We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The park is no good, dolphins are great!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aquaventuras park

Aquaventuras park
Carretera Tepic km 155 entrada puerto vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 1 866 393 5158
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The park is no good, dolphins are great!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The park itself is a forgotten place - as if people who were there left 20 years ago. The paint is chipping everywhere, there were lots of bees and wasps around every trash bin with park staff just standing next to them and doing nothing. There were no towels available - I wish we took ones from our hotel. The towels are supposed to be there, but you have to pay $5 deposit and they said all the towels were in laundry and would be available the next day... I wanted to buy one, but they only has gift-towels for $30 each that wouldn't serve their purpose - they were just a decoration. I had to stand for an hour next to a ticket booth to wait for a manager to finally find us a towel - it was very hot out and none of the staff seemed to care much. The lockers didn't seems quite secure - it was a falling apart bin stand where the locks were the only sturdy piece of the structure...

The food included into the fee was not looking appealing at all - we just had some sodas.

Dolphin encounter was really nice, instructors were really into their jobs - they liked everyone and were very friendly, took their time to speak in Spanish and in English so everyone understands.

As some of the reviewers said - 5 star dolphins in a 3 star park. I'd recommend going some place else and read more reviews here before you book anything with this park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Aquaventuras park, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello, thank you for visiting Aquaventuras Park, we're glad to hear that you had a wonderful time with dolphins, on the other hand we'll let Operation Manager in Aquaventuras know about your feedback in order to improve our service and more people can enjoy a great experience in Aquaventuras Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    16
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“swim with the dolphins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The dolphin encounter was outstanding. the trainers were very in tune with the dolphins, had a sense of humor, were concerned about safety and were educational. Everyone had considerable time with the dolphins (we were in the smaller group, which is more expensive, but worth it. The only disappointment was the mediocre lunch which was included.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Aquaventuras park, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi! thank you for visiting Aquaventuras Park, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your swim with dolphins, they're just amazing! On the other hand we'll let to Operation Manager know about your comments about the food in order to improve our service. Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Swimming with the dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you have never experienced swimming with these magical creatures, you are missing out.

The aquaventures park was a great place as you got lots of interaction with the dolphins. We were in the pool for over an hour, got to pet and play with them, learned lots. And then the highlight where we got two rides, the first a boogy board push and the second and raided holding their flippers. Just amazing!

The watersides and lazy river were good, and kept us entertained the whole day. The dolphin and sea lions shows were funny and fun.

Highly recommend this park for your dolphin encounter.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Aquaventuras park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi! thank you for choosing Aquaventuras Park to live your experience with dolphins, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your swim with dolphins and our attractions. Thank you for taking time to comment, we appreciate it. We hope you come back soon for more fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Dolphins, Friendly Instructors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We really enjoyed the sea lions and dolphins show, yes, the facility is average compared to most of the water parks you'll find in North America but the animals are very well trained and if you arrive early you get to look very closely
The dolphin encounter was great, you get plenty of time with the dolphins and the instructors are patient and friendly
There are a lot of people at the airport, hotels and the mall offering the admission and encounter packages, use your negotiation skills and you'll find a good value offer

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Aquaventuras park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello, thank you for visiting Aquaventuras Park and for taking time to comment, we appreciate it. We're happy to know that you had an incredible time with dolphins and our trainers, so we invite you to come back soon in your next Hollidays to Mexico to enjoy another day full of fun in Aquaventuras Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Five-star dolphin experience in a three-star water park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The "dolphin encounter" is first class, with ample time up close or touching the dophins, and three fun two-dolphin rides for each of us. Our family of five had a good time at the water park and a GREAT time with the dolphins. We negotiated (Mexico style!) a decent rate on the dolphin encounter pictures (170 of them), which were really fantastic. The water park has seen better days--a paint job would help--but has good bones, some thrills, and provided a couple hours of fun for the family.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Aquaventuras park, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello, we're happy to hear that you and your family had an incredible day in Aquaventuras Park, thank you for give us your feedback, we appreciate it and you can be sure that we will let it know to management your comments in order to improve our service. We hope you and your family or friends come back soon for another great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquaventuras park also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Aquaventuras park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquaventuras park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.