We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waaaay to Congested :C” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marietas Islands

Marietas Islands
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Waaaay to Congested :C”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Boat ride to the island was very choppy, many motion sick people. Open bar and drink selection nice along with music.The male staff were very flirty, to the point of it being uncomfortable. Swimming the 400 yards to the island in choppy water is not for people who can't swim well. Goig through the little cove was nice but when looking at the beach, there's a million people on it. The fish in the water were nice, took great pics with my waterproof camera. beach was nice with neat coves and caves. The people to take pics never came once to ask if I wanted a pic, would've been nice seeing as I was alone. They tended to take pics of groups only. Return was difficult with having to climb on a little boat to be boated back to the larger catamaran. Open bar again, choppy waters making for motion sick people again. Food consisted of tuna salad, potato salad and sandwiches. The women's washroom was disgusting with vomit near the sink from someone missing and same with fecal matter on the floor near the toilet. The staff kept asking if we wanted more drinks which was nice and cleared our plates. Good music and then a little dance competition between the crew. Again, the men working the boat constantly asking to take me to dinner and flirting with me became annoying and embarrassing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    150
    76
    34
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun Boat Trip - with Whales and Dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went with Vallarta Adventures. The trip was fun and we certainly saw lots of whales and had a good introduction to the National Park. The activities were a bit rushed. The only complaint was the very loud music on the journey back. There was no where on the boat where we could avoid the loudspeakers pounding out the beat. Others seemed to be enjoying it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Blue footed Boobies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We love this island for watching beautiful birds and feeding the fish! Snorkeling is a favorite activity here, especially during low tide when you can swim through the rock formations to some very secluded beaches. On the way to the islands during the months of November - March, you will see whales in the bay. This is always a thrill!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not Too Exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A long boat ride for a short stay on a small beach you can only swim or kayak to. Mediocre snorkeling. Save your money. The best part of the trip was some fantastic whale sightings on the way.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Snorkling just ok, but trip was fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We took the Vallarta Adventures trip to the Marietas Islands. It was worth the price and a great way to see the bay and lots of widl life -- whales, dolphins, blue booted boobys

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marietas Islands also viewed

 

Been to Marietas Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marietas Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.