We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“singles need not ask for a patio table” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Derby City Burgers

Derby City Burgers
356 Olas Altas | Col. Emiliano Zapata (Romantic Zone), Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
+52 322 223 3323
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 696 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“singles need not ask for a patio table”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Food was decent in October 13, when I tried to get a table January 14, I was told to wait, new comers were given tables and then I was told I could take a table inside because they have a waiting list!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter0014, Owner at Derby City Burgers, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We are truly sorry with your recent visit with us. There was some miscommunication on our part. When you asked if there was a wait, we didn't realize that you wanted to be put on the list. We did offer you the next table and/or inside if you didn't want to wait.

Your comment about "singles.." Is untrue. A lot our guests are in fact singles. We treat each party the same no matter how many.

I am sending you a private message to try us out again. I am sorry that your first review had to be a bad one. Please let us make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    62
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best burgers ever!!!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We are from the Bay Area and we are used to really good food so we were aprehensive in mexico but this burger place was amazing, not frilly or fancy just great food at a great price! We have been there 3 times now and recommend it to our neighbors and friends here and everyone of them have thanked us and agreed. We ordered pickle chips, tiny bit on salty side, but they are pickles so what should you expect right, the onion rings are amazing light crispy, not to greasy, great. Staff is kind friendly and helpful, and every burger we have ordered has been amazing. Also my personal favorite are the sweet potato fries! Best ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was not a great hamburger. It was undercooked, was not accompanied by a salsa, and was generally unsatisfying.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter0014, Owner at Derby City Burgers, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
I am sorry to hear you didn't like your burger at Derby City Burgers. We truly take pride in all our burgers and salads. Your "review" is a little vague in that I don't know how you had ordered your burger. We cook our burgers past medium well so there is little to no pink, yet still juicy. Unless otherwise specified by the guest.

Did you mention to us that you were not satisfied while you were actually at the restaurant? This would allow us to correct any mistakes that may have been made and you could've left happy.

Although we are in Mexico, we are not a Mexican restaurant. Sorry we didn't provide "salsa" with your burger. We do, however, have BBQ sauce, steak sauce, teriyaki glaze, buffalo sauce, etc and different dressings all made here by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTENSVILLE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in PV!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We couldn't resist the great smells coming from this place and needing a break from Mexican food decided to stop in...incredible burgers! My wife and I both had the Derby burger with fries and they were so good we came back the next day to try more! We tried the Aloha burger and the crispy chicken burger and they were just as amazing! Huge home made patties, great fries and generous portions guarantee you will leave full and happy! Prices are cheaper than you will find at home..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

every time we have gone to PV, people have told us about the burgers at derby city. This time we found derby in the old city. It is hard to miss as there are about 9 tables in the entire place. It is next to Kaiser Maximilian. The burger choices are interesting (many choices, some very unique). We ordered plain burgers to taste the meat which was highly flavored and excellent. no credit cards so bring pesos. Nothing fancy, just great burgers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derby City Burgers also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Derby City Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derby City Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.