We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the vista?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Vallarta Club de Golf

Vista Vallarta Club de Golf
653 Circuito Universidad | Colonia San Nicolas, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
52 332 290 0030
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Vista Vallarta Club de Golf like an insider
$142*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Where is the vista?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I am visiting during Christmas from the Great Northwest (Seattle) . i say this because perhaps i have become jaded when it comes to views. In Washington nothing is completely flat. We have snow-capped mountains and water views everywhere. Green is everywhere. Okay that is out of the way.
i booked a great rate of $85 on Golfnow. im staying at the Grand Venetian located a mile south of the Cruise Ship terminal and got a taxi for 200 pesos. the driver was asking 240. on the way the driver wanted to stop at a OXXO convenience store for a coca cola. no problem since i needed a little agua for the round. Feeling good karma offered to pick up the driver's coca cola.
the drive is about 20 minutes thru a very different part of the town. I was struck by the conditions the locals live in. i imagined this is what Syria looked like after the regime's bombing attack. Rocky dirt streets the norm, crumbling buildings and dust everywhere. I guessed there is no infrastructure to take care of what our taxes buy. Next time when you find yourself thinking you pay to much in tax visualize Los Mojoneras!
arrived at the golf course to a nice Spanish themed clubhouse. My bags were hoisted out of the cab by a gentleman who told me they would be placed on a cart around back.
checking in was not a problem. Fyi bring your confirmation or email on your phone just in case. I didn't but they found me anyway.
Headed out to the range. Ahh real grass to hit off of. A little adjustment from field turf but not bad since bermuda is spongy and divots aren't heavy.
Decided to play the whites since the gold and blue were rated at 136 and i'm on vacation.
First hole slight dog right i can see the hole. Par after that lotsa tee shots where you can see landing areas but know flag. Bring a laser finder for yardage. Hazards that cross the fairways on many holes. Hit away from the bunkers. Like the greenside bunkers at Snoqualmie TPC deep 5 ft. plus. Bermuda greens that roll very slow. Never quite adjusted and three jacked half a dozen. I brought a camera and photographed the holes but kept waiting for a vista view which never came. In retrospect this course is a 3.5 out of 5. Try to get a discount or if money doesn't matter pay the 165 but not worth that imho.
Hope this helps.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    12
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I played the Nicklaus course recently after arriving on a cruise ship. The taxi fare from the ship dock to the course was $30 at November 2012.

The club is well kept. The practice facilities are quite good, with a driving range and the standard putting greens.

Fairways are well mowed, well seeded and more than adequate, and the greens are very good. The service is golf-course normal, with the usual bag boys. You will not need a forecaddie on this course--it is, as has been pointed out in other reviews, well marked and appropriate.

My playing partner decided at the last moment he wanted to play. Instead of a discount price (I had shopped on line), he paid "rack," which was $200. He also needed shoes. To buy them was $210. He demurred. He also needed clubs--$60 for a barely adequate set of rental clubs. He needed balls. A dozen lake balls cost him $26 in a plastic bag. Unfortunately, he hit a lot of shots to unfindable locations and needed more balls. The food cart lady called in his request and an attendant brought him more balls. Interestingly, that set of a dozen balls was $16.

Ultimately, one of the club boys loaned him a pair of shoes.

I enjoyed this course a lot, and would suggest that you shop one of the on-line services before getting to PV. The savings were about a quarter of the price of the golf. The course, by the way, was quite flexible regarding what time we arrived--they accommodated our needs well.

All in all, this is a good course, well maintained and a joy to play.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I played the Jack Nicklaus course and loved it. Greens and fairways were in great shape, challenging but not impossible design and incredible scenery with mountains in the background of almost every hole.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Tom W. course is better than Jack's.
Beer is more expensive than others in Mexico
Don't need a caddy, very well marked.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Love the Nicklaus course... Beautiful views too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

On this trip I got to play both courses and if you can only play one, Nicklaus should be your choice.

Staff is great! Very relaxed! Always cart girls around on the course if you need a drink...

One of the best courses in Puerto Vallarta! Very well-manicured and maintained course... We had free golf and just had to pay cart fees ($50). Plan for a 30-40 min cab ride up to the mountains, very rural...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Vallarta Club de Golf also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Vista Vallarta Club de Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Vallarta Club de Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.