We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garbo Piano Bar

Garbo Piano Bar
142 Pulpito Street, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 738 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I did not eat. I came here every night to start my nights out on the town. It's a fun piano bar and a great place to start your evening out on the town. Very friendly, welcoming and easy to make new friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Martinis, LIVE music, and YES even dancing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have been coming to Garbo's for over 4 years now. Everytime I am in PV (about twice a year) I make Garbo's one of my first stops for one of their superb matini's and to say hi to German. I'm never forgotten and always welcome with an "Hola Pollito" (my nickname). They have quite the selection with fun names for their martinis "CoCo Chanel" <--- one my favs = YUMMY! If martinis are not your think, fear not as they have a full bar.

The atmosphere is low key, fun and inviting for all. The lighting is low and tables are candle lit. Not in a dark creepy way, but rather creating a very nice ambiance. Easily great for you and a special someone, or to go with a group of friends. The bar itself is not huge, but there is plenty of seating; both at the bar and at the loung styled chairs and tables.

There is LIVE music nightly @ 1030pm which never dissapoints. During my last visit (Nov. 2012) my boyfriend and I broke away from the group we were traveling with and had a few of thier tasty martinis, listened to the live music and yes, even made room to dance! It was great. I'm looking forward to our next visit this coming Nov. 2013. I hope that a new name to me "Ryan Rigazzi" is still around as I'd love to hear him perform.

Drink prices are reasonable (a little more per PV standards/expectations) yet still totally affordable (approx. $75-100pesos or $6-10USD). The service team is always on par and they too never cease to forget my name "Pollito". VERY fun and efficient service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Intimate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nothing to dislike for a great Martini this is the place! Includes a nice pianist, dressy or casual great crowd!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Garbo's Legs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Legs are the last thing I think of when thinking of Garbo, but its catchy. And we love this bar. It's the music and the very nice ambiance, design. And the lighting. Yes, and its also the nice staff and the fact that you can talk here and find people to talk to if you want. The music is usually so good that you may not want to talk; may prefer to listen. And, as for the food, Cocktails are cocktails.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Martini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Garbo for as long as they been around.... Always great drinks and friendly fun atmosphere live entertainment with Bobby and the Thursday night boys.. Always have a blast here....even better that they at e nonsmoking

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garbo Piano Bar also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Garbo Piano Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garbo Piano Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.