We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace and tranquility in a fascinating setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Iguana Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Iguana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue 5 De Mayo, Puerto Vallarta 48394, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A haven of peace and tranquility in a fascinating setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I travelled with my adult daughter and we loved this place. There were very few rooms occupied and the village was very quiet, with hardly any foreign visitors. We found our Spanish knowledge invaluable. The gardens surrounding the hotel are lovely and the jacuzzi and pool are in a beautiful setting. It was a pity the bar was closed during our stay and there was a very annoying cat which had attached itself to the hotel and noone could get rid of it. The free wireless internet in the room/suite was wonderful! The beach at Mismaloya is unimpressive and the vendors were a pest. We spent our time at La Boca (go by bus for 7 pesos), las Animas & Yelapa, all of which are lovely beaches & the last two are only accessible by boat.We ate at La Choza (My Tony) 3 out of 4 nights and it was the best food ever & the best value. Tony is a very interesting person & his son & nephew were great hosts. We tried Juan and Only on one occasion & were not impressed. The restaurant at the condos across the road was closed during renovation work, so options for eating nearby were very limited. Casa Iguana restaurant is excellent and super value, but was only open 9-5 unfortunately. The little supermarket beside reception met all our basic needs, including breakfast. We hiked up to Eden which is beautiful & has an interesting history, but most of our time was spent enjoying the beautiful quiet beaches. Mismaloya is famous for Los Arcos - the best thing about Mismaloya beach is the snorkelling and diving in that area. We watched the movies Predator and the Night of the Iguana when we got back, just to see the beautiful scenery all over again. It really is an idyllic place.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    80
    13
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
54
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Far from downtown but very quiet, beautiful mountain views and lots of room. perfect for the small families on a budget, the rooms are spacious (suites are 2 bedrooms with 1 bathroom and kitchen) very clean and right across from Mismaloya Bay. 1 hour 15 minutes walk to "El Eden" or just 1/2 hour by taxi. worth the walk since is beautiful scenery and exercise.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We loved this place!!!!! We will go back again. It was secluded yet close to the beach. The kids loved the pool. I loved Boca Bento restaurant! The room was just right for us. I would love to stay in the larger room on the corner with an extra bedroom and plush design. We have no complaints. This is our style...quiet, peaceful, and great service all around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We are staying at the Casa Iguana right now, and it appears the change of ownership has taken place. When we first checked in the store was closed for inventory and the bar and restaurant were both closed. Today the store, bar, and restaurant all reopened, and while there are some start up bugs to work out, things definitely appear to be heading in the right direction. The staff have been friendly and helpful throughout our stay, and we love the buildings and grounds, with their beautiful landscaping. The pool and hottub are both nice as well. I wouldn't let the past problems keep you from staying here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canda
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We have stayed before, a year ago, at Casa Iguana, a week in 2009 and 2 weeks in March 2010. A lot has changed, he hotel is up for sale and based on conversations over heard from the current owner, as he paced back and forth through the patio pool area talking loudly on his cell phone, he was VERY eager to unload it, this alone made it a very un-comfortable stay. On our first stay we were very impressed and agreed with the reviewers at the time. Our most recent visit was a different story. In short, unclean and loud. They have had to put up 24 security, the restaurant has closed, the store has cut back severely on its inventory and the staff is only responsive to request during the working hours... requests for additional pillows... etc would take 24 hours, this place is on its death bed. The noise late at night and early in the morning made sleeping a problem and even after a room change this persisted. I love Mismaloya, the beach, the people; everything. I still love this hotel, but in its current state, I would say stay far away!
You have been warned.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls ontario canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

my wife and i stayed for the month of feb. in room 315.. excellent place, clean, and terrific hospitality from the staff, alfonso, louis, diane, stewart caretaker(forgot his name) and cleaning staff...would do anything for you..
they do not have all inclusive anymore, just breakfast...
not 15 minutes out of town, but a half hour, 7 pesos for the wild ride of your life on a bus, comlete with entertainment..loved it,
joe & laurie brugman.....niagara falls, ontario, canada

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

So it didn't start off well. We were booked to stay for a week and had paid extra for the All Inclusive package. Well when we got there the restaurant had closed. However the staff gave us a discount and really went out of their way to make our stay nice.

I am glad we stayed because the hotel was just what we needed. Mellow close to the village, great rooms that made it feel like home. I recommend this place for people that want a comfortable place to relax at. This is not your typical giant beach resort.

Also the village up the road is really nice and has a real Mexican feel. I loved it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana Hotel

Address: Avenue 5 De Mayo, Puerto Vallarta 48394, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Iguana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the adventure, tranquility and natural beauty of authentic Mexico in the picturesque village of Mismaloya, Puerto Vallarta. Casa Iguana Hotel offers personalized service and modern amenities in a relaxed garden setting. Water sports, jungle tours, horseback riding, shopping and dining are all just moments from your door. Escape to Casa Iguana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Mismaloya
Hotel Casa Iguana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Iguana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.