We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Ocean Grill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Grill Vallarta

Ocean Grill Vallarta
Playa Colomitos, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 322 223 7315
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located in a pristine, white sandy beach cove Ocean Grill is a great option for those who want to spend the whole day away from the crowds. Ocean Grill is not just a great restaurant, it is a destination on it's own. In order to serve you as you deserve, please reserve your spot in advance. For reservations and important information please visit our website.
1 review
“Lunch at Ocean Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A very unique restaurant in a very beautiful setting. The place can only be reached by water taxi, which adds to the charm of the experience. The owner greeted us warmly and thoroughly explained the menu. We went with his recomendation and all four of us walked away saying it was the best food on the entire trip. The prices are moderate and the quality superb.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    78
    25
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the bus ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We took the bus from the market downtown to the beach where we were picked up. Great adventure on the bus...took a little longer than expected - more like an hour. We got picked up on the boat and made our way to the Ocean Grill. Best part of our stay in PVR - for sure! Alfonso's signature margaritas were easy drinking at this spectacular spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lunch on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very fun day. Our friends picked us up, and drove us to Boca de Tomatlan where a boat took us to the restaurant. The drinks and food were delicious; we had the house marguerita which was flavored with mint and ginger, and the classic one, too. Parrot fish was the catch of the day; you can choose the sauce and side(s) you prefer from a list on the menu or blackboard. Our friends had the burger and ceviche which they both enjoyed. For dessert, we shared some fantastic lime cheese pie. I will certainly return next time I'm in PV.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular Lunch on the Blue Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This unique little spot is well discribed buy other travelers. The menu is mostly based on catch of the day (can change during the day depending on what the fishermen bring in) and is prepared/served by some of the most friendy wait staff in PV, The young women that served our table appeared to be from the USA and spoke perfect Espanol. Capitan Oscar was very skilled in handling the small boat, very up to date on the happenings in the village of Boca Beach. Alfonso was a bit under the weather, but still took the time to great us and congratulate my niece on her acceptance to medical school. Wilson the dog made friends with my niece right away and we all enjoyed a wonderful afternoon at the OG. Will make it a regular stop on our frequent visis to PV.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth the hike!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our vacation villa was a 25-30 minute hike west of Ocean Grill in the middle of "seclusion" (see La Troza). Being that close to another Trip Advisor #1 required we make the hike. It was well worth it.

Have the House Margarita before ordering anything else. It's a concoction I've never seen before, a beautiful color green with black seeds (ginger?) and tastes fantastic, especially after that hike. Other drinks sampled were tasty as well.

The food is great. I had the House Signature Grilled Octopus. Fantastic!

The staff is very friendly, very attentive. We didn't have reservations, we just showed up, and we were accommodated. Other times, while passing on our panga, we saw the deck completely full, indicating thier suggestion to have a reservation is a valid one.

Others in our large group also made the hike and were equally impressed.

It's worth the trip down to Boca and a panga ride or the hike, to get there. Enjoy!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill Vallarta also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ocean Grill Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Grill Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.