We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for snorkeling!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marietas Islands

Marietas Islands
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52-322-297-1212
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Marietas Islands like an insider
Special Offer
$85*
and up
Marietas Islands: Cavern Swim and Snorkel Cruise...
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went here with Eco Explorer and had a very adventurous and memorable experience. The current was high and we were not able to swim at Playa de Amor but our tour guide, Carlos was very accommodating and took out to another beach were we could swim and give us our money's worth. Not for the wimpy type, if you're looking for an adventure, a must do!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    220
    107
    51
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Ocean Scuba Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

One word ***** Amazing ****** My excursion was booked by the scuba master at our resort. He actually joined me on the trip despite being his day off. I had an amazing experience and am so glad he gave me the little nudge I needed. It was my first ocean dive since becoming certified at the end of July!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the rare beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Only a small amount of time to enjoy on the beach but the nap on the kayak floating around was perfect! Bring waterproof camera and take some rare shots!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Boat trip to the Marieta Islands, from Punta de Mita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Rudy's Boat Trip from Punta de Mita to the Marieta Islands was awesome. Rudy took us out for about 3 hours. He supplied snorkel gear, life jackets and funny commentary. The snorkeling was great and the hidden beach was beautiful. Rudy has lived in the area for over 20 year and knows the area very well. Rudy provides other types of boat trips also, like fishing and whale watching.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very cool to see this preserve. It was super enjoyable for us, as we booked a private little charter boat (Eddie's) to take us out there. There were huge tourist boats on location which did detract from the experience a bit, but still unbelievably gorgeous. Definitely take a mask, snorkel and fins. You can swim through this neat arch/cave into a hole in the middle of the island which opens to the sky and has a pristine beach. Very cool. And the fish swim right next to you. You can certainly feel the current, but it's not too strong for kids or anything like that. Water is amazingly clear for the open ocean.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marietas Islands also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Marietas Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marietas Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.