We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Exceptional Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm to your Saves list
Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Barra de Navidad Km. 184, Puerto Vallarta 48400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique, Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A must see when visiting Vallarta, the tour of the organic farm was great and picking the lettuce for our salad unique. Service incredible and very friendly.
The location on the river was great for sitting under the waterfalls and relaxing.
I recommend Villa Azalia for a wonderful experience to everyone!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is what helps us to continue making an effort to give our 100% in the service, your recommendation in our best help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Spring Grove, IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Villa Azalea is a small, 8 room property with an Organic Farm. The owners live onsite.

From the moment you arrive, it's a very personalized experience. The owner greeted us and her son, Santiago, took us on a tour of the property showing us all of the produce and vegetables grown on the grounds. You could even pick your own vegetables for your salad! The Mexican Mojitos were really tasty.

They have a small indoor pool that is zen-like with an open ceiling and an outdoor pool overlooking the river.

We stayed in a suite, which was not air conditioned. There is an outside door that opens up and looks out to the back of the villa and the river, and there are two ceiling fans (upstairs rooms have A/C). The toiletries were very nice.

The owner has a dog, Sasha, that is nice if you are missing your own dog/s.

There is a large shared space with artwork and movies, cards, and books for the guests to use.

All of the food is very fresh and it's organic. The owner really wanted us to enjoy her specialties. The jams in the morning are homemade and they sell them too. I was going to buy the Mango until the owner asked us to try the tomato jelly. It didn't taste at all like I expected. It was deliciously sweet, so that's what I brought home.

This is a great place for a group of friends to stay and spend some time together enjoying the grounds, the food, good company, massages, and a visit to the nearby botanical gardents.

It's located up in the mountains past Mismaloya and Boca de Tomatlan, but before El Tuito.

If you are looking for an intimate experience instead of a bustling All-Inclusive with loud pool music, and tons of people, give Villa Azalea a try. You can even do a day pass or Cooking Class if you prefer not to stay, but I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hi MaryJo, we appreciate very much your opinion, and you did the broad description of this resort! effectively is a place for lovers of the unique and special things.
We hope to see you back, very soon.
Santiago Leal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had an an amazing week at the Villa just resting and lazing in the pool and enjoying the lovely grounds around the Villa. We love the outdoors so this place was just perfect for us .We were able to wade along the river and enjoy the amazing bird life. Our only problem was that we ate too much. Dulce is an amazing cook and the food was delicious. We tasted food that we have never tasted before and we've done a lot of travelling and it was all just wonderful. Mohitos pre dinner on the deck, fire flies in the trees at dusk....magic!!! Would recommend this to anyone wanting a private escape away from the busy world.

Room Tip: We had the azalea room which was great for a longer stay as it has a separate lounge and is close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Dianne and Graham: If for you it was a great experience for us over here in Villa Azalea we really enjoyed to serve you and watch how as you enjoy life in all the details its glory, hope to see you here again .
Santiago Leal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just loved it! We spent a weekend, My husband and two kids, We felt We where in paradise, enjoyed so much the walk on the river, to listen all different kinds of birds all day long, specially sunrise & sunset, We were impresed of all different kinds of fruit trees they have and We just loved the beautiful & wellcared greenhouses, where We were able to harvest and choose our own salad greens for supper, kids loved to go and see the hens and why not, get few eggs for their breakfast, all in a Beautifull Inn, full of Art, Sculptures, Colours and delicious meals with an "Extaordinary Service to each one of Us"
Thank you very much Dulce & Villa Azalea, We look forward for our next visit!!

Room Tip: We loved the one in front the little black pool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for your comments Dear Brenda, hope to see you soon again for this paradise,we enjoy your visit very much, and thank you for your tomatoes tips, we are sure that it will help us a lot.
Best Regards,
Francisco Gonzalez
Villa Azalea Public Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you are looking for a place to relax and be pampered far from the madding crowd, come to Villa Azalea. We did, hoping to recuperate under warm, blue, cloudless skies from colds acquired in the relative chill of Northern California, and we couldn't have chosen better.

The proprietor, Dulce Arguero, is a lady of great refinement whose eye and hand are seen in the landscaping, the organic garden, the decor, the hospitality, and, not least, the kitchen. Set beside a flowing stream in the hills along the main road that runs the length of Mexico, the villa is a haven of tranquility, a refuge from the agitated life. We slept in our beautifully appointed suite and dragged ourselves out to the veranda for contemplation of nature. The bird life that can be observed from that viewpoint is quite remarkable - greater kiskadees, tropical and gray kingbirds, and various other flycatchers hawk for insects while orange fronted parakeets, masked tityras, streak backed orioles, yellow winged caciques, great tailed grackles, and bronzed cowbirds feed in the fruit trees, vultures and hawks soar overhead, and green backed herons slip into the low hanging branches by the river. Not forty feet from us hiding in plain view was an eponymously elegant trogon. If you have not had your fill from the veranda, there's the botanical garden just down the road, where there is even a greater variety.

If you are planning to be anywhere near Puerto Vallarta or driving north or south on highway 200 take a day or two to feed your soul. You will not regret it.

Jon and Galina Borschow
San Juan, Puerto Rico

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
John and Galina,The sensibility that you have to distinguish each bird, each plant, find the right light for each photograph and enjoy!, was great !! Thanks for visiting us, hope to see you again for this unique place for people like you.
Francisco Gonzalez
Public Relation Villa Azalea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My sister and I spent the afternoon at a hands-on cooking class at Villa Azalea. We took the bus from Puerto Vallarta for 22 pesos each way - the inn is just a couple miles past the Botanical Gardens. We were immediately greeted by our host Dulce who is such a sweetheart! Our class began with picking our lunch ingredients from the organic garden located on the gorgeous lush grounds. With veggies in hand we proceeded to the outdoor kitchen where Dulce turned on background music and blended up Mexican Mojitos with the fresh mint we had just picked. Then we moved onto cooking up a pink mole sauce to top off salmon as well as a chile sauce to accompany chicken cooked in banana leaves. Wendy was our cooking chef and I can't say enough about what a wonderful coach she is! The best part came next - sitting down to eat our amazing lunch we had just prepared. After lunch, Dulce toured us around the lovely hotel with it's beautiful rooms and tasteful decor.

Honestly can't think of a better way to spend an afternoon in PV!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DulceArguero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
When we receive people as July and Chris, with that joy, enjoying the smallest detail, optimistic, full of life! We learn a lot from them, all the staff also enjoy your visit. We await for you the next year, with new recipes!
Francisco Gonzalez
Public Relacion Villa Azalea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
10.0 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#3 of 4 in Yelapa
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#54 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
12.6 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#7 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#3 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
12.8 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad Km. 184, Puerto Vallarta 48400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a small luxury hotel with world class service at Villa Azalea, an intimate, secluded property, located 20 miles south of Puerto Vallarta, in western Mexico; considered as one of the best resorts in Puerto Vallarta. Come and enjoy this couples oriented hotel, designed for the most demanding travelers as it was first conceived by its owner, a Swiss entrepreneur who has invested mind, heart and efforts for years and offer us now: Villa Azalea, a place that blends elegance, nature and good taste for the most eco friendly, relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing