We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time, lots of activities and Definitely a good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquaventuras park

Aquaventuras park
Carretera Tepic km 155 entrada puerto vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 1 866 393 5158
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing time, lots of activities and Definitely a good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I’ve always wanted to do the whole “play with dolphins” thing on vacation, but never did. This was a great experience and the trainers were very friendly and knowledgeable, though they could have been making stuff up completely, and I’d have no idea. We did the “Royal Swim” option (top tier of 3 options) and I feel like we got a pretty great deal on this activity because we also got to pet a sea lion and see it do tricks (wave, smile, make a noise, jump through a hoop), and we got to use the water park for as long as we wanted. The water in the sea lion tank was pretty unclean. There were dirt settlements on the floor of the pool and things floating on and in the water. I’ve never wanted to shower more in my life than when I got out of that pool. They have you stand in about 3 feet of water while they put on the show for you and you get action shots with the sea lion. We pretty much had the waterpark to ourselves in early February, though the lazy river and one or two slides weren’t operating. We were told that this was because it was the slow season. Also, it came with free lunch and a soda. Lunch was at the grill in the park and was decent. Set list of items to order from. We had chicken fajitas and a burger, which were better than expected, though nothing overly impressive. We were staying at the Sheraton and were told that a cab would cost us about $20. We opted to take the bus and it was about $3-5 round trip for the two of us. The bus stop we left from was north of the Sheraton in front of the HSBC, next to the Blockbuster and across the street from Estigo Scooters (estigoscooters.com.mx). On the east side of the street. Bus said Punta Mita or Nuevo Vallarta. Wasn’t very difficult and there was plenty of room on the bus, though if you were travelling with kids, I would recommend the taxi or a rental car. Bus ride was about a half hour from the Sheraton. Note: cameras not allowed for “safety” but you can purchase pictures from the park for about $80 for 2 people. Video purchase was not an option. Or someone else is allowed to take photos/video from the spectator area though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    16
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Plain, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Waterpark with Dolphins and Sealions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Don't let the negative reviews scare you away! This was lots of fun, and if you have kids, they will have hours of entertainment here and you can see them from a chair if you get tired of trying to keep up with them. It is a bit pricier than I think it should be, but the staff were awesome and the food and drinks were reasonably priced. These slides are ALL ridiculously fast!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“okay....but...need to get rid of big middle concrete slide”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The shows were good..the dolphin encounters were good too....we left early yesterday though because a teenager got seriously injured on the big concrete slide in the center with the multiple lanes that you go down with tubes on. The sides for these slide lanes were not very high and I would not go on one of those... the boy skipped into another lane lost his tube and bounced around and was knocked unconscious, broke his arms, (and his back...likely)...as per the older sister that was there with him. Also, there were two younger siblings there with them. I am sure they will be traumatized for a long time. The kids pool and younger kids slides were well supervised.

The picture deal was too expensive and a bit of a racket....it should be about a quarter of the price....109.00 for a package of picture wherenyounget pictures on a CD and three photos is steep...especially after u pay a bunch of cash for your package already. My prayers are with the boy and his family....Lesley from Winnipeg

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanaimo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience swimming with dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We took our four year old and five year old to the water park and chose the "encounter" and the "adventure" swim for the four year old and five year old respectively.

I found the trainers to be very knowledgable and friendly, and the photographer generally did a good job.

The encounter was great for the four year old and the adventure was really fantastic. Our group for the encounter was only just us and another family meaning we had lots of time to spend with the two dolphins (cleopatra and Jogo).

Given that it was Mexico you can expect all of the grounds to be sparkling... Some of the slides weren't working, and the meal selections aren't the best.

If you are looking or a place to take your kids to experience dolphins I would really recommend this place. Also.... If your children look to be 5 years or younger they can experience the dolphins for free (the four of us only paid for 2 admissions).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Swim with Dolphins / Water Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went the first week of January and the park with pretty much empty which was pretty cool.
A little disappointing that a section of slides were not open but it was still fun none the less. It was a big highlight on our trip because we also did swim with the dolphins. I didn't realize before we booked our swim with the dolphins that there was 3 different packages to choose from so that is good to know. We did the in between one which was perfect for our 8 and 10 year old boys. It was truly worth every penny spent. Realize that they the water is salt water and kinda chilly and you are swimming with the debris that dolphins excrete but it isn't bad and you can take a cleansing shower after. They do not allow cameras in the area that you are doing the swim and of course they have someone who takes pictures and then to buy the pictures cost $25 per shot or $140 for the whole disc. We thought that was just too much and they were taking advantage of us. We did talk them down to $75 and did decide it was worth the memories. I suggest if you don't want to pay the picture price to have someone you know who isn't apart of the swim to take pictures from the out skirts. At least you will capture the memory of it and will not have to pay the way too high price that they want. The water park was okay and fun for the boys. Nothing fancy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquaventuras park also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Aquaventuras park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquaventuras park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.