We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood -- Exceptional Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mauricios

Mauricios
Carr, Las Palmas 176, Las Juntas, Puerto Vallarta 48291, Mexico
(322)2902733
Improve this listing
Ranked #279 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Falls Church, VA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood -- Exceptional Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Worth the long bus ride, Mauriso's serves good seafood very well. As soon as you are seated, the servers bring a tuna salad on a tostada, then soup (No charge). The combination plates are affordable, tasty and grilled perfectly. Excellent BBQ according to one of my dinner mates. Beer comes in a bucket full of ice to keep it cold. I really liked by lobster and shrimp combination (#4), while others raved about the shrimp cooked three ways. Whatever you have you can't go wrong with the best value for the money meal in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    10
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico city, MX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Seafood (and not seafood) with excellent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I just loved the BBQ at Mauricios. Yes, I know it sounds weird, as Mauricios is better known for the seafood, but a combination of shrimps and BBQ, simply delightful! 10!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was a couple of years back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

Last time we went , portions were a little smaller , no complimentary Tequila or Kahlua. One geriatric Mariachi band (past it). Very few customers making it a gloomy atmosphere. Don't know how they will get their reputation back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Our first visit we had whole fish fillet for two. It was wonderful. It was cooked perfectly on the grill and only about 280 pesos (about $24 US). It was more than enough for 2 people.
Our second visit I had the combination plate of garlic butter & breaded shrimp. It was very good, lots of shrimp. My husband had the cuchi cuchi shrimp which is shrimp in a cream sauce with pablano peppers & spinach. It was excellent. Both shrimp entrees were about 160 pesos (about $13US). All entrees are served with lettuce salad and mexican rice. You also get tequila shots and a piece of baked plantain with sweet sauce after your meal.
Our only complaint was on the second visit my husband's food was brought to the table and at least 10 minutes later my food had not been served. We sent my husband's back to keep it warm until both of us could be served. Not sure what happened but hopefully it doesn't happen often. The beer seemed alittle pricy compared to other restauants. We are considering visiting a third time for the BBQ ribs because they looked excellent as well. If you are familiar with taking the bus you can take a bus that goes to Ixtapa or Las Juntas. The driver may know the restaurant name or it is close to the Home Depot. You can easily catch a bus back to town just across the street. The restaurant does have a website that has the menu and map of their location.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach FL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Seafood & Lots of It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

It's off the beaten path behind Home Depot but worth finding. You are going for the food here, not the ambience. We both ordered the shrimp, lobster & fish platter. It was all outstanding. Fresh, plentiful and reasonably priced is the best description.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauricios also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Mauricios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauricios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.