We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a great burger, salad, fish sandwich? or” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derby City Burgers

Derby City Burgers
356 Olas Altas | Col. Emiliano Zapata (Romantic Zone), Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
322-223-3323
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 671 restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Want a great burger, salad, fish sandwich? or”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Try the sweet potato fries, seriously good food that is not greasy and doesn't taste too much like sweet potatoes. Then order friend pickles. We shared ours with the table next to us as our plate was over flowing. All the food is good and served right in the heart of the old town, great people watching.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    173
    56
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Possibly the best burger I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Who'd have imagined the best burger ever right here in Mexico?!?! Let me tell you, I've had many burgers in my lifetime and this one was outstanding. The patty is actually hand-made (you know… the way burgers used to be) and the bun is some kind of delicious brioche type thing… it toasts up perfectly. I had the Aloha Burger with fresh pineapple and Sriracha sauce. It was amazing… saucy but not messy, big but still manageable. The onion ring appie was crunchy not greasy and the sweet potato fries were great also. Glad I am here for a few more weeks so I can try some of the other burgers on the menu. Even the salads look great! Lol

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rivals best burgers Stateside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Okay, so you're in Mexico and the last thing you're probably looking for is a Burger joint. This place was a block from our hotel in Old Town, so we dropped in for lunch. Now, I am a Burger junkie, so I take it seriously when I tell you, this might be one of the best burgers I've ever had! I went with the Mex-Cal burger and it was off the charts! Oh, and home cut fries that are to die for. The key, freshness. As opposed to the States, veggies are literally pulled from the field and land on your plate. All organic in Mexico, too. If your in PV, don't miss this joint!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland, oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Burgers in PV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Read the reviews and have to agree....best burgers south of the border. Got a favorite back home? Black & Blue? Bacon/Cheese? Avocado? B-B-Q? They have them all and they are good! Sweet potato fries too! Very well priced and easy to find on Olas Altas. We'll go there again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soap Lake, Washington, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Who would have thought that you would get a great burger in Mexico. The staff is great, the food is good tasting, juice, perfectly grilled bun and right outside of the playa los arcos. It's large enough to split and we did...I wish I could get a burger like this at home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derby City Burgers also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Derby City Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derby City Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.