We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Grill Vallarta

Ocean Grill Vallarta
Playa Colomitos, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 322 223 7315
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in a pristine, white sandy beach cove Ocean Grill is a great option for those who want to spend the whole day away from the crowds. Ocean Grill is not just a great restaurant, it is a destination on it's own. In order to serve you as you deserve, please reserve your spot in advance. For reservations and important information please visit our website.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I had lunch at the Ocean Grill as a farewell to Vallarta! The Smoked Marlin tostadas were great. Our server Heidi was the best. I would recommend this place to anyone who visits Vallarta. My shrimp was wonderful, so was my friends ribs. A must go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    108
    32
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This place is so unique!. Amazing ocean views, very friendly staff and Wilson is a sweetheart! All in all a trip well worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My first visit to PV and Ocean Grill was on the list. It was the BEST experience! Excellent, mouth watering, mahi mahi with their Ocean Grill sauce, served with Veggies. Wonderul Mojito's and a breathtaking view.. what more could you ask for? Thank you Alfonso - what a great vision! We will be back! Make reservations and do not miss this place!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First trip to the Ocean Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Spectacular setting and food. Dined at Ocean Grill on Monday March 31st, 2014. I had the mahi mahi, ceviche and a wonderful margarita or two. Highly recommend the Ocean Grill whenever you're in Puerto Vallarta. Thanks Alfonso and staff for a memorable experience!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Hard to Find a Better Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I've been to the Ocean Grill 3 or 4 times over the last couple of years and you would be hard pressed to find a better location to dine and drink w/ friends. The Ocean Grill sits on a cliff side overlooking an emerald green cove w/ a lovely private beach. There's only two ways to get there; you hike across a stream on a suspension bridge, through a local neighborhood, through the jungle, up and over a steep hill, along the coast and finally down another steep hill to a beautiful secluded beach. If you're not into the 45 minute hike you can take a small boat from the village of Boca deTomatlan or Mismaloya. Reservations may not always be require but are recommended because you don't want to get there and find out you can't get a table. The food is simply the best and amazing when you think of what it must take to get everything there. Ribs are a house speciality and the rib eye will melt in your mouth. There are also several seafood selections including a wonderful shrimp entree and fresh octopus fixed to perfection and never tough. Whatever you order there a a number of homemade sauces you can choose for your meal. They also offer a number of salads which are great. There's a full bar and their house margarita made w/ fresh mint and ginger is to die for. You won't be able to drink just one. Holding court in the dinning area is Wilson, the owner's coal black Great Dane. Don't be surprised if he gives you a sniff. Every table has an excellent view of the cove and the ocean. Bring your swim suit and take a dip before or after your meal. This IS my favorite PV restaurant and it just doesn't get any better!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill Vallarta also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ocean Grill Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Grill Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.