We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in the sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My Husband and I stay at the Canto all the time ...The grounds are clean the rooms are clean..
We find all the staff very friendly and helpful...The food is decent, there is something there to eat for everyone..You can get omelets made they way you like for breakfast , bacon , pancakes
and much more on the buffet...The Canto is close to down town you can take a bus for next to nothing or you can take a cab which is cheap 50 peso..If you want a smaller Hotel and close to the beach and to town I would recommend this Hotel .We have met allot of nice repeat people at the Canto

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    533
    254
    116
    70
See reviews for
306
385
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a relaxing week at the Canto Del Sol in Puerto Vallarta. We decided on a last minute trip to get away from the the very winter conditions at home and the price was right to Puerto Vallarta. I must admit, Puerto Vallarta has never been a place we would choose to visit as we prefer the Caribbean but, we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly atmosphere of P.V.
The Canto Del Sol is a small, pretty, somewhat older resort not far from downtown P.V. The room was adequate and kept very clean. The only complaint I would have about the room would be the size of the balcony, it was extremely small, barely enough room for 2 plastic lawn chairs but, we had a lovely view...
There is only 1 buffet, the food was fresh and you could always find something to eat. The staff in the buffet were amazing, friendly, efficient and eager to please, especially Alexander!
There are 2 a la carte restaurants both of which we tried. The Mexican Hacienda was terrific, the food was awesome as well as the service. The food presentation was lovely! The Italian restaurant was also good but not as nice as the Mexican, the service was excellent though.
The bar staff at the pool bar were terrific! The bartenders will make you anything you want. The waiters take your order poolside or on the beach which was a nice change from having to wait in line for your beverages. Pedro and Juan were especially good as well as Arturro who is no spring chicken!
The nightly entertainment was ok., very similar to other resorts but the older folks really enjoyed it. It would have been nice to have a musician or 2 at the pool bar in the evenings...
You could always find somewhere to sit either on the beach or poolside, most of the time we chose to sit on the beach where we could enjoy watching the beach vendors and the locals.
All in all, this was a nice holiday and great value for your money and better service than many 5 star resorts we have been to. If you don't plan on leaving your resort this one isn't for you as there is not much to do. If you want to lounge around some days and be close to town this resort is about a 10 minute cab ride or you can walk and take in the feel of the town on the way.
Thank you Canto Del Sol for a great vacation!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room poolside if you want a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at canto del sol from apr7-14 with friends. Very clean resort. Very friendly staff. Great location to down town, malecon and 5 min drive to Walmart all for 50 pesos. Food was decent but was better to eat in places along the malecon. Highly recommend Canadian pirate ship night, rhythms of the night. Clubs in puerto Vallarta were amazing, be sure to go with the activities people, they know the good ones. Good bang for your buck would highly recommend to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I would like to start of with saying how wonderful of a trip this was because being the first actual trip out of Canada, it was such an awesome experience. The food was excellent, the people were friendly and everything went awesome for the most part. You can choose from the buffet and have plenty of different food, like a variety or you can choose from the snack place and have a snack or go to the bar and have a drink while having a snack. You can choose from the choices of Mexican or Italian dining, being very tasteful and elegant so it was nice. The shows every night were amazing and I think I was happy being there. The choices of activities were great having things to do while being there for a period of time and that it keeps people excited and wanting to come back for more. I feel that it was too great of an experience that anymore words cannot say or express but for me to say thank you and it was a great time for me.

I would like to include that when going on the "sea safari" the guide named Poncho was a terrific person, awesome enthusiasm and was good at showing people what plants or whats great to hear regardless of what it was. I mean overall the entire thing was awesome and it was something I would look forward the next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We appreciate all your comments and your evaluation.

We are really happy that you decided to be our guest on your first trip to Mexico in our hotel Canto Del Sol. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. With all your references we hope having you again like a repetitive client that will be our best compensation.

Hopefully having you again here at you home away from home, Canto Del Sol

Please feel free to contact us any time at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely yours

The Assistant to the General Manager on behalf of the Canto Del Sol Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed the week of April 7-14th. The staff at the resort were all great and very helpful. The food was fine and the drinks were really good not watered down like you will find at some resorts. The location of the resort is good with buses nearby, cab fare anywhere in P.V. Was 50 pesos. I would stay here again for the price or recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Public Relations Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We really appreciate all your comments and your evaluation.

Thank you so much for sharing your recent vacation experience, we are proud to know that our guests really enjoy their stay with us.

Thank you for the comments about our high standards of quality in food and drinks, as we work hard to delight all our guests.

We are gratefully that you recommend our hotel, it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you and your friends again here in your home away from home, Canto Del Sol

Please feel free to contact us any time at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely yours

The Assistant of the General Manager on behalf of the Canto Del Sol Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fiirst time at this resort for 10 days from March 26th. First room very smelly with musty moldy smell, refused to sleep there. Second room not so bad but still smelled. No fridge or tea/coffee maker in room. Bottled water in room but cost $6.00....Housekeeping left a lot to be desired. Issues every day with staff, food, drinks, noise was very bad, only made it in the pool one time, way too many peopel pushing a shoving....beach very crowded...no quiet or peaceful time at all. Lots of noise at night, banging doors, people shouting. The music was incredibly loud all day.
Beds quite hard...Pressure tactics for time shares, then when you don't go along with what they want their whole attitude changes. Very disappointing, we will not return.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms smell bad. Don't pick a room that looks out on the pool, too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, General Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Highly Valued Guest of Canto Del Sol,

We thank you for your comments and are very sorry you could not enjoy your stay at our hotel as expected and as you deserve.

We constantly are training our staff to ensure high level attention and service standards, nevertheless comments like yours are helping us to identify areas of opportunities for improvement. Unfortunately we had no record of any issue with your experience at our resort to follow up and attend them during your stay, although our guest service agents and assistant managers are always on site contacting and attending our clients to ensure an immediate correction if any issue is mentioned or anything requested by the guest.

Most of the resorts here are getting crowded during Easter week, and fortunately so did we during this period of highest demand with many repetitive clients, most of them highly satisfied with our product and value. Our guests in general enjoy our resort because of the quality of product and service, and also our recently renovated rooms, which are very well and modern equipped, although not so very completely like in a 5 diamond resort. Nevertheless most of our clients are highly satisfied for receiving an excellent and in the most cases higher than expected value for what they spend. We apologize if you had not that relaxing quiet atmosphere, but if you would come back to stay with us we will ensure you a relaxing and comfortable stay, regardless if in high or low season.

We apologize once again for not fulfilling your expectations and would appreciate receive more informative comments from you, we will be very well prepared for a future visit we hopefully might receive from you, please feel free to contact us at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely Yours

The General Manager on behalf of the Canto Del Sol Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

we stayed a few nights at the Canto del Sol just after Easter. It was one of the cheaper resorts that was offered, so we knew it wouldn't be high standard. The hotel itself was quite nice. The rooms were basic, but very clean. There's no fridge in the room and the bottles of water cost $1.30 each, which is ridiculous for a warm bottle of water!

The beach is very narrow, but the good thing about it is that most people prefer to hang around the pool, so it's not hard to find a beach chair. The pool was nice, but it would be nicer if there was a bit of deeper area.

We ate once at the Mexican restaurant, which was good and once at the Italian restaurant, which wasn't great.

The best thing about the place is the staff, they're very friendly and work really hard. Not only the people in the restaurant, but also the entertainment staff. Although the night shows were a bit lame, the boys and girls were pretty talented.

Also, the location of the hotel is good: lots of shopping just outside the place and a few banks. Only a short cab ride to either the marina or downtown PV.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, General Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest of Canto Del Sol,

First of all we would like to thank you for staying at “Canto Del Sol”, also for sharing your recent vacation experience, we really appreciate your comments.
Beside celebrating the good ones, we would like to confirm having followed up already on our areas of opportunity of improvement, comments like yours are helping us continuously to improve our product and procedures, and on the other side to be motivated about our achievements and their recognition from our highly valued guests.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you and your friends soon back to serve you at your home away from home, Canto Del Sol

Please feel free to contact us any time at guestserv@cantodelsol.com

Sincerely yours

The General Manager on behalf of the Canto Del Sol Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Int. 10 Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, right on Banderas Bay, breathtaking sunsets draw visitors and locals alike to the evening display. Canto del Sol’s colonial-style resort offers guests outstanding value, with an extensive All-Inclusive Program that features: a championship Tennis Club with four outdoor clay courts and four covered Laykol courts; windsurfing; water polo; tequila volleyball; and dance lessons. Guests can choose a vacation as active or as relaxed as they like.The sparkling turquoise water of Mexico’s Pacific Riviera caresses the beachfront of CANTO DEL SOL PLAZA VALLARTA. This perfect vacation resort offers an atmosphere of Fun, Tradition and Tranquility, where guests have everything for their wonderful Puerto Vallarta holiday. Escape from the ordinary, and discover this magnificent oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.