We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Club Punta Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Club Punta Arena to your Saves list
Costa Club Punta Arena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio No. 1737 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our first trip just the two of us. Normally we go with a few couples or large group. WHen we got to the Resort the reception was great. Everything was very clean and friendly. We had a King size bed and overlooked the pool. which was great with us.
The grounds were very beautiful and well maintained. The food was great and the employees were very friendly. Could not of asked for better.
The only downfall was we felt that the children had the run of the 2 pools. It was advertised as one adlut one family but the kids took over everything.
For the price we had a great time and would go back.

Room Tip: Over look pool and have a balcony. Ours was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    99
    91
    52
    63
See reviews for
114
86
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Looks not too bad in the picture of the "only" renovated room they have. Beware!!! We stayed one night and then we got the heck outta there! Up seven flights of stairs to the room (No elevator on site) then into the dirty room......NO FRIDGE? We are in Mexico for crying out loud...no fridge? OK so hopefully you wont need to have a cool water or beverage while its +30 day and night. Run from here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valleyview, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My daughter and I just got back from our week stay at the Costa Club and would definitely go back. It was my second stay and I enjoyed it as much this time as the last. It's an older and simpler resort, very central to everything we wanted to do. The meals were good. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. The staff is very good. The same staff was there from the year previous and many of them remembered us. Most of the people staying are either Canadian or Mexican, so it suited us well. Many of the Canadians we met have been coming there for many years and have tried more expensive resorts and come back to the Costa Club. Both Puerto Vallarta and the Costa Club come highly rated as far as I'm concerned.

Room Tip: If you like a view ask for a top floor. If you don't like climbing stairs ask for the lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, CANADA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is our third visit to this hotel in the last 4 years with our family. When we ask the kids where they want to go they say "PV and we want to stay at Costa Club". Not because it is a fancy resort. But because the staff treat you so well. Tino is the manager for the restaurant and the staff. He does his job extremely well and his staff are all so friendly and will make sure your visit is pleasant. The food at this hotel has improved greatly. You can enjoy the a la carte as often as you like. It switches from Italian to Mexican every other day but is closed on Sundays. We stayed in tower 17 which has 2 bedrooms and works great for a family of 5. We have made great friends at this hotel which we see every time we go back from all over North America. We have also made some great friendships with the people who work at this hotel and to the vendors on the beach. Ask for Juan if you are looking for silver and if you need braids ask for Sophia. If you want to go to a place where people will remember you year after year to give you lasting memories. Then book this hotel. The staff really work hard to accommodate your stay. Attached are some photos of some special extras that we were able to enjoy at this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The pictures on the website do not match the actual resort. There is no highspeed internet as advertised, barely any wifi signal at at.
There were hornets everywhere that there was drinks. The food tasted strange and was basically slop. There were cockroaches near the pool facilities located near the main kitchen. The mortar on the cobblestones made walking a hazard. The beach was full of washed up garbage and was unappealing. Spend your money somewhere else, its your vacation, there is better out there. We stayed 2 days out of our week long trip and were disgusted. We felt trapped and abandoned by Sunwing until we relocated to the Fiesta Americana. Difference was like night and day.
Costa Club is tired and rundown, old and not worth spending your vacation dollars at. I would get more specific and list more details like the weird smells, outdated AC, TVs, furniture if I were to write an essay. Do yourself and your family a favor and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We come here every year....this was year seven.

This hotel is a hidden gem in my opinion. It has a great location, just minutes from the bus, a Mega store, and a fifteen minute walk to the Malecon. It has two small swimming pools, and two restaurants and a snack bar. The Forum is the main restaurant offering three meals every day, and each meal is delicious. The other restaurant offers Mexican and Italian nights for which the food is well presented and very good. The hotel and its rooms are adequate and clean. There is an abandoned hotel nearby which is now just a part of the scenery, and there are iguanas and egrets in the canal. The beach is nice, but swimming isn't a good idea as the beach is usually under a red flag warning. The main reason we return, however, is the staff who provide excellent service, and the people we meet down here the same time every year. Would we find a better hotel - probably; would we feel as comfortable and welcome there - probably not. This hotel is a keeper.

Laurie Neuman
Victoria, BC

Room Tip: Towers 17 and 19 contain two bedroom suites - there are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The cab stopped at the Costa Club and we were greeted by Nicholas , the bell boy , such a warm smile and welcome .
We went to the front desk and everything was ready for us , just signed our name and got our room safe key. Just took a few minutes.
This hotel is not a big hotel , small enough to meet people .We have stayed at this hotel for many years , always come back , along with numerous other couples . Same place same time.
We have a suite and our maid is just fantastic .Have no complaints.
Hotel is approx . 2 minute walk from the hotel . The ocean is usually red flagged and the under current to strong to swim , but there are other places to swim.
The hotel consists of the Forum ,a large dining room , they serve Breakfast ,lunch , supper . After supper they have different shows each night , they are put on by the activity personal .
During the day they are around the pool doing different activities .
The hotel has fine dining , one is called Mexican night , the food is terrific and the menu has something for everyone ,it is on Mon , Wed and Friday.
On Tues , Thurs and Saturday they Italian night . Great food .
There is also a snack bar which consists of the hamburger , hot dogs etc .
The bar around the pool is open until 10 pm , then there is a bar by the office that is open from 8 to 11 pm . This way it keeps any noise away from the guests wanting to sleep .
Rating for the hotel is low , mainly because there is an old building in need of taking down , but after awhile I don t even notice it .
This hotel reminds me that it is more on the Mexican style . But oh so friendly .
We have stayed at other hotels but this is the one I love the best.
Donna Slashinsky

Room Tip: Rooms in tower 12 and 14 have all been re done .They are closer to the pool area . We prefer tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Club Punta Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Club Punta Arena

Address: Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio No. 1737 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Costa Club Punta Arena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
207 Rooms, including 40 two bedroom suites and 167 estandar romos, 2 swimming pools and kid's pool, two restaurants, two bars, one snack bar and ample parking lot. All romos are equipped with electronic lock and safety deposit box. Kid's club, the perfect place for the Little ones so they can enjoy games, contests, artcrafts, mini - cinema, spanish lessons and plenty of entertainment. Lighthouse Costa Club, the ideal place to enjoy the panoramic view of Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Club Punta Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Club Punta Arena Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Hotel Punta Arena
Costa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Costa Club Punta Arena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Club Punta Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.