We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great empanadas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Autentica Argentina

La Autentica Argentina
333 Ignacio L Vallarta | Betw Basilo Badillo & V Carranza, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
3221782925
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great empanadas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went on an empanada quest in Puerto Vallarta and found La Autentica Argentina. Not only do they have more variations than you can count, but every one we tried was tasty. A great sauce compliments and completes an empanada and their chimichurri and hot pepper sauces were fantastic. Yarita Bakery just around the corner also sells good basic empanadas, but you'll have to warm them up if want them hot.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Argentinian delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Puerto Vallarta offers many culinary delights. Having spend much time in this town I have come across a new Gem. The owner informed me that this Argentinian Empanadas Resto Bar had been established for a year now and I dared to check it out for lunch with 3 other friends.
The staff speaks English very well making it easy to discuss the bi-lingual menu.
We ordered various dishes and had been positively surprised. The Empanadas are freshly made. The menu offers various combinations for fillings but the restaurant is not shying away of custom fillings, accommodating even the pickiest eaters with a filling that will suit anyone.
The sandwiches are more like half of a broad baguette, absolutely fresh, with lettuce, veggies and again with various Delicious suggested toppings on the menu that can be flexed to your taste.
I myself had to test the Steak meal, after all it is an Argentinian Restaurant, a nation that produces one of the better cuts of steaks in the world, and I have not been disappointed.
The 10 oz (300g) steak had been grilled to perfection, nicely seared outside, juicy inside and for a chance my ordered medium-rare was perfect. I opted for their hand made fries, none of this frozen stuff you often get in restaurants and it came with a delightful salad that too had been far from the ordinary salads offered most, containing fresh indigence like sun ripe tomato's, strands of carrots and sliced strawberry's next to others. The Dressing was a house made vinaigrette, tangy and rich in fresh herbs and of course a hot sauce I had to count as one of the best I tasted, and I had my share of those over the years.
The full lunch meal, suitable and filling for dinner as well had cost me 150 peso (under 12 dollars) and had been the most expensive on the menu. I highly recommend this restaurant.
You will find this gem in Zona Romantica, on Ignacio Vallarta ( just off Basillio Badillo) and is open daily from 1 to 11 PM. For more information call them at 322-178-2925 or find on facebook: La Autentica Argentina

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Small but friendly place, fantastic food. Argentinian empenadas that are to die for, but great steaks and such as well. Decent wine list and reasonable prices. A little bit noisy as it's located on a bus route, but worth going to regardless.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Empanadas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was walking by this place in PV one evening, and decided to give it a go since I was looking for some take-out food. I ordered 6 empanadas to go, and they were all quite large, definitely good value for money. FYI, they are the deep fried ones, not baked. I lived in Argentina for a few months so I get a craving for empanadas once in a while, and good ones are certainly hard to find when I'm home in Canada.

If you're looking for something non-Mexican, but tasty and cheap, give these empanadas a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great food, good price, owner was very nice. Should go to another street if he wants to have more business. Buses run by contaminating and making noise

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Autentica Argentina also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Autentica Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Autentica Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.