We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Grill Vallarta

Ocean Grill Vallarta
Playa Colomitos, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 322 223 7315
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in a pristine, white sandy beach cove Ocean Grill is a great option for those who want to spend the whole day away from the crowds. Ocean Grill is not just a great restaurant, it is a destination on it's own. In order to serve you as you deserve, please reserve your spot in advance. For reservations and important information please visit our website.
Puerto Vallarta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We live in Puerto Vallarta and run a small condo rental business, so after hearing and reading reviews for Ocean Grill, we decided to experience it for ourselves. We always try to do this prior to recommending any establishment to our guests. With two of our guests staying in the Misamloya area, we headed to Ocean Grill this week.

Arriving in Boca, we discovered that we would not be getting the Ocean Grill water taxi from the dock. It was necessary to load from the beach. To do so we had to wade through a channel of water....a bit on the deep side for vertically challenged people! However, we made it and into the boat. The boatman was quite careful, cautioning us to wait until it was safer to enter the boat.

After a short, choppy boat ride to the Ocean Grill, we saw the dock, however...once again, it was necessary to disembark on the beach...wet again! Some people on the beach pointed us to some stairs and a path along the rocks to the restaurant. If we had been able to disembark at the dock, access to the restaurant would have been much easier. Be warned...the path can be slippery, is very uneven and not recommended for people with disabilities. In our opinion, the path and boardwalk(in one area), and steps (very shallow...not good for those with larger feet) requires upgrading for accessibility and safety reasons.

Once at the restaurant, we were promptly waited on. Some waitstaff were definitely friendlier than others. Yes, there is a large dog wandering around, however he did not bother us at our table as other reviewers mention. He was laying down most of the time by the railing. Oh....don't sit by the railing if the sea is choppy...you'll get wet for sure!

The food.....we all really enjoyed our appetizers, entrees and desserts! The fresh oysters on the half shell (from one of the best oyster sites south of PV) and the lightly grilled oysters were excellent! The guacamole was also very good. One of us had the tender octupus, one had shrimp and two of us had the catch of the day..with side orders of grilled veggies. All delicious and we all loved the grilled veggies. For dessert...Key Lime pie, Pastel de Tres Leches (Three-milk cake) and cheescake rounded out the meal.

We whiled away some time chatting and enjoying this really lovely little cove with a golden sand beach until it was time for the Ocean Grill boat to take us back to Boca. Same trip in reverse...waiting for the right wave to make it safe to get in the boat (assisted by a few folks on the beach) and then back to Boca. At Boca, the boatman ran us right up onto the beach so disembarking was a lot easier and we could walk along the beach to the dock walkway to the village.

All in all, a great way to spend an afternoon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    108
    32
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I am still thrilled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

When I first visited the website of this restaurant I was blown away and determined to get there. The problem was, I couldn't make a reservation for a single person - but this didn't keep me disappointed. I know from experience, that you always get something if you really want it. So I made my way to Boca, got in the water taxi with the help of a native who spoke some English and arrived at this breathtaking location. Lucky me, they had a no - show and I was seated a couple of minutes after arrival. The staff couldn't have been nicer about my no reservation issue.
The food was outstanding and I am already looking forward to my next visit to PV and the Ocean Grill. Next time I will not travel solo - so we will not have problems getting a seating!
Thank you all

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“It's a trek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was a trek for us to get to the Ocean Grill from Nvo Vallarta, but all 17 of us took taxis to Boca. The grill's water taxi only seats 9 so there are several trips involved in getting everyone to lunch. If you have problems with getting your feet wet or getting in or out of a boat, don't come here. My in-laws who are in their 80's (albeit very healthy) had no issues navigating the water taxi. The food and drinks were very good. We tried oysters, clams, octopus, catch of the day, shrimp and all were tasty. The only complaint I heard was from one of our party who thought the adobo on his dish did not have enough spice. Also if you don't like seafood stay you may want to consider another place. They do offer a chicken breast and a burger for those who don't like seafood, but it seems a waste. After lunch many decided to swim at their wonderful beach, on the way out 1/2 took the water taxi and the rest of us hiked out. Once we made it back to Boca it was relatively easy to catch a bus back to Puerto Vallarta. We'll visit again next year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100 mile house
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Rude, hostile staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We hiked from Boca to Las Animas. On the way we came by the Ocean Grill and asked if we could buy something to drink. We were asked by the blond woman behind the bar if we had reservations ? She refused to sell us a bottle of water for the rest of the journey . She was really rude, hostile and downright a arrogant. Needless to say we won't be making reservations to eat there......

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tough hike well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Eight of us took buses to get to Boca, then hiked to the restaurant. The path is difficult in spots, rocky, uneven, and up and down, but all of us arrived, including a friend who has some walking difficulties to due an accident a few years ago and we are all in our 60s. We thoroughly enjoyed the margaritas we certainly deserved, hot sweaty, and tired, but exhilarated by the hike!
I do agree with the one review about too much tapenade on the octopus. Other than that, it was all very good. You definitely need a reservation. The walk to/from the water taxi is nothing, but when we took it back to Boca,we got wet, so take your shoes off, roll your pants/shorts up if you're short (like me) and just go with it. It's a fun, unique experience, and I am happy we did it.

The food was excellent, fresh and tasty, although

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill Vallarta also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ocean Grill Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Grill Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.