We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Taste of Pitillal" (Literally and Figuratively the REAL "flavor" of P.V.!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Food Tours

Vallarta Food Tours
Avenida Mexico 1193-A, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
+52 322 181 7196
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$52*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our 3-hour food tasting and cultural walking tours offer a local's view into Mexican culture through its delicious and intricate cuisine, rich history and stunning architecture. Suitable for all age groups and fitness levels, Vallarta Food Tours guides will take you on a culinary and cultural adventure. Experience off-the-beaten path eateries and their colorful owners and staff, taco stands and regional delicacies. Check out our 3 different tours: -Original Downtown Vallarta -The Street- An Evening Taco Adventure Tour -Taste of Pitillal
Honor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"A Taste of Pitillal" (Literally and Figuratively the REAL "flavor" of P.V.!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We just returned and would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Vallarta Food Tours "Pitillal" excursion -- it was absolutely among the highlights of our two week vacation in Puerto Vallarta! We have stayed in Zona Romantica/Southside for many years but decided to get a "flavor" (both literal and figurative) of a nearby neighborhood. The bus ride took about 20 min. to the main town square in Pitillal, and we were promptly greeted by both Lindsay (Managing Director) and our guide Ricardo (a.k.a. Lobo). From there we experienced an incredibly PERSONALIZED and highly informative tour of both the area's food and culture. We felt the $49/pp cost was very reasonable (especially for the number of tastings, etc. that were included); please don't forget to tip, appropriately, at the end -- absolutely requisite in our case, since the tour went WELL BEYOND its stated duration and expectations. Vallarta Food Tours truly "has its act together" -- professional in every respect and a decided asset to P.V.'s tourist offerings!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi djonplatte! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We really appreciate it. We are thrilled you all enjoyed the Taste of Pitillal Food Tour. Like you mentioned, one of our goals is to share insights into a typical mexican town, and it doesnt get much better than the charming Pitillal. Lobo appreciates your kind words and works very hard to show our guests an amazing time. Thanks for spreading the word and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

From the trio of moles (pink mole? who knew?!) to the fresh coconut stand, we tried foods that we didn't even know were available in PV. We generally will try anything, but shy away from local food stands where the cleanliness standards are unknown. Alex took us to stands (45 years selling carne asada tacos is a good testament to the quality of the amazing taco served there), a man standing on the malecon selling tuba (a fermented drink), and many others. I highly recommend this tour to everyone that loves good food. You won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hola athropologicaltour! Thanks so much for your review! We love to hear that you enjoyed the tour and were able to hit some of the amazing local- VFT checked- taco stands! We love to showcase some of the local gems that can be easy to miss. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Part of a group of 8 touring several food choices in downtown PV. Alex was an excellent guide. He has an awesome passion for food and is very proud of his city. Sprinkled in facts about the geography and history of the city. Great pace to the tour.

Went to a bunch of places. Will list them quickly here with comments to follow. Bottom line...every place Alex took us was great! The tour went like this: Mole, Carne Asada Tacos, Birria, Ceviche, Coconut water and raw coconut meat w/chili, Hot out of the oven Corn tortillas,
Tortilla soup, Tuba juice, and finally Mexican Candy. I think the best part and value of the tour is that Alex took us to places that we probably would not have stopped or would have completely missed. That is what made the tour so worth it. Take the tour! you wont be disappointed.

A few added notes: First, El Guero has awesome ceviche. We went back on two other occasions and had more, along with very good shrimp tacos. The price is really great too. I actually hesitate writing about this place because I fear it will get too popular once the word is out to the gringos. Secondly, when taking the tour, Alex gave us information about how to spot the clean and safe food stands. Good tips because there is a ton of food (not all good) being served up on the streets of PV.

All in all, a great deal for the price and fun too. Please don't forget to tip the tour guide if you go.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi gaiaserver! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review! We really appreciate you sharing your experiences. One of our goals is to take you to places you probably would not have found on your own and share more about the wonderful culture and people of Mexico, and a few invaluable tips along the way. We agree with you completely on Gueros, best seafood hidden gem in Vallarta! Thanks for spreading the word, hope to see you in Pitillal on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

If you like to eat and are interested in eating like the locals do this tour is for you. We had a great time tasting food from the vender stands to the more exquisite restaurants our tour guide Alex was exceptions Adding much color and history of Mexican foods everyday place we stopped was family owned and in business for more than thirty years so you know the food was good. Everything from the taco stand to the tortilla factory. soo good try it you will like it

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hola Frtonys! Thanks so much for your review! Alex said he had a blast with your group and really enjoyed showing you some of the best Vallarta has to offer. We are so happy you enjoyed the tour, come see us next time you are down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiggins
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great good tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

When we booked this tour I was instantly excited to tour the town and eat some authentic mexican food. The food was great and the guide Ricardo was so informative and really knew the culture and history while on the tour. The food eas fenominal and I was not disappointed with even on this that we tried. Ending with the mexican flag shot and tortilla soup was great. Would love to come back and take another tour with this guide!!! Thank you so much for the great tour.
Net some really nice people on the tour also!!! It was great and I can't wait to go back so I can eat more!!!

Thank You,
Glenda and Brian hard

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay P, Owner at Vallarta Food Tours, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Glenda and Brian! Thanks for your review and for uploading your pictures! We really appreciate you taking the time to share those. We are so happy you enjoyed the tour, Lobo had so much fun with you two. He is waiting to show you Pitillal next time. Thanks for spreading the word and keep the mexican flag tequila shot alive back in Wiggins!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallarta Food Tours also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Vallarta Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.