We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous live band and dancing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Oceano Tropical

Bar Oceano Tropical
Paseo Diaz Ordaz #540 | Colonia Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
3222220959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 735 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bar Oceano Tropical on the Malecon in Puerto Vallarta. Food Drinks and Fun since 1955.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous live band and dancing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and my best friend were wondering around the Malecon and came across this place. We got there around 8:30 and just intended on having a few drinks, enjoying the view, and do a little people-watching. However, the band was setting up so we decided to stay awhile. Great decision. We ended up sharing our table with three older gentlemen that danced the night away with us! The band was really good - lots of Cumbias and some salsa and merengue thrown in. There was also latin hits playing when the band was on their break. It was a great time and Diego took really great care of us. It was so nice to dance and hang out with locals. I can hang out in a nightclub with tons of young kids back home in Vancouver. Seems pointless to do it here, so this place was great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    38
    10
    2
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point,In
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“$1 Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

That's right... $1 beer and margaritas before 9pm. I thought it was a gimmick too. Great second floor view of the bay and the Malecon with a terriffic breeze. Live latin band on weekend nights where they clear out tables for dancing. Hang on to the handrails on the way out! Definitly worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place has the best $1.00 margaritas and beer. I have to say, I eat light and really went to town on their fantastic coconut shrimp Mmmm! Free wi-fi and it's a raised two story so you get an ocean view.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fail”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We were hustled off the Malecon to the first available dirty table, and then ignored. No service, no food, no drinks. And it was not busy at all. We left and enjoyed a much better experience at the Union a few doors down.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillsicle05
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hospitality - yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant by accident in March 2013. We had been walking by after strolling the Malecon and were snagged by a sign that advertised $1 margaritas. The man at the bottom of the stairs was extremely nice and helpful and showed us menus that looked good. There was no pressure to go up - we just felt welcome. Once seated, the manager approached us and personally welcomed us. He thanked us for coming and was very genuine and sweet. He came back several times, in addition to our server, to make sure we were totally satisfied and to visit about where we were from.
I got the garlic shrimp with rice pilaf, which was great. Cooked well and seasoned nicely. My husband got the quesadilla, which was pretty standard - good food, but not anything out of the ordinary. The margaritas were wonderful and classic. They also gave us guacamole, salsa and chips, which all tasted flavorful and authentic. The atmosphere was pretty typical - of the Malecon: nice open restaurant with a perfect ocean view. It wasn't anything ridiculously fancy, but it was a great experience and we would go again. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a good meal and great service without spending a lot. For four meals and 8 drinks, we paid less than $37 total.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Oceano Tropical also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Bar Oceano Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Oceano Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.