We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derby City Burgers

Derby City Burgers
356 Olas Altas | Col. Emiliano Zapata (Romantic Zone), Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 322 223 3323
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Artesia, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

great burgers. AMAZING pickles & iced tea. good variety of burgers. personally, I prefer my meat slightly more done than what they generally cook & serve per their menu, but never a problem getting more grill time, especially if I remember to articulate my preference. since they are right on a busy sidewalk near a popular plaza, the sideshow can be quite entertaining.

walter & carlos are always busy trying to please their customers but they are fun to visit with and hear their story if they can spare a minute. we visit PV usually twice / year & always drop in more than once.

note: it's a hamburger stand with limited sidewalk seating, not a 4-star restaurant. RELAX!

Don

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    62
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“HUGE HAMBURGERS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

For sure these are the best hamburgers in Vallarta! I don't really care for sitting outside to eat there. But, you can call in advance and drop by to pick up your order and take it home or to the park nearby. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“When a burger is what you crave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This place has some good things going for it, mostly what the real estate people say, location location location. Right in the heart of tourist central on Olas Altas a burger joint is going to appeal to Mexican food burned out tourists and this place certainly does. There's pretty much always a line waiting for the 12 or so sidewalk seats. That line moves slowly though - food is cooked to order so if you're starving and there's a line - keep moving.

I've tried the burgers here and they are definitely A-OK but I am not the world's biggest burger lover. I prefer Joe Jack's because Joe's fries are better and fries are more important to me than the burger. Where Derby City hits the mark for me is with their salads - big, fresh, not shy with the toppings. Sometimes you need your roughage and this is a good place to get your fix. Prices are reasonable and the harried staff is friendly.

A couple of very personal issues that keep the more stars at bay for me - the greasy exhaust from the flat top grill pours out the front door onto guests (I had to go home and change clothes) and I'm just not a fan of dining amid a crush of tourists some staring at you openly hostile while waiting for your table. Don't let my issues deter you though. If you're inner burger craving hits, you could do much worse.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home Style , Home Taste , Home Run! Great Meal,Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Enjoyed a great meal at Derbys several times during our holidays,never disappointed ,you are always sure to be satisfied.Will be returning again soon.Try them ,you'll like it .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Burgers by far in Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Literally right down the street from our hotel - you can eat outside and people watch. The burgers are out of this world and the staff is so friendly and welcoming. Usually a wait to get in, but it's definitely worth it! Try it, you'll LOVE it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derby City Burgers also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Derby City Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derby City Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.