We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ya ever eat a stingray taco?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canto del Mar

Canto del Mar
Lazero Cardenas esquina Olas Altas, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
01 322 222 7307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #383 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Good food, good drinks, good music at a Puerto Vallarta Mexican Beach Bar.
Restaurant details
Description: Good food, good drinks, good music at a Puerto Vallarta Mexican Beach Bar.
Kemah, Texas
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“ya ever eat a stingray taco?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a really kewl place on the beach ... we stopped in there for a bucket-o-beer and I thought a snack might be good .... after scanning the menu, I decided on the mantaray taco .... since I've never tried it before, I convinced the waiter to fix just "one taco" ... it was really good, ... but really fishy .... cost a mere $20 pesos vs 3 for $65 pesos ... ya gotta bargain and ya gotta try it

This is a great little hang-out sorta place

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Like the location. Red Snapper was tasty.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came here because of a Cupocity coupon deal. Never knew it existed before then. It is right next to the Burro Bar and I forget the name of the restaurant on the other side. The location on the beach is great. This is NOT fancy - just super casual, sitting in the sand, small little place.

Server at first seemed unfamiliar with our coupon, but when he returned all seemed well. We each had a red snapper, whole, fried, with rice and a salad and 2 beers. The fish was excellent! I wished it was a bit bigger. In looking at the regular menu prices, I thought there were a bit steep.

I did not use the banos, as I thought maybe would be so nice - but my DH used them and said they were very nice. Go figure.

Live music/band was there. Didn't feel pressured to buy anything else. Overall pretty good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So so food, inflated prices, questionable cleanliness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We made the unfortunate choice of stopping at this beach bar for lunch. The fish tacos were the worst we've ever had: no breading, no coleslaw, no anything, just tiny pieces of poor quality steamed fish on a tortillia. I ordered shrimp ceviche, it was nice but the serving size was very tiny, about a cup and I hadn't checked the price on the menu. The price for it on the bill was 3 times as high as the mahi mahi ceviche, clearly a decision to rip off the gringos. Our bucket of beer was twice the price we had agreed upon, the shrimp diablo was tasteless and tough, the shrimp being much much much smaller than anywhere else we'd eaten. All in all a very disappointing meal and one we had to argue about the bill over. The "entertainment" was a pushy woman along with a man who played guitar. They offered table side music, which we declined. She sang anyway and then of course waited for her tip. I've eaten at this restaurant on past trips to PV, never had an issue. This time there were no redeeming qualities, perhaps they're trying to make up for business lost due to declining cruise ships. I know next time I'm in PV, this beach bar won't be one of my stops. PV is a foodie paradise and this place doesn't compare.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OMG amazing food. You have got to go there!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is a little hole in the wall and it faces the ocean so the floor is the BEACH. Yes sand. It was wonderful. Their seafood soup was the most amazing thing to eat. We have never had anything even close to this in America. We ate there more than once. We feel they had the best food and good prices.

Felipe was the man out front getting people to come in and have lunch or dinner. He always smiled and made us laugh.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Location, casual ambiance!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My hubby and I enjoyed a light lunch here on our recent vacation! The chips and salsa were awesome and highly recommended. The crab tacos were so so. Service was so so only because the place was packed. Cleanliness was so so as well. The best part of eating here was that this restaurant is on the beach and has an awesome view of the water.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canto del Mar also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Canto del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canto del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.