We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude and scary staff!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol to your Saves list
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very rude and scary staff!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed here with three other ladies, two to a room for a week with breakfast plan. Canto Del Sol is the sister hotel that you have access to for your stay.
Every person I encountered at the front desk was rude and made you feel as though you were inconveniencing them.
Two young towel boys, followed me and my girlfriend through two hotels right to our room. When dropping off our towels at canto del sol, one young man kept speaking to me in Spanish. I repeated many times that I didn't understand in my limited Spanish. All I could pick out from what he was saying was, "do you think I'm sexy?" We walked away only to be followed by him and his coworker through canto del sol pool area, the lobby, across the street, through villas Vallarta lobby, up two flights of stairs and to our room. We were terrified! Highly inappropriate conduct by hotel staff.
Our last day we had requested a late check-out (1pm) as our airport shuttle wouldn't arrive until 5:30pm. At check-out they stored our luggage for us no problem..... However. They cut your bracelets off and you are no longer welcome on the property! The same security guards that we had walked past six times a day for a week, turned us around at the door. We had to walk around the hotel to the beach to wait out the afternoon. We couldn't even go to the pool bar for a cup of tap water! Disgraceful.
If you paid me, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    91
    47
    25
    23
See reviews for
46
64
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent 2weeks at the Villas Vallarta/ Canto del sol. We absolutely loved it! The location was great, we were close to restaurants,malls and shops. And a 5minute cab or bus ride to the malecon which is full of shops, bars and restaurants!
The hotel itself isn't beachfront, but you are able to spend all your time at the sister hotel which is pretty much joined. You have restaurants/a la cartes at both hotels that you can eat at. The beachfront resort is the obvious more popular. So it is pretty full. Theres music and pool games going all day! So it was definitely nice to spend an afternoon by our pool, and you pretty much get your own personal bartender!!! very nice,
Our hotel room was awesome! very clean and spacious. and had a kitchette. We had a patio with sliding doors right at the pool and overlooking the mountains!! Everything was great!
All of the hotel staff were beyond amazing!! Very helpful, and went above and beyond to make sure we were enjoying our stay.
We would 100% go back to this hotel! Great for all ages!!!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view 2nd floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Plain and simple: If you stay at Cantos De Sol across the street instead of Villas Vallarta you are are paying extra for nothing. Stayed here in March 2009. We met some friends staying at Cantos and believe me the rooms are exactly the same. With the bracelet that gives you access to the sister resort Cantos De Sol this resort is the best value for your money in all of Vallarta.
Pros: It's in a great location and most taxi rides cost about $10US. The staff are AMAZING. I did not have a single complaint about anybody. The pool at the sister resort Cantos De Sol is fabulous and you have full access to it. The entertainment at night is hilarious and the food overall is not bad for being in Mexico we never got food poisoning or upset stomachs even once. NIGHTLIFE: if you talk to the performers after the show they will set up taxi, drinks, and entrance to the hottest clubs. Definitely ask for their help!! This is a great way to meet other people in the hotel.
Cons: It is not a 5 star resort, this is by no means the most beautiful hotel but as long as you keep an open mind and don't focus on little things then you will enjoy this trip. Also I was never able to swim in the water in all of Puerto Vallarta when I was there, so this is not a negative of the hotel but of the city really.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Single Girls traveling: Ask for a room closer to the front desk, but not near the permanent tenants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This place is small, which was perfect for our 3 little boys, because we could always see them. from our room we could see the buffet, the pool, the bar, and the beach. Other than the check in staff pressuring us to sit in on a timeshare meeting, the rest of the staff was amazing. The food and drinks were great. The bar closes at midnight, which at the time was annoying, but in hindsight (the next morning) it was a good thing. We have been to mega resorts, and for our family, this one rates right up there with them. I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from a week-long stay at Villas Vallarta and MAN are we annoyed at how we wasted our vacation staying here. First of all the Villas is sister hotel with the "4 star" (and i use that term VERY loosely, as it is closer to 2.5-3 star AT BEST) Canto Del Sol, located across the driveway. The only thing you do is sleep at the Villas, the restaurant (ONE), BAR (thats ONE), and POOL (JUST ONE!!!) are all located at the Canto Del Sol (which I wrote a separate review for, because thats the actual resort). Let alone how annoying the walk back and forth is 15 times everyday, the rooms you stay in are NOT 3-star anything. They are old and ugly, the toilet flushes 50% of the time and the shower either spits out orange rust water or hardly works at all. For some reason there is a kitchenette in the room, but nothing works, the knobs are ripped off. There is an AC (to my HUGE surprise) but it is SO LOUD that there is no way you can sleep with it on. You won't sleep anyways because the bed slides in and out of the weird cement frame (that is also the kitchen counter) and it will NOT stay in place. (these problems are in EVERY room, we talked to other guests about these issues as well). The only thing good about the Villas Vallartas is the maids do a fantastic job of keeping these disgusting rooms clean. (BY THE WAY, if you're looking for turquoise waters and sandy beaches, PUERTO VALLERTA is not for you.) ANY POSITIVE REVIEW ON THIS HOTEL WAS WRITTEN BY STAFF, BECAUSE THERE IS NO WAY ANYONE WOULD HAVE SOMETHING GOOD TO SAY ABOUT THIS PLACE. Read my review about the CANTO DEL SOL for more details.

Room Tip: Read my review about the CANTO DEL SOL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

This was our 2nd trip back here and alot has changed!!!I know we won't return!! The rooms are clean, the staff is excellent, the water is ok.When booking your A La Carte dinners chose the one at Villas Vallarta & the tennis courts the one right there is fancier but we thought it was horrible this time.Another disappointment was how they make you go get your A La Carte tickets & towel cards from the time share ladies I was not happy if I want one I'll buy one otherwise leave me alone!!!Also if you tip bring smaller change from home as them and the other around will not give you smaller change to tip so if you wanna tip it has to be a heavier one that didn't impress me either!!! Also if you want a massage you across sthe street 1/2 the price & doubled the time!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We just returned from a week long trip in Puerto Vallarta. We thought we had booked at Canto De Sol, however found out we were actually booked at Villas Vallarta, across the street. It was very close and an easy "commute" as its more of a Cul-De-Sac than "street". Our room at Villas Vallartas was homely, (pepto-pink concrete walls and headboard) with a view of a shopping ally-way. The pictures of the Villas Vallarta website were nothing like our room, however, we are not picky people and knew we would only be using our room for sleeping so didnt complain to switch. It was right near the front of the hotel so it was a much closer walk to Canto Del Sol than some of the nicer rooms may have been. The rooms were kept clean and although dated, the maids did a thorough job every day and even suprised us with towel-swans one of the day. Another bad thing about our room- located DIRECTLY above Golds Gym. so we could hear and feel the vibrations from the music starting some days as early as 630 am. We debated on changing rooms but again, felt like the convenience of the location of it outweighed the rest. We spent lots of time at the "quiet" pool at Villas, and got great drink service and sunshine, without the crowds. We ate mostly just breakfast at Canto Del Sol as we tend to wander around PV for new places most days, and the breakfast buffet wasnt bad. Service we found very friendly and efficient from all staff, from the waiters/bartenders to the reception. Drinks were poured fairly strong (and can be stronger if you are tipping).
UPSIDE- friendly staff, decent food, great location
DOWNSIDE- our room wasnt great, the A La Carte Restaurants have no vegetarian options for the main course, werent able to get a later checkout than 1:00 pm for our 2:00 am flight.

Azteca, the Mexican restuarant on the main road nearby was great, as well as La Spacia for massages (both of us got full body 75 minute massages for 500 pesos).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco 125 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Vallarta By Canto Del Sol Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Villas Vallarta Canto Del Sol
Villa Vallarta Canto Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.