and at that point either type would have been better than that. Minor issue, just happened to be an issue where we liked to sit.

Room Tip: Almost everyone we talked to got an outside room with no view at first, then were upgraded the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Canto Del Sol is a wonderful smaller resort right on the beach and it is wonderful! We had 2 weeks of fun in the sun (July 6th to July 20th). The staff was friendly and wanting only to please - everyone was awesome but Ramon in the buffet was the best, always greeted you in the morning with a big smile and remembered how you like your coffee. The room was good and clean, the A/C in our room did not work very well but we did not say anything to staff so it is on us. The food was so good in the buffet and snack bar that we did not even go to the a la carte restaurants except for the the Mexican one once. It is located just a short bus ride or cab ride away from everything. Would definitely stay at Canto Del Sol next trip to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Don't be shy - talk to the front desk if you are not happy with your room - they will gladly mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family had a good vacation from July 16th- July 20th. We had a good time at the Canto del Sol. Overall it was pretty good for the price. We didn't pay alot so you can't expect alot IMO. Middle of the run type of place with good service and food. The biggest complaint was that it was packed, which is no fault of the resort. The pool was super busy with rabid kids. It did start to have a "stench" in the afternoon. It didn't seem to be the cleanest if you know what i mean.

Positives: Good food and service. Always polite and quick. Small resort easy to navigate. Rooms were clean.

Negatives: Lacked the little things. No fridge in the room, had to pay for your own bottled water for your room. (Went next door to buy the water) Beach area was really small. sand was rocky in water. Drink selection was limited. No mojitos, momossas etc.

We received good value for what we paid. If you are looking for a decent spot on a budget this is a viable option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Beach, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spend a wonderful, albeit hot, week in Puerto Vallarta at Canto Del Sol from July 4th 2013 to July 11, 2013. What a fabulous place! The staff was tremendously accomodating and the food was delicious - of course, I love Mexican food so I was happy all of the time. The Italian restaurant was lovely. Yes, the beds are harder than we are used to but we certainly didn't lose any sleep over it. Cudos to Daniel at the bar and Chuy, Fernando and Sergio at the buffet restaurant.

Room Tip: As were were only in our room to sleep or get changed I don't really have an opinion on the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here during June 2013 for one week after staying in Nuevo Vallarta. There are Pros and Cons to this resort. PROS: Friendly staff and good service at the resort. We did not choose the all-inclusive plan. There are many restaurants in the area. The rooms are clean but not fancy. There are fun activities during the day at the pool. Good Water aerobics class. Great location for the sunsets. AND just say "no" to the timeshare presentation.
CONS: The walls are thin, I could hear the couple in the next room very clearly. Food at the outdoor restaurant is average and too salty. The bathroom walls needed paint. The gym was very small and the equipment is old--not state of the art as advertised in the website

Room Tip: The oceanview rooms offer a great view of the ocean and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, General Manager Assistant at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

Thank you for your comments and evaluation.

Thank you very much for your opinion which is very helpful to improve continuously our services and product.

We are very pleased about receiving your positive comments about our staff ant their attention, regarding the cons that you experienced, it is a pleasure to inform you we did work very seriously on these areas, for example we did already provide our gym with new exercise machines. We also are creating renovated menus offering more variety and delighting our guests with delicious flavors.

We are very well prepared and are with excitement looking forward to welcome you soon again here at Canto del Sol, your home away from home.

Please feel free to contact us any time at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely yours

The General Manager Assistant on behalf of the Canto Del Sol Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel was just average. We just returned from a seven night stay at this hotel and we did enjoy ourselves. However the accomodations and food were both average. Not a good beach for anything other than maybe kayaking. Service was great but we were pressured to do timeshare presentation which we did and which reduced our all inclusive fee in half. If I would have paid full price for the all inclusive fees I would have been extremely disappointed. I would not stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, General Manager Assistant at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

Appreciating your comments and evaluation, please let me inform you that we are making already with our Chef significant adjustments in variety and quality of our menus, as here at Canto Del Sol having happy and satisfied guests is the most important recognition for us.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as you deserve, nevertheless we follow up seriously the points you mentioned us, unfortunately the appearance of beach depends of the actual weather conditions, today for example it had been wonderful….

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you soon again here at Canto Del Sol, your home away from home.

Please feel free to contact us any time at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely yours

The General Manager Assistant on behalf of the Canto Del Sol Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.