We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little breakfast or lunch spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salud Super Food

Salud Super Food
Olas Altas 534-A | Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
+52 322 139 9398
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Description: Healthy, vegetarian and vegan friendly, smoothies, wraps, salads, sandwiches, breakfast all day, lunch after 11:30a and nite bites after 5:00pm, with last order taken at 9:00pm.
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast or lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Probably the most healthy place you will eat at while in P.V. Great smoothies, wraps and coffee. Also, great location and quick service. Went there twice and quality was great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    22
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Salad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First visit after hearing about this place for a while, food great, healthy, innovative, price is right will return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A PV Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We first came into contact with Salud last year during our annual trip to PV for Xmas and New Year. We eat a lot of quinoa at home so we liked that they use this in their super bowls. We were relieved to see that during this year's trip they were there again and with an expanded and improved menu. I have fallen in love with their super bowls from the Mexi through to the Thai and if you like wraps they have lots to offer in that department as well. Also, they are not just about lunch but offer some excellent breakfast wraps (try the Cali) plus if you are an oatmeal lover like me they have that plus a great breakfast bowl (fresh cut fruit, yoghurt and their own special granola). It doesn't stop there as they also offer some excellent smoothies with or without protein (for you gym rats out there). All in all this place is great and we basically eat there almost ever other day. Oh, and their coffee is good too! Just remember that they are only open to 4 pm so you have to step quickly to make sure you catch them before they close. Lastly, they offer wifi with purchase!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick stop of conciously prepared healthy food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Near the beach near the end of Olas Altas. Good coffee as well as freshly prepared foods. Nice relaxed atmosphere with couches and outside tables. I have eaten a wholewheat veggie burrito here and bought at least a dozen cups of coffee on my way down the street and the service has always been super friendly and welcoming. Good place to go when you feel you can't fit in the bikini after eating all the huge portion fattening places in the neighborhood. In the heart of the Romantic Zone. Good for a casual quick stop snack, breakfast to eat in or take out. Not sure if they offer table service. I've always gone to the counter and ordered. Closes for couple months during off season. July/Aug. Coffee was more a coffee shop price but it was strong.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious and Vegetarian Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

One wouldn't think that finding authentically vegetarian food in Puerto Vallarta would be difficult. It is. Places like The Red Cabbage Cafe -- which proclaim to have a vegetarian menu -- use chicken stock in almost all of their items on that menu. Barcelona Tapas has tons of items that seem vegetarian, but they, too, use chicken stock in all of their sauces (at least Barcelona doesn't represent itself to have a vegetarian menu). Even a Tex-Mex place like Nacho Daddy -- which has a separate section on its menu for "vegetarian" items -- uses chicken stock in its sauces (the owners did not know this until I pressed them to inquire).

In comes Salud Super Food. Salud is not a vegetarian restaurant, but the owners, Willie and RIta, know, appreciate, and understand what it means to accommodate vegetarians. Other than their curry (which contains chicken stock) and their caeser (which contains anchovies), anything can be made vegetarian. The menu is simple: wraps, salads, or bowls. The bowls are made with a quinoa base, packed with protein, and decadently delicious. I was amazed at how much I enjoyed them. All sauces are made in-house.

I must be clear about my review and rating of Salud Super Food. I do not give it five stars because it is vegetarian friendly. I give it five stars because it is delicious. The food here is good. It is quality. It is tasty. It is everything that a wrap, salad, bowl place should be but most are not. It's fresh, delicious, and affordable.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salud Super Food also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Salud Super Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salud Super Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.