We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homesick for Home ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat at David's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Eat at David's
Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico (Formerly Dave's Place)
322 118 8404
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 671 restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homesick for Home ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tacos, burritos and the rest of mexican cuisine is fun...but every once and a while there is nothing like the way mom cooked it! This is a great little restaurant,great service..food is excellent with a portion size that allows you to take half home for tomorrows lunch! and all at moderate prices...a must do in Vallarta.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    9
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent Down Home Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Best fried chichen and white gravy outside the South! Specials every night that include fish and chips on Friday and chicken and ribs on Sat.Very reasonable and you can aso get a half order on most dinners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great US style food in Vallarta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

US Comfort food in Vallarta. Meatloaf, fish and chips and other favorities - prepared perfectly in a small cafe.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An OK Place but not the Greatest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Eat At Dave's says it's traditional American food, whatever that means. They have a daily choice of two things you can order plus lots of hamburger choices. I asked if I could have something from Monday's choice even though it was Wednesday. I was told no, that I would have to choose from Wednesday's selection only. Okay, so I chose a hamburger variety. Then some people came in after we did and they asked the same thing and a different server said "sure" whatever you want! Guess it depends on the server you get. Unfortunately, that turned me off completely. The hamburger I got was very good even though it wasn't what I wanted. Fries were crisp and there were lots of extras on the burger - lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, mustard and ketchup. It's a very small place and you get to know everybody pretty fast. Only seven tables. As I said, not much choice if you pick the wrong server!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fed up with tacos, chillies and nachos? Try Dave's Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Dave's Place is a miniature restaurant gorgeously decorated in kitsch Mexican. We have eaten at Dave's twice. Once for breakfast and a second time for supper. The American breakfast, hamburgers and chicken fried steak were wonderful, just like any good diner in the north. The chicken had fab gravy, vegetables and onions. I'm a huge fan of Mexican food so will not eat there often but when I just cannot stand another taco, tortilla chip or salsa. I eat at Dave's. The cooks and servers are very friendly and speak excellent English.

On our first visit we asked to speak to Dave. The server/cook pointed to a corner where there was a small locked wooden box containing Dave's ashes! He still fits right in!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat at David's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Eat at David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat at David's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.