We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can honestly recoomend this one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I can honestly recoomend this one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Friendly, efficient and accommodating staff - even tried to fix my tablet charger when a prong malfunctioned. Great to have a beach with a bit of length on which to walk. Indoor lagoon was a very creative piece of planning. Restaurant food was excellent and not pricey compared to marina restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    200
    90
    37
    52
See reviews for
140
186
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I read some of the other reviews that were just OK so I wanted to voice my opinion of our stay. It has been several years since we have stayed at this Mayan location. We were in the lobby building on the 4th floor facing the marina. Watching the sun rise over the mountains every morning was beautiful. Our room was completely redone. Gone was the yellow/green furniture replace by lovely blue and browns. The bed was wonderful and was a pillow top, gone was the rock hard bed which is very common at the Mayan Palace. The staff was wonderful, we were asked only once to attend a homeowners meeting which we said no to and we were never bothered again. We found that it was mostly an older crowd at the hotel and the pool was always empty and very quiet. This bothered me because I love to hear people having fun during the day. The staff at the pool would also not run a tab...why I don't know since everything is billed to your room. They also do not add the tip like other Mayan locations. It got to be a pain to have to sign and add a tip every time you ordered something. The store on the property had very little to offer unlike other locations so you had to go shopping off site for most items. But after being there it was understandable because it seemed like almost everyone there ate out for every meal. There was no beach to walk on which I was not happy with. The wireless which they charge way too much for did not work at all. We had to keep calling and finally just requested a credit and they did not want to give us one, it was a fight to get money back. Would I stay there again.....no. Not because I was unhappy but because like I said before I like to hear people having a good time. I like to be around all age groups. I like to have a beach to walk on and I like to have a bill run at the pool. I guess this would be the ideal place if you just wanted to veg and stay to yourself.....it just is not for me.

Room Tip: If staying there request a room in the lobby building they have all been redone and the other buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

They will not show much respect for you if you are not an owner .... overcharging ---poor room location---- front desk rude We went on a program that was a much reduced price for the room.2 week 2 rooms each week and the rooms were over the kitchen or parking . did not sign up for the promotion so they did not want us there...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear IndianaEsteban :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta.
We generally receive very favorable comments about our staff and the service they provide; unfortunately in this instance, it would appear that is not the case.

All your feedback will be shared with the appropriate areas and we will continue working towards exceeding all our guests’ expectations.

With all good wishes,
Mayan Palace Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were to be met by Miller Transportation Service( MTS) at the airport in order to avoid those nasty time share salesmen(TSS). We followed the directions provided before arrival by the Mayan Palace(MP) concierge to find the freindly MTS rep. However we were hijacked and spent an hour with an "overly" freindly TSS( Angel) who insisted he was with MTS before we finally broke free and headed to the MP.

The lesson for the MP concierge would be better directions are needed and perhaps MTS could go further into the airport and intercept all those TSS. That is is they really want them to be intercepted as it may be that the sale of timeshares is Puerto Vallarta's largest industry.

Upon arrival at the MP we were booked for an "upgrade session" with the MP Nuevo Vallarta TSS. We ultimately advised that we were not interested in upgrading. It just took them a couple of days to figure out that "no" actually means "no" and we did not have to attend this session.

The location by the marina restaurants was terrific. Two of the best are the mexican restauarant ( bashas?) and Argentinian staek house. It was also easy to get downtown or to Bucerias by public transit. Even a taxi downtown or back isn't much ( 80 peso's). We even walked one day about ten KM to downtown.

However the rules( noise kept to a minimum, resepct for other, etc) for the MP guests or owners (time share that is) which we were provided a copy of of upon arrival were not really well respected. The kids were there. I mean big kids. Kids who drink all night long. Kids who wear tshirts that say: Penn, USC, Michigan. These kids didn't know you were supposed to be quiet at night and I am not talking 10PM. I am talking 2AM, 3 AM , 4AM etc. It was extremely noisy. When we spoke to the friendly front desk staff regarding our concerns including lack of sleep first during the night and then when we tried to catch up during the day we were advised well the noisy ones were only there till Satarday and if we wanted they could move us to another floor. They advised they had tried to talk to them but they wouldn't listen.

Who is in charge the hotel or the spring breakers. This caused significant angst for us. Was there any security? We have traveled to Mexico the last 4 years; but this location of the MP was the least secure facility we have found. We know they had secuirty staff as we ran into 3 of them chatting in the garden between the pools and the beach one evening at about 11PM. They probably felt safer working in a group or maybe they were just on a coffee break; but tgey obviuosly were not doing their job.

The front desk may be friendly but they were not not well trained nor did they know what to do about complaints, bill paying, check out procedures, etc. It was not a good experince.

Drinks at the bar were terribly overpriced as was the food at the restaurrant. The rooms were clean, but dated. In respect of the decor etc this is small issue as you don't go on holidays to a warm spot to spend time in your room.

All in all we will not stay at the MP Marina Vallarta again unless there are some significant improvements in staff and security training.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear russell l :

Thank you very much for submitting your review of your stay at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta.

Typically our staff´s services are highly praised; unfortunately in this instance, it would appear that is not the case. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and this is very useful to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back and make your next stay memorable.

With all good wishes,
Mayan Palace Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited the mayan to use up some RCI points.We stayed ion Neuvo last time so thoughtb we would give pv a try.
Check in was fine except we arrived at 1pm and didn't get a room till 4pm.Signed up for a timeshare update and received 50% off on massages and tours as well as 10% off room bill, and a breakfast for 4 people.Taxi there and back. Would of ground them for more but had to see Grand mayan about a time share issue and this was the quickest way to achieve my needs.
two bedroom was fine,clean and well stocked. All we really ned is a coffee pot and fridge so the rest was a bonus. Can't really sit on the balconies so this was an issue but oh well. Furnishings were fine.
Beds were fine with small pillows. Two sofas that made into beds. Second bedroom was a lock off with twin beds.
Computers in the business center were old and slow. They charged to print our boarding passes.Restaurants were fine and offered 2 for 1 breakfast and suppers.
Didn't use the pools but area was clean and well manicured.Beach area was small but workable.
This hotel provides an excellant base for the marina-5 minute walk,or downtown PV -30 minute bus ride. Bus stops outside hotel and cost is 65 pesos one way. Take bus to wal mart also.
Free wifi throughout the marina.
Close to Neuvo vallarta and Bucerias by Taxi. All areas visited were safe and safety not a concern.
If you contact the concierge before coming down they will provide free transport to hotel. Have to pay going back for departure.
Would go back and use as a base of operations. Older clientel and very quiet.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the courtyard-3rd floor and were fine.Balconys are not wide enough to sit on comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear onegameatatime:
We are glad you have decided to post a review as it helpful to further enrich our performance and give other travelers a better idea of what to expectwhen visiting the Mayan Palace. We are happy to learn you liked our resort and some of our facilities.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration as they help us improve our facilities and services. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.
It will be our honor to welcome you once again.

With warmest regards
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

stayed here last week. 2 BR condo facing the pool. I declined the hardsell presentation just to get an ocean view. compared to the other mayan properites ive stayed at, this is pretty average. the location is ok as its easy to get a bus to downtown or the malecon or to go to Bucerias in the north. the facility is clearly dated and the room while very clean is a little tattered and need updating badly. tiny fridge and a two burner stovetop is not very adequate. the maid service was very good. the staff were friendly, but the check in personnel are a little pushy as is the timeshare liason. the concierge was somewhat helpful. the on site restaurants are pricey and not that great. the gym is nice, but you have to pay to use it. they have happy hour 2 for 1, but the prices are still a bit high. the beach is small and kind of dirty. i doubt i would stay here again. the other Mayan properties are much nicer.

Room Tip: if you want to endure a timeshare presentation you can likley get a sea view. in my opinion, not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear mojoman1969:
Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace.We are pleased to learn most of our staff was welcoming and pleasant as this is what we strive for every day. The same way, it is nice to know you enjoyed our gym.
We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable. We constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction. Your feedback is very important to us, and we will gladly share it with the appropriate areas as creating ideal vacation experiences is our main goal.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mayan Palace Marina in Puerto Vallarta for 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom/2bath until facing the pool. The reception and check in were very friendly and welcoming. We did sign up for the time share presentation since we were going to be in PV for one month so we had some extra time. The timeshare people were professional and treated us quite nicely. The Mayan property in Nuevo is enormous and just beautiful. The pools are heated unlike the cold pools at the Mayan in the marina. The breakfast in their new facility was outstanding. We did not purchase since it didn't meet our personal requirements, but enjoyed the visit at the property. We received 4 massages and a 10% discount at Mayan in the marina which was much appreciated. We left PV at 9am for Grand Mayan, and the whole presentation lasted until 2PM. After that we spent the rest of the day enjoying the the pools at the Grand Mayan.
The Mayan in the marina is just lovely with an excellent location. The grounds are outstanding and the public areas are a delight; especially the sunset bar by the beach with ocean front sofas.
I think that the biggest asset of the property is the staff. They are all just lovely with such a kind attitude.
Our 2 bedroom unit was large, immaculate, and well stocked. The MB had a king sized bed and ensuite bath with balcony overlooking the pool. The guest bedroom is the lock off unit and had two double beds and an ensuite bathroom. The living room had 2 king sized sofas which made into beds. The kitchen is more like at kitchenette with 2 ring electric stove and a small frig and microwave. However, it works just well for breakfast and lunch and is well stocked with crockery and utensils,etc
The beach is quite nice and private. The hotel rakes it and has a number of palapas and lounging areas. There was no problem finding a place to sit near the beach.
The only negative which I have about the property is the cold pools. Considering that I stayed at two other properties in PV during the month which had heated pools and considering that the Mayan property in Nuevo Vallarta had heated pools, then the property does not deserve a 5star rating with cold pools.
Unfortunately, I do not see anyone from managment addressing this problem on this forum or in person at the property. If I was a prospective buyer then I would be reluctant to purchase at the property if this is standard operating procedure.
I would return to the property mainly for the lovely staff and beautiful grounds..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#33 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.