We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boobie Birds and more . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marietas Islands

Marietas Islands
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Amherst, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Boobie Birds and more . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I had a great time when we went on this whale watching adventure! We didn't take part in the snorkeling but did go for the 'up-close" boat ride around the two islands. There were lots of birds and crabs to see! The crew was fun and made the trip enjoyable with their fun and games. The food was fine. We were even lucky enough to have whales swimming just off the side of the boat! I would definitely recommend this trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    87
    43
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great day in the ocean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was a great way to spend a day in the sun! You load the boat and ride out to the islands. We just so happened to find a large group of whales on our ride to the islands. We took about an hour to watch them, Amazing!! Then the boat took us to the island in which you snorkle and get your choice of activities: kayak, paddle board, going to the beach, and scuba diving. Breakfast, lunch and beverages were provided!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Awesome Islands, Be Careful Who You Go With”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went to Marietas with Vallarta Adventures (the monopoly of excursions in Vallarta and Mexico) and made a great time out of it, however I would suggest going with a smaller company instead.

First off the island -- the hidden beach is truly amazing, the wild life including birds, dolphins, and whales is spectacular to watch, and the little beaches and coves throughout the islands make for great snorkeling and diving.

However the main company that goes to Marietas is Vallarta Adventures. They take a fairly large boat and in our case crammed seemingly as many people onto it as they could -- having people sitting throughout the lower and upper decks on plastic lawn chairs. This really detracted from the experience and if we knew it would be that crowded would have booked with a smaller company or a private charter for only about 2x the price.

Overall it was a great experience, just be careful who you go with.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Boobies!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Have you seen that awesome picture on the internet showing a beach inside of an island? This is that place. You swim in and can take a break on the beach. Don't climb off the beach as this is a federally protected reserve and you will get in big trouble for disturbing the blue and yellow footed boobies. Also this is a decent place to dive, not a lot of variety to see but a cool complex of caves and tunnels are waiting to be explored.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach with an adventurous outlook.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This beach is one you should stay away from if you are claustrophobic because you need to go through a hole that is a natural rock formation that you need to enter in order to get to the beach itself. We loved it and found it interesting, but I do feel the need to caution those who are afraid of closed spaces.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marietas Islands also viewed

 

Been to Marietas Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marietas Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.