We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Club Punta Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Club Punta Arena to your Saves list
Costa Club Punta Arena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio No. 1737 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Yellowknife, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice vacation for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Room: When I first arrived at the resort, I was pleasantly surprised. It is a small, simple property, nestled between 2 empty resorts, one abandoned and one being torn down. The noise of the construction was a bit annoying during the day. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and it was clean, simple, and well appointed. Our ground floor unit 1902 was perfect for us as our daughter napped during the day, but we got bright afternoon sun on our patio, and our baby monitor reached to the snack bar.

Drinks: The drinks were again simple, but totally fine. 2 types of beer, tequila and rum based drinks. Mario is an excellent bartender and would deliver drinks to our patio during nap time!

Food: GOOD> first I should say that the clientele for this resort was almost entirely middle-class Mexican families. We were among the only white English-speaking guests. The best part of this is that their buffet was an excellent reflection of authentic Mexican cuisine! I can honestly say it was some of the best food we've had a resort. The buffet was somewhat small, but delicious and frequently changed. The highlights were the soups, fresh fish, frijoles, and there was usually something being made by a chef on the spot. NOT GOOD > I wish there was fresh juice available. Except for the watermelon agua fresca, all of the juice was sugary artificial junk. We would often walk down the street for fresh juice from a stand close to downtown. The snack bar was some of the worst food I've ever had. Weird processed cheese, hotdogs, chicken nuggets, and fried hamburgers, and fries, were greasy and disgusting. However it was always crowded so some people must like it. It needed some of the fresh delicious Mexican food that made its buffet so nice. However at night the snack bar served quesadillas and tacos on fresh tortillas which were excellent. Why not more of that during the day?

Beach: the resort is beach front and has a lovely clean and sandy place to wander and play. The surf is extremely rough and not suitable for swimming past mid-thigh depth. Not child friendly at all, but many enjoyed splashing and jumping the waves.

Proximity: This resort is very close to downtown and it took us about 15 minutes to get to the beginning of the boardwalk. Every morning we wandered the length of the boardwalk with our stroller and it took us about an hour to get to the end, and we were happiest if we could make it back before 10:30am when the day got hot. We went out one night for a walk and drinks and could see how anyone out for a partying vacation would have a great time in Puerto Vallarta. I also like how there is a Mega store next door, so were able to buy unexpected things like Tylenol and fresh fruit for snacks.

Overall: We travelled here with Sunwing Vacations as a last minute deal for extremely cheap. While it doesn't compare to some of the luxurious resorts we have stayed at, it was a nice vacation especially for the price. We don't like to stay at the same place twice, but I would definitely recommend it to families look for a fun, relaxing vacation on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    99
    91
    52
    63
See reviews for
114
86
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just came back from a 2 week stay march 3 to 17 and i was at first concerned about staying here as was my future son in law and daughter who live in puerto vallarta BUT we were more than pleasantly surprised we loved it !!! We really enjoyed seeing all the mexican people than came on weekends i mean after all we are in mexico........ i found the food great and it changed often we did not get to eat supper there as we were out with the kids at night but this hotel was clean not fancy and people were always fixing ,painting,cleaning......THERE IS NO TIMESHARE PEOPLE at this hotel they do have a tour desk but it is NOT affilliated with timeshare ..... it was very quiet by 10:30pm, the bar at the front across from the reception stayed open till 10:30pm the beach bar closes at 6pm and the pool bar at 10pm.I want to thank ISEBEL (bartender) JOSE(bartender) Mario (bartender)Nestor(bartender) Wendy(waitress dining) Edwaurdo (bellman) sry for the misspell of your name and all the front end staff especially the young man that wore a purple shirt and glasses who's name im afraid i forgot and a security guard out front who was very helpful who's name i also forgot i again THANK-YOU because you all had a hand in making our stay so very wonderful in one way or another ...... we will be back again to see you all till then Michael and Sheila Sears say adios!!

Room Tip: wi-fi was not very good in the rooms on deck was better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my first time in Mexico and the staff really made me feel safe. They were all super friendly and put a smile on your face everyday. The food was great! I love nachos and got to eat them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner... everyday!!!

The room was a bit rustic, old fashioned but for the amount of time that I spent in the room, it was perfect. A rooster woke me up each morning between 5 and 6am and I sat on the balcony and watched the staff do their work.

There was no pressure as far as timeshares, the hotel had great deals on excursions (1/2 off), the beach was beautiful (not too big), the pools were clean, the dining hall had nightly entertainment suitable for all ages, the meal hours were very convenient.

I had a great time at this resort and would strongly recommend it to anyone else who wants something on the cheaper side and who is happy with 3 star accommodations (and sometimes food) but 5 star service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is not listed as a 5 star because of the following......Only one a la carte restaurant open only three nights a week. (Tues, Thurs., and Sat.). Only one bar open till 10:pm daily with limited booze selection. One Buffet with a modest selection and little variety. The resort is sandwiched between a couple of half built or half torn down monster hotels. The rooms are very old and tired looking. The reasons you should visit here are however many. This is terrific value for your dollar. The limited food is very good as was the service. The tired rooms are kept very clean. The resort pools, grounds, etc. are well groomed and clean. The staff is extremely friendly and out-of-their way helpful. My wife and I travel one week per year and generally speaking stick to the four or so star resorts. We did not get that here nor did we expect it so our vacation here was a welcome stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you are looking for inexpensive, clean, safe place, this hotel deliver. Do not expect 5stars, this place is advertised as 2.5 stars, bed is hard, food OK but not a huge variety. Beach is most of the time not swimmable, big waves but not fare a way to right (north) is much better beach with small waves. Pool is nice and clean, free WIFI, drinks OK, noisier over weekend when Mexican families with kids get there but no big deal. Iguanas are everywhere around the creak behind the hotel, nice to watch them, something different, they are harmless. Stay away from the desk opposite reception desk, they are connected to time shares sale and will offer you free trips if you attend the time share presentation. Time shares in Mexico is overprized scam, check internet before you go to Mexico, otherwise you are screwed if you buy. Nice walk from hotel to downtown, we did it as exercise, downtown is nice. If you would like to buy something, stay away from main tourist area and go to side streets, much cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

my boyfriend and i spent 2 weeks at this hotel only a week ago. we absoloutely loved it!!! the service was great..the hotel itself was wonderful very clean great rooms. the food was good you may get tired of it after a week..but for the price you can go out to eat anywhere!!! instead of spending more money on a hotel that we didnt spend much time in. so for a 2 or so star hotel i was extremely impressed!!!! i have been to cancun, mazatlan and puerto vallata before and would stay at this hotel again and again!!! we met great people and had a great experience..thanks costa club!!!! and yes the beach is very close just of the snack bar!! all was wonderful!!!!

winnipeg manitoba

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Me my husband and 2 kids 18&16 booked and flew(Sunwing) From Edmonton to Puerto Vallarta paid 3800.00 all inclusive at this resort. This is our second time at this resort. The Staff are very friendly and the stay is clean and close to the beach and old Vallarta. We will stay here again as it is reasonable and nice stay. If you are used to a 5 star this is not the place for you, as you can hear noises outside, which isnt bad, most nights everything is wound down by 10 pm. There is a bus stop kitty corner to the hotel which will take you anywhere for 7 pesos, If you take it to the main central downtown Vallarta you can connect to another and it will take you down to Mismaloya(there is zoo there too) or Boca and they are great day trips, Boca is at the end of the coast and there are water taxis there that you can take to a little village called Yelapa, it is a great day trip. The water Taxis cost 120 pesos round trip per person.. You can do the Tours, but way cheaper to do it yourself and not stuck there all day with the tour (:

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Club Punta Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Club Punta Arena

Address: Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio No. 1737 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Costa Club Punta Arena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
207 Rooms, including 40 two bedroom suites and 167 estandar romos, 2 swimming pools and kid's pool, two restaurants, two bars, one snack bar and ample parking lot. All romos are equipped with electronic lock and safety deposit box. Kid's club, the perfect place for the Little ones so they can enjoy games, contests, artcrafts, mini - cinema, spanish lessons and plenty of entertainment. Lighthouse Costa Club, the ideal place to enjoy the panoramic view of Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Club Punta Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Club Punta Arena Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Hotel Punta Arena
Costa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Costa Club Punta Arena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Club Punta Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.