We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See in PV” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Food Tours

Vallarta Food Tours
Avenida Mexico 1193-A, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
+52 322 181 7196
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$52*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our 3-hour food tasting and cultural walking tours offer a local's view into Mexican culture through its delicious and intricate cuisine, rich history and stunning architecture. Suitable for all age groups and fitness levels, Vallarta Food Tours guides will take you on a culinary and cultural adventure. Experience off-the-beaten path eateries and their colorful owners and staff, taco stands and regional delicacies. Check out our 3 different tours: -Original Downtown Vallarta -The Street- An Evening Taco Adventure Tour -Taste of Pitillal
Normandy Park, Washington
1 review
“A Must See in PV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've been visiting Puerto Vallarta for over ten years, my husband and I just went on the food tour and it was one of the best experiences we've ever had there. It was not only a wonderful food tour but a great history lesson as well. Our guide, Lobo, was knowledgeable and fun. We will definitely do it again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Imdean03! Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed the tour and that after 10 years of coming to Vallarta you were able to learn and experience new things! Lobo does a wonderful job of showing how much fun and delicious Vallarta is. We will look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Vallarta Food Tours--the best way to see Puerto Vallarta's food scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Three hours touring family-owned food stands, iconic restaurants, and artisan culinary shops with culinary insider Alex of Vallarta Food Tours proved to be the best $49 we could spend and a great way to learn about Mexican cooking and the active foodie scene here. Eat, drink and be merry while walking and talking through picturesque Old Town, it's all well choreographed and fun.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi WilliamT945! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it! We are so happy you enjoyed the tour and learned about Vallarta along the way. One of our goals is to showcase not only the wonderful food, but the warm people who make Vallarta what it is. And Alex does a great job of showing it. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip on our 2nd food tour: Taste of Pitillal. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Insider Foodie Tour - Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Curious about Mexican food but don't know which restaurant to choose or street vendor to try? Vallarta Foods Tours takes the mystique out of where to go and gives you a top notch foodie experience. Make sure you just taste because you will spend several hours experiencing the local food. You will have a chance to eat beef tacos with several types of sauces made by a street vendor in business for 45 years; see a tortilla factory where you see how they are made; drink coconut milk from the coconut; taste handmade chocolates spiced with chili (fantastic!); savor ceviche at a family run restaurant. Make this a must do activity!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Carolyn! Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled you had a wonderful time exploring Vallarta with Alex. He had a great time showing you the hidden gems of Vallarta and sharing its people and culture. We look forward to seeing you next time on our 2nd Food Tour, Taste of Pitillal. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Don't Miss This Attraction! A Must For All!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family ate and drank our way thru Old Vallarta to unexpected "finds" with a knowledgable tour guide to explain not only the items we would be tasting but also gave us a history lesson of the region. A wonderful adventure that I already did twice!! I highly recommend it to first time visitors or to any one who wants to experience some thing more than the touristy places.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Darrell! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it! We are so happy you and your family enjoyed the food tour! Lobo had a blast with your fun group. One of our goals is to get off the beaten path and showcase some of the hidden gems of Vallarta. We love that you took the food tour twice! Now we are waiting for you on our 2nd tour, Taste of Pitillal. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“3 hours to become a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

That's what Vallarta Food Tours promises, and they deliver. We met families that had been in the same food businesses for generations and took real pride in their work. We learned how to spot a good street food stand and stay well. We were taken to restaurant, a very reasonable one, met Grandma, and tasted genuine homecooked Mexican food. And at night they show old Mexican movies on the neighbors big white wall. For just $49 you not only eat, but get to know PV and its history, its special traditions and more. Loved this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Navgal!

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed the tour and your time in Vallarta. Alex loved showing you and the group the wonderful food, history and culture of Vallarta. Thanks for sharing your picture of Gabys! We look forward to seeing you next time on our Taste of Pitillal Tour. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallarta Food Tours also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Vallarta Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.